Knife sharpening services

light84

Means you did not sharpen all the edges evenly, you need to get rid of the angel fixer and sharpen it freehand, only then you will feel which part of the blade you are sharpening and if all the edges are covered well

Sharpen one side till you can feel the burr (loose metal shavings) then turn over sharpen the other side till both side is even and this burr is minimized then move on to next higher grit and do the same thing.

When you are at the highest grit already then must ensure you sharpen very evenly already.

Final stage is one stoke front, one strike back to make it even
How do I feel the burr?

The_King

me use this
515C8C726UL.__AC_SX300_SY300_QL70_ML2_.jpg

let say new knife is 10/10 sharpness, this one is like 6/10 sharpness

sky00sky

Too bad alot of people think a blunt knife is better say won't Kenna cut by it seriously.

Thus when they handle a real sharp knife, easily get themselves injured when they apply blunt knife cutting techniques with the sharp ones.

My mum used blunt knifes all her life and the first time she tried cooking at my house, sliced her finger real bad and she dun dare to use the knives at my house anymore
Old Folks always think like that , so i keep take my moms knife go sharpen

When BLUNT the knife is not cutting the meat as intended so the user will counter compensate by APPLYING MORE effort and thats where the accidents happen.

Actually for the average home chef dun need to go for japanese knifes lah, really go to AliExpress search for a vg10 knife is way more then enough. Can get one for bout $40+ now, used to be 20+. Cutting performance is alot alot better then the average cheap knife most people are used to. (Vg10 is a type of steel that gives good edge retention of typically higher quality japanese knife provides)

The really good and expensive knife are so cause of their qualities that cater to full time professional chefs who needs to use the knife 30-50 times more then a occasional home cook.

Qualities like edge retention, balance of the knife (use it whole day will less likely get muscle ache), non stickiness of the blade (Damascus folded patterns helps to make knife less sticky as remove the very smooth surface that make food stick to it easily).

There are tons of knife tech that cater for this but the occasional home chef will not even notice them much or why they are priced such.

I have a hiromoto tenmi jyuraku aogami super blue steel no 1 knife by legendary knife smith master nagao who has since retired and his knives are in great demand by chef around the world , snapped up if ever one is on sale as no longer in production and he has no heir to continue his craft.

Mine now sits in storage as it is way above what I can handle, super razor sharp and especially cos it is carbon steel that will get rusty if dun maintain it well.

I bought it at a time when got interested in Japan knifes and did not know too much, just wanted to get one very good one.
I now also use the vg10 from China as daily beater...one knife for most things.
The Jap Blue steel 2, Anryu ..need oil need maintain also in Storage. also got Patina liao. But when get to use also jin SONG .

LASTLY

chopping board matters, also and knife is knife not cleaver...

Nice thread ..

I bought knife from Taobao, it’s a brand called Xinzhuo. Damascus steel with 62-64 HRC, Santoku knife.

When it first came, it was super sharp. A simple flick and I accidentally cut myself but luckily din bleed much.

I tried to polish it myself after it’s blunt and I have a 1000, 3000 and 6000 whetstone. I use the angle attachment clip and clip to knife to polish at a fixed angle but somehow I can sharpen it but still not as sharp as when I first got it. Any tips?

I also got a couple of XInZuo. Value for money if choose the correct steel used.
all the common market zwellig i thrown away.

I bought the oversink holder, 1000/3000 whetsone (china , Jap type)

okay la. ownself sharpen therapeutic
no need do until like out of the box ba...i mean if u keep trying eventually with practice should be able.

ceestudent

One way but might be incorrect..i also quite noob in this is run ur fingernail....
Not run by your fingernail. You need to feel it with your finger tip, like excess metal.
When you sharpen one side of the bevel, the excess metal will curl up on another side. Many youtube video explain about this, can google it. Easier to explain by the video.

likehotbutter

just get a lansky or worksharp or wicked edge jig and ownself settle

if one hi ses sharpening can send to Razorsharp

Tschuus

This reminds me of my friend . Family runs some illegal 4d gambling services. This in the 90s. They have a knife scissors sharping shop. They don't really do any business, every year just declare losses to wash money.

FireEmblem

Yah, go get yourself a end grain wooden chopping board. Means the tree grain faces up instead of across which most lower end chopping board are.

Bamboo/glass/stainless steel chopping board also too harsh on the knife edge so will become blunt much faster

End grain wooden board is usually seen via those round chopping block means the chopping board is sliced horizontally on the tree trunk that particular section instead of vertically top down of the whole tree trunk.

End grain is alot softer. Many people dun know why some chopping block are more expensive think no difference

likehotbutter

Expensive may not be good.

Those Germany zwilling knife expensive but compared to japanese knife are lousy.

You can even get cheap vg 10 knife from china that are better then zwilling

Way too many japanese knife. Can try japanesechefsknife.com to look around
i woudnt say they are lousy

its simply diff tools for the the job

if i want to slice and cut i use my tojiros with their harder edge

when i want to break down larger cuts of meat, i use my zwillings, softer steel less chance of chipping should i hit a bone & easier to touch up on the go

BlackWing1977

nv, my knife so big size. who ask ppl buy so expensive knife

just amazon NSF cerf knife 30 to 50 can liao

GPankii.png

71pceby1tuL._AC_SL1500_.jpg
Decent knife lar.. at least this is the standard knives a hotel restaurant would use with colored handle so that they know which one is for cutting what kind of food.. like yellow handle for poultry, green handle for vegetables, red handle for meat, blue handle for fish, white handle for cooked food I think. So that can avoid cross contamination. NSF simply means safe for contact with food lar.. I mean which knife isn't... :ROFLMAO: it is a matter of not they bother to apply for it to be put on. Just like cutting some of the more reputable cutting boards manufacturers like Boos Block will have this logo printed or burnt into their boards.

foreveru13

Abit far fetched but if you going Tokyo, there's knife sharpening services there. Top knotch.
江戸手研ぎ専門「研ぎ陣 浅草・合羽橋」2 Chome-25-5 Matsugaya, Taito City, Tokyo 111-0036, Japan

BlackWing1977

I throw away and buy new ones. My knives cost less than $50 each. How to dispose old knives? Wrap in newspapers and throw into rubbish chutes?
Wah lao used and throw away?? They not exactly disposable items leh.. I mean you can throw away old knives.. but yeah do wrap it up properly so that the workers dumping rubbish dun hurt themselves...

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.