Living in JB

Feeling down, anxious and need help? Mental Health Helpline: 6389-2222 (24 hours) More info

Midlifecrisis

Coz most young johorean either migrate to Singapore, KL or Penang once they grad. There are fewer work opportunities in JB.

I would have thought the other way round. Penang and KL move to JB so they can travel to singapore to find work. Those that can “tahan” the drudgery of 4 to 5 hours in daily commute earning 3x the exchange rate. Most johorean young professional 1 in 2 will end up staying in sg and the rest stay put in Malaysia or move out of the country. There is a serious brain drain in Malaysia.

The causeway is of one the busiest border in the world with hundreds of thousands of crossing everyday.

But usually this people cannot afford the Iskandar type of houses. They would rent a house near the Causeway to reduce the daily commute

SKenny

Actually if want maintain lifestyle similar to SG for retirement, can look at Chiang Mai. Half the cost, for the same toys. Car prices super cheap and english is used everywhere. First world medical facilities too.

https://www.ddproperty.com/en/prope...r-to-central-festival-2-3-mb-for-sale-5546909

https://www.toyota.co.th/en/model/camry

I love Chiang Mai!

I visit it once every 2 years or so. The mountain areas around Chiang Mai/Chiang Rai are so beautiful and peaceful. =:p

Retiring on the outskirt of CM city would be very nice.

Strongandhappy

How about penang?

I find penang also very liveable. Unlike busy city KL, many retiree from Spore, angmoh , Jap are retiring in Penang. good and cheap food, nice beaches, major population is Chinese (no problem with mandarin, malay, english, hokkien, Cantonese...)

If you goggle condo along strait quay, most condo is like mini/affordable version of sentosa cove, u can park you yatch, stroll work to shopping center/makan area....resort living..

gld998

Actually if want maintain lifestyle similar to SG for retirement, can look at Chiang Mai. Half the cost, for the same toys. Car prices super cheap and english is used everywhere. First world medical facilities too.

https://www.ddproperty.com/en/prope...r-to-central-festival-2-3-mb-for-sale-5546909

https://www.toyota.co.th/en/model/camry
Mai la... I don't want to learn thai. My sis in law is Thai and she don't advise us to retire in Thailand. Is truly a cowboy style country where anything goes even with the law.

Sent from HUAWEI SHT-AL09 using GAGT

RMCWMR

I would have thought the other way round. Penang and KL move to JB so they can travel to singapore to find work. Those that can “tahan” the drudgery of 4 to 5 hours in daily commute earning 3x the exchange rate. Most johorean young professional 1 in 2 will end up staying in sg and the rest stay put in Malaysia or move out of the country. There is a serious brain drain in Malaysia.

The causeway is of one the busiest border in the world with hundreds of thousands of crossing everyday.

But usually this people cannot afford the Iskandar type of houses. They would rent a house near the Causeway to reduce the daily commute

No lah. Majority of those that work in KL will never come to Singapore. Yes x3 is a good exchange rate but the pay in KL is usually higher and living conditions better. My bro in law told me that.

RMCWMR

How about penang?

I find penang also very liveable. Unlike busy city KL, many retiree from Spore, angmoh , Jap are retiring in Penang. good and cheap food, nice beaches, major population is Chinese (no problem with mandarin, malay, english, hokkien, Cantonese...)

If you goggle condo along strait quay, most condo is like mini/affordable version of sentosa cove, u can park you yatch, stroll work to shopping center/makan area....resort living..

Penang is not bad but kinda like the slower version of Singapore

Instead of 'retiring' in one place, be in Penang, KL, JB, Bali, Chiengmai, Bangkok, JB and so on, why not stay in these places for longer periods? I think it is more fun, moving from one country to another instead of being tied down in one place, requiring additional paper work (for long or retirement stay).

Personally, I won't mind staying for 2 weeks or slightly more.. but after 30 days, I prefer to move on. To each his own. :)

gld998

Instead of 'retiring' in one place, be in Penang, KL, JB, Bali, Chiengmai, Bangkok, JB and so on, why not stay in these places for longer periods? I think it is more fun, moving from one country to another instead of being tied down in one place, requiring additional paper work (for long or retirement stay).

Personally, I won't mind staying for 2 weeks or slightly more.. but after 30 days, I prefer to move on. To each his own. :)
If u have better then average passive income, why not?! But long term is it sustainable? To me retirement is to rest.. Travelling is tiring.

drunkard

If u have better then average passive income, why not?! But long term is it sustainable? To me retirement is to rest.. Travelling is tiring.

As I aged.. I find traveling not as fun.. I prefer to stay at 1 place.

rrr2015

agree best food are found in local makan.
anyway I'm not referring to fancy restaurant but local family run restaurants

For me, some of their best food are found in their local makan places and not some fancy restaurant.

