jogging and motivation thread

Lchlch

Take a break after your long run. After my 15k run, I took 1 day rest. Then did a 8k slow run after the rest day. Today, also take a rest.

I run 5-6 days but longer mileage on each of those days. End up being a better aerobic runner and also getting the recovery I need. Best of all, no reduction in weekly mileage.
Nice bro.
How I wish I can do like you.

sph777

Got anyone here tried the top 3 most talk about shoe on the internet - Saucony Triumph, Endorphin Speed and Superblast? Keep hearing people talk like they are the best on the planet. But are they really like that? I thought running shoe is a subjective thing.
I used to use Triumph as my daily shoe. Speed as my faster runs and some carbon plate for race. It is really up to personal preference. As the rest mentioned, I like the energy return and the firmer feel. Too soft will trigger my plantar again haha

xllms

Really can feel the tibia bone push into the ankle? Never experience it or could I imagine what kind of injury is that. I never had issue with my ankle, not even when I did trails runs regularly last time in normal running shoes. Vaporfly was the first time I had the ankle pain.
You issue doesn't sound like a common problem, hope you find your solution. The general guide of regressing your mileage and load and slowly built back over time usually work if mobility and pain level is not an issue.
so far i have yet to find medical expertise to fully understand my situation, let alone addressing it. But it helps with a couple of weeks rest and stay away from inappropriate shoes. That is the reason why i stay away from soft midsole shoes.
when my ankle is ok, the 3 pairs i mentioned should be fine since i ran in them before.

Jeremy1

Tks for the info.
I sweat alot while jogging.
So it's good thing

My colleague nvr exercise, but easily sweat when go out of air con room. Means his health is super bad.

Ask your colleague to join you for running :s21:

binbinpon

so far i have yet to find medical expertise to fully understand my situation, let alone addressing it. But it helps with a couple of weeks rest and stay away from inappropriate shoes. That is the reason why i stay away from soft midsole shoes.
when my ankle is ok, the 3 pairs i mentioned should be fine since i ran in them before.
Well I suggest If things do not improve by 6 weeks, you should approach a sports physician or foot and ankle orthopedic surgeon, considering MRI scans or stress ankle xray views.

The tibia will not sink into the ankle, even if you feel the sensation because the tibia is resting on the talus and calcaneus which form the lower part of the ankle joint. However supporting ligaments which are injured or evenly partially torn can give an impression of the supporting frame giving way or other instability symptoms.

xllms

Well I suggest If things do not improve by 6 weeks, you should approach a sports physician or foot and ankle orthopedic surgeon, considering MRI scans or stress ankle xray views.

The tibia will not sink into the ankle, even if you feel the sensation because the tibia is resting on the talus and calcaneus which form the lower part of the ankle joint. However supporting ligaments which are injured or evenly partially torn can give an impression of the supporting frame giving way or other instability symptoms.
already seen an ankle specialist, done Xray and MRI. Nothing unusual from what they deduce.

whether or not tibia sinks into the ankle i cannot be 100% sure, i was merely trying to explain how i feel based on my limited layman vocabulary. This has been a recurring issue since my injury was aggrevated in 2013. It comes and go, seen countless doctors in Singapore and China.

am no professional sportsman, life goes on and lifestyle just have to work around it to find a balance between discomfort, enjoying my running and normal life.

binbinpon

already seen a ankle specialist, done Xray and MRI. Nothing unusual.
Well it is possible to have minor ankle/arch ligament injury in a normal looking MRI. The sensitivity and specificity ranges from 60-80%. Well this statement may not sound helpful but it means that you are unlikely to have a serious injury.

So it is still back to basics of strengthening your ankle, plantar arches such as heel raises and cut down on endurance training while letting the supporting tissues heal. If a firmer sole helps, then it may suggest a plantar arch weakness/PTTD etc and having tape bands supporting the arch may help.

Frankly a proper examination will be able to tell some weakness.

Skyrillex

Pay that price in rmb can liao

Lightweight is good. Use 250ml soft flasks. Try not to use the 420-450ml ones if you can help it. If not the top would flop over when you run and drop out.....it's pretty difficult to squeeze it in.
250ml ones much easier. You can put 2pcs and that's already 500ml......enough for your use in SG's PCN and 7-11 context.

https://item.taobao.com/item.htm?co...-sg.feeds.213&sku_properties=10537981:3235462

O1CN01h5VumE1PYirNf8xpR_!!3184421853.jpg

O1CN01RASO7G1PYirLQqgmP_!!3184421853.jpg

Thanks for sharing, i'm probably hooting this one for long runs.

WussRedXLi

Wow......

Usually i only do 4, in some rare instances push do 5. He does 10.

And shorter than 150m as i try to keep it below 15 seconds sometimes 10-12 seconds, pace is 2.10-2.15 rabge as per GPS (not sure how zhun tho). Standing recovery ~ 3 mins ie really full recovery and then some, coz from what i read that even if you feel recovered, you are usually not recovered enough as far as SITs are concerned. But his is 98% RPE so just a little faster than strides, for me i go all out no holds barred. Not sure if there is gonna be any diff between 98 vs 100% though. :unsure:

Sometimes just for fun, short burst of 50m upslope (3 HDB storeys kinda height change), i also do when running home for lunch. But just 1.

Last time back in 2019 i used to do these 2-3 sessions a week with my kid (besides the racewalking), but during covid that time i figured might be overtraining in terms of this nowadays max 1 time a week. The upslope sprint not counted.

WussRedXLi

Wow......

And shorter than 150m as i try to keep it below 15 seconds sometimes 10-12 seconds, pace is 2.10-2.15 rabge as per GPS (not sure how zhun tho). Standing recovery ~ 3 mins ie really full recovery and then some, coz from what i read that even if you feel recovered, you are usually not recovered enough as far as SITs are concerned. But his is 98% RPE so just a little faster than strides, for me i go all out no holds barred. Not sure if there is gonna be any diff between 98 vs 100% though. :unsure:

Sometimes just for fun, short burst of 50m upslope (3 HDB storeys kinda height change), i also do when running home for lunch. But just 1.

Last time back in 2019 i used to do these 2-3 sessions a week with my kid (besides the racewalking), but during covid that time i figured might be overtraining in terms of this nowadays max 1 time a week. The upslope sprint not counted.

edit - ok, his recovery is also 3 mins. Same same......

Actually you all should really try SITs. It's really enjoyable. But make sure your systems can take it lah......

For me, it's the same for cycling. Sprints/surges......shiok.

Ender

This evening did a Pickup run at Marathon Pace. For those training for FM for the coming SCSM, it's helpful to modify a few of the long runs into a pickup run to include marathon pace in the middle.

So a typical one would be like 5 min warm up, 9km easy run, 9km at faster than MP pace, then follow by 9km easy run

Kuudere

Nice bro.
How I wish I can do like you.
Gotta keep running and let time pass. Eventually, will get better.
Wow......

10 x 150 for 5k workout is strange. It's a 800m specific workout. The mileage is too short for even a pre-season 5k workout. It only makes sense in very situational contexts, for example he wants to outkick another runner in the last 200-300m stretch.

His goal is to eventually translate the pace to marathon, which is even more strange. Marathon is mostly aerobic. He'll benefit more out of distributing energy to run the last 2k fast than last 200-300m. In that case, longer intervals make more sense.

I usually prefer doing strides after easy run (2.40-2.50). If I do it too fast, I don't feel like it helps me in running 5/10k. I can do 2.15-2.25 100m, but the running form isn't really necessary. Too exaggerated in stride length/cadence. Got muscle ache from this once and could've affected my subsequent workouts. From then on, I am more cautious.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.