jogging and motivation thread

VonDeVous

Fourth day running with xtep pro 5 and ankle hurt first few km. Is it get used to it or potential ankle injury?

32km this week. If I can continue this milage will be able to increase to 1500km in a year. Current is 1200km.
cannot everyday wear the carbon plate n run n fast run n long dist run. these 3 add together will backfire yourself.

i can only advise my own method. wear once a week n run. other days use normal shoes.
dont whack too hard, just slow jog since u havent used to it.
run shorter distance 5-10km for me max.

after doing for few weeks, u dont feel any pain or discomfort then slowly increase pace n distance. i only still wear once a week coz its expensive shoes to me. :o

Kuudere

Very fast timing. Aiming for sub 8?
Week 1: 6 x 400 (90s)
Week 2: 7 x 400 (90s)
Week 3: 8 x 400 (90s)
Week 4: 9 x 400 (90s)
Week 5: 10 x 400 (90s)
Week 6: 3 x 800 (2 min) + 1.2k @ 2.4k pace on separate day
Week 7: 4 x 800 (2 min) + 1.6k @ 2.4k pace on separate day

Week 7 is the 2.4k predictor, I will run a lot slower when I run 800s. I am trying for 8.15, but the actual ippt will be slower, maybe under 8.30 or 8.35.

WussRedXLi

Squats and lunges very important sia...

Pruss climb stairs 5 floors daily...

Ippt moi got Silver ✌️

If you are doing them (squats) bilaterally, try to train using unilateral versions.....like the split squat. And of coz with added resistance and progressing up.
I am very sure you will find even more benefits. One big +ve is to prevent yourself from developing a lazy side (ie less powerful side) or look at it this way, more strength/power overall. Esp relevant to cyclists.

WussRedXLi

Fourth day running with xtep pro 5 and ankle hurt first few km. Is it get used to it or potential ankle injury?

32km this week. If I can continue this milage will be able to increase to 1500km in a year. Current is 1200km.

After semi resting for 1-2 weeks (cut mileage by 50-80% depending on how you feel + the pain), best to just run slowly z1 z2 from now on...... add strength training. After 2-3 months can maybe add a bit of plyometrics.
Not conditioned sufficiently yet.

Tendons and fascia really take a long time to really develop to tahan a good athletic load, talking about 6 months or if you are like some of us in 50s or 60s, i think possible to take over 1 year even with a very good and disciplined diet / supplements......from my own personal experience. If just by running alone, i dont know....possible seniors might take seeral years even or maybe wont even reach a good stage at all.

WussRedXLi

If you are doing them (squats) bilaterally, try to train using unilateral versions.....like the split squat. And of coz with added resistance and progressing up.
I am very sure you will find even more benefits. One big +ve is to prevent yourself from developing a lazy side (ie less powerful side) or look at it this way, more strength/power overall. Esp relevant to cyclists.

Jeremy1

which one?
do try setting off from 司马台 and walk to 金山岭 to experience the raw dilapilated experience
http://xhslink.com/a/XDsXuNeWVOufb
stay overnight to catch both sunset and sunrise.

Good question, I really don't know cause it's my first time.

Any suggestions ?

I am afraid it might be too dangerous to walk or jog.

1% out of 100% 😱

xllms

Good question, I really don't know cause it's my first time.

Any suggestions ?

I am afraid it might be too dangerous to walk or jog.
most ppl go to 八达岭 but will be super packed with ppl, another option is 慕田峪, 2nd most popular. These 2 are popular cos they are nearest to BJ city. Another option is 箭扣, probably 3rd nearest.
金山岭 & 司马台 are way up northeast at the border or just outside BJ boundaries, car ride without traffic jam from 国贸 is slightly more than 2hrs.

How are you traveling? Dedicated local guide for small group or tour guide or Free & Easy?