But maybe that's just me.

rrr2015

yes i agree cities crime rates are worst. but low crime doesn't means no crime

besides you have to consider external factors like immigrants (legal/illegal, sumatra just across the straits)

i read batu pahat crime rates were pretty high. that kinda surprised me since it's not a considered a big town/city

for me, i would consider convenience & access over big spaces. since once grow older, i may even have difficulty going up/down 2nd storey
just want to share this. usually crime rate in cities are worse off than kampung. if i am an outlaw, i will rob from the rich. there are more rich people in the cities.
in kampong usually you get old people and small kids. most robin hoods will not be so mean as to rob these people. they dont have much to rob either.

i am not buying the house. but it looked real nice compared to the lousy pigeonhole that you have. i estimate the price of such units to be 4-5mil in sg.

asiafrenz

How's the internet connection speed in JB? This would be an important criteria for me when looking for an alternative city to live in :D

d9_lives

co
My thought as well....
Why chained to a place? 6 months in developed countries,6 months in developing countries...

BBCWatcher

You're basically describing "visa running." It can be done, to a degree, but there's some risk of an entry denial. That risk is growing over time as border control authorities keep getting better information systems.

Some people buy boats, live on their boats, and hop from port to port for many years. There are a few people who own airplanes who do much the same thing, although they have no trouble reaching non-coastal areas. In big countries/territories, such as the United States, Canada, Australia, and the European Union, some citizens and permanent residents buy homes on wheels ("RVs") and roam around. All of the vehicle-based options require somebody who has good driving or piloting skills. That's not necessarily an ability maintained for life.

Midlifecrisis

No lah. Majority of those that work in KL will never come to Singapore. Yes x3 is a good exchange rate but the pay in KL is usually higher and living conditions better. My bro in law told me that.

I have 4 colleagues that joined from kl office. That is only my company. Reason besides money-career opportunity, children education, crime & safety, 2nd class citizen and volatile political situation.

https://www.straitstimes.com/asia/se-asia/falling-malaysian-chinese-population-worrying-analysts

Excerpts “She cited a 2011 World Bank study that showed that up till 2010, almost one million Malaysian Chinese had emigrated to other countries, with 57 per cent of them moving to Singapore.”

https://www.google.com/amp/s/amp.scmp.com/week-asia/politics/article/2095012/whats-causing-malaysias-ethnic-chinese-brain-drain

But I know there will be an inflow of population in the future,... Retirees.
https://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/asia/malaysia-among-top-5-best-places-to-retire-in-the-world-9831836

efreelancer

You're basically describing "visa running." It can be done, to a degree, but there's some risk of an entry denial. That risk is growing over time as border control authorities keep getting better information systems.

Some people buy boats, live on their boats, and hop from port to port for many years. There are a few people who own airplanes who do much the same thing, although they have no trouble reaching non-coastal areas. In big countries/territories, such as the United States, Canada, Australia, and the European Union, some citizens and permanent residents buy homes on wheels ("RVs") and roam around. All of the vehicle-based options require somebody who has good driving or piloting skills. That's not necessarily an ability maintained for life.

Ha ha you are talking about van life. How much to buy a van in JB? Anyone tried driving from JB all the way to Thailand or beyond before? Im planning to do a road trip sometime.

RMCWMR

I have 4 colleagues that joined from kl office. That is only my company. Reason besides money-career opportunity, children education, crime & safety, 2nd class citizen and volatile political situation.

https://www.straitstimes.com/asia/se-asia/falling-malaysian-chinese-population-worrying-analysts

Excerpts “She cited a 2011 World Bank study that showed that up till 2010, almost one million Malaysian Chinese had emigrated to other countries, with 57 per cent of them moving to Singapore.”

https://www.google.com/amp/s/amp.scmp.com/week-asia/politics/article/2095012/whats-causing-malaysias-ethnic-chinese-brain-drain

But I know there will be an inflow of population in the future,... Retirees.
https://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/asia/malaysia-among-top-5-best-places-to-retire-in-the-world-9831836

As if sinkies are not second class citizens in Singapore. Jobs for FT, NS for sinkies?

Midlifecrisis

As if sinkies are not second class citizens in Singapore. Jobs for FT, NS for sinkies?

Sigh....I cannot win an argument against feeling.....obviously grass is greener on the other side until you cross over and discover there are cow dung.

gld998

How's the internet connection speed in JB? This would be an important criteria for me when looking for an alternative city to live in :D
Not good as sg. Very area depended and what plan. And Bkt timah not recommended. YouTube and Netflix still OK. Just go rent Airbnb and find out.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.