Knife sharpening services

deathan9el

Honorary Mentor

giphy.gif

menthol28

Sent 4 knives to Pow Li @ People's park FC 2nd floor. Really regretted my decision haizzz
The knives were sharp after sharpening but they were like kena rape liao then thrown into the gutters... All came back with lots of grinding marks and scratches, I got 1 very nicely polished knife and 1 forged carbon now look like they been thru hell and wrecked but it's sharp 😂
Ok, conclusion and lesson learnt is if you got a good knife that costs $100 and above and U wanna retain it's aesthetics, sharpening services like Pow Li is not for u

menthol28

Found this knife shop from carousel Semi black @ TPY north. Quite a good varieties of jap and Chinese knives and they also got provide sharpening services by hand prices start from $10-20
https://www.semiblack.sg/

mugen36

Anyone knows where got knife sharpening service? I've got a few kitchen knives $100-200, I've tried those DIY stones and those that you roll the knife in-between the rollers. Nothing seems to sharpened the knife to it's original sharpness when new. The stones need some kind of skills and patience to sharpen but I've neither
Go make your wife very angry.. she will do it free for you..

Sharpzilla

How do I feel the burr?
Using light pressure, run your fingertips perpendicular across the blade edge. (Always away from the edge, and never towards)

The burr should feel like an extremely thin wire right at the edge of the blade. You'd typically feel it on one side of the blade, not both.

When you're pretty much done with sharpening, start honing on the side without the burr. If you start on the side with the burr, you run the risk of ripping of the wire edge and fracturing the edge (apex), making the knife feel dull again.

FireEmblem

Found this knife shop from carousel Semi black @ TPY north. Quite a good varieties of jap and Chinese knives and they also got provide sharpening services by hand prices start from $10-20
https://www.semiblack.sg/
Err for the price, might as well just buy a whetstone and learn how to sharpen yourself?

I learnt myself too, watch video, understand the principals and practice loh at home. Main thing is learn to keep hands steady for the consistent angle and haha do not buy a metal angle fixer, the thing will scratch your knife badly

menthol28

Err for the price, might as well just buy a whetstone and learn how to sharpen yourself?

I learnt myself too, watch video, understand the principals and practice loh at home. Main thing is learn to keep hands steady for the consistent angle and haha do not buy a metal angle fixer, the thing will scratch your knife badly
Got a new whetstone last month, just started to experience sharpening but it's not as easy as it seems. Must get the angles right
I'm using a 1000/4000 stone
Are those ceramic or dlc coated honing rod useful?

FireEmblem

Got a new whetstone last month, just started to experience sharpening but it's not as easy as it seems. Must get the angles right
I'm using a 1000/4000 stone
Are those ceramic or dlc coated honing rod useful?
Yeah 1000/4000 is actually enough to get a sharp knife already. More then this is more like polishing then sharpening.

Honing rod is more for professional chef or at the least hawkers who cook alot and suddenly find knife not sharp enough while cooking and need a quick perk up for slight extra sharpness

Home cook won't even run into this situation.

Sharpzilla

Sent 4 knives to Pow Li @ People's park FC 2nd floor. Really regretted my decision haizzz
The knives were sharp after sharpening but they were like kena rape liao then thrown into the gutters... All came back with lots of grinding marks and scratches, I got 1 very nicely polished knife and 1 forged carbon now look like they been thru hell and wrecked but it's sharp 😂
Ok, conclusion and lesson learnt is if you got a good knife that costs $100 and above and U wanna retain it's aesthetics, sharpening services like Pow Li is not for u

Send me a message with images of the 4 knives mentioned by you. I may be able to do something with sharpening and polishing.

BlackWing1977

At least now you know... :sick:

BlackWing1977

Bro his knives are expensive hor... that Pow Li auntie is jitao put to the grinding wheel to grind.. got sparks one.. got thick scratch mark across the whole blade leh. :sick:

see-catherine-ohara.gif

carlongerdidu93

7955132eb5ce34d0fd3c0991346e48b1800181bd0144e25550fa6ecac83de283

Pow Li Specialise in grinding knives & scissors
32 New Market Rd, #02-1040 People's Park Complex, Singapore 050032
Sunday
  • Closed
Monday
  • 3:30–9 pm
Tuesday
Wednesday
Thursday
Friday
Saturday
  • 11 am–6 pm

BlackWing1977

What is wrong with this video?? I think this guy maybe sponsored (I sure hope so or else...) to feature the 3000 dollars knife.. I look it up now the knife brand website is selling the set for 6000 dollars (USD) :ROFLMAO:

mochi-mochi-peach-cat-cat.gif

This video have 82M views hor... imagine just 0.01% viewers with money buy it... :rolleyes:

Before you fantasize how super duper it is...

It is just VG10 with 33 Layer Damascus, 16 layers each side, core steel is VG10, ... sounds super regular Japanese knives.. on the website says it is from Seki... but the carving on the blade states it is made by maker from Echizen..

This guy usually review tech like iphone..... :sick:

BlackWing1977

7955132eb5ce34d0fd3c0991346e48b1800181bd0144e25550fa6ecac83de283

Pow Li Specialise in grinding knives & scissors
32 New Market Rd, #02-1040 People's Park Complex, Singapore 050032
Yes keyword is grinding... she have it on her signboard... so dun be surprised she literally put your knives on grinding wheel... :ROFLMAO:

I mean if you got some cheap knives and scissors that your mum loves using and refuse to change.. just bring it to her lor... she is making a honest living... and not easy job... not sure how much longer she can keep working.. I think she is quite old already.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.