List of Great Wall locations. Do note not all are within Beijing boundaries.
1) 八达岭长城‌ BaDaLing:位于北京延庆区,是明长城中保存最完好、开放最早的一段,被称为“天下九塞之一”,现为国家5A级景区,设施完善且文化内涵深厚。‌‌1‌‌

‌2) 慕田峪长城‌ MuTianYu:位于北京怀柔区,风景秀丽、敌楼密集,以修缮与自然融合的古朴氛围著称,游客相对较少。‌‌‌‌

‌3) 金山岭长城‌ JinShanLing:位于河北滦平县,由戚继光主持修建,敌楼密度极高且构造精美,是明代长城建筑的代表。‌‌‌‌

‌4) 箭扣长城‌ JianKou:位于北京怀柔区,因形似弯弓得名,地势险峻且保留原始风貌,适合专业户外探险。‌‌‌‌

‌5) 司马台长城‌ SiMaTai:位于北京密云区,唯一保留明代原貌的长城段,以夜游体验和星空观景为特色。‌‌‌‌

‌6) 嘉峪关长城‌ JiaYuGuan:位于甘肃嘉峪关市,为明长城最西端关隘,有“天下第一雄关”之称,是丝绸之路交通要塞。‌‌‌‌

‌7) 山海关长城‌ ShanHaiGuan:位于河北秦皇岛,明长城东部起点,以“老龙头”(长城入海处)和“天下第一关”城楼闻名。‌‌‌‌

‌8) 黄崖关长城‌ HuangYaGuan:位于天津蓟州区,戚继光修建,以石刻碑文和春季山花为亮点。‌‌‌‌

‌9) 九门口长城‌ JiuMenKou:位于辽宁绥中县,唯一横跨水门的长城段,城水相映形成独特景观。‌‌‌‌

‌10) 虎山长城‌ HuShan:位于辽宁丹东市,为明长城最东端起点,毗邻鸭绿江。‌‌

Jeremy1

most ppl go to 八达岭 but will be super packed with ppl, another option is 慕田峪, 2nd most popular. These 2 are popular cos they are nearest to BJ city. Another option is 箭扣, probably 3rd nearest.
金山岭 & 司马台 are way up northeast at the border or just outside BJ boundaries, car ride without traffic jam from 国贸 is slightly more than 2hrs.

How are you traveling? Dedicated local guide for small group or tour guide or Free & Easy?

1) 八达岭长城‌ BaDaLing:位于北京延庆区,是明长城中保存最完好、开放最早的一段,被称为“天下九塞之一”,现为国家5A级景区,设施完善且文化内涵深厚。‌‌1‌‌

I am going all by myself.

I think I better buy insurance

Jeremy1

you need transport to any of these locations. if you are first time and do not have local guide, don't be too adventurous

I can take a train and walk there ?

If worse comes to worse, I will joined the local tour there.

xllms

I can take a train and walk there ?

If worse comes to worse, I will joined the local tour there.
Did a quick check on 百度地图, Badaling & Jiankou can take subway+bus. I have never tried that before, not sure if it is convenient.

Jeremy1

Did a quick check on 百度地图, Badaling & Jiankou can take subway+bus. I have never tried that before, not sure if it is convenient.

Quite easy but I only afraid need to climb steep slope otw

Have you been to the Great Wall before ?

WussRedXLi

I am going all by myself.

I think I better buy insurance

I think begineer level whole stretch of well maintained badaling for the running folks here is best. Unless if the fella is running power based faster shorter distance and does quick intervals (like our bro kuudere here). That is a 4km dist and total elevation gain of a good few hundred metres.

If not go for more advanced later get sore quads and glutes (possibly calves too) and cannot enjoy. No joke it is possible to be sore for the next 3 days.

If got do intermediate cycling / stair climbing / hiking then can try other stretches.

Or maybe if you are well and often trained in hill sprints hill repeats, then possibly ok.
Key point is muscular power. Not flat course low resistance low resistance based activity.

Aerobic endurance can be "adjusted" one, just pace well based on bpm do your usual Z1 Z2 can liao, no issue at all. Heat shd not be an issue for Oct as well.
Like your running, if chuan then just walk lah. So if climbing you chuan, then just slow to a crawl. Non issue.
But you cannot do that with muscular based "power" + endurance focused as well.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.