Living in JB

Feeling down, anxious and need help? Mental Health Helpline: 6389-2222 (24 hours) More info

gld998

Sigh....I cannot win an argument against feeling.....obviously grass is greener on the other side until you cross over and discover there are cow dung.
I guess alot how dunno lucky we are. Cannot complain.Even FT in sg also scare they are being replaced by cheaper, better FT. :(. I know bolehland non bumi is worse off.

Sent from HUAWEI SHT-AL09 using GAGT

gld998

Ha ha you are talking about van life. How much to buy a van in JB? Anyone tried driving from JB all the way to Thailand or beyond before? Im planning to do a road trip sometime.
U can do that now. I drive multiple times up from sg to Thai border. Worse case u get rejected entry at Thai border then u turn back to sg.

Urbanchap

How's the internet connection speed in JB? This would be an important criteria for me when looking for an alternative city to live in :D

If got broadband, can hv speeds of 30-100 Mbps ( last checked over a year ago).

But in Msia, fibre cables are laid by Telkom Msia. It's not automatic that they will lay fibre to every condo. Some condos only have ADSL internet (speed 1-5Mbps) and no broadband.

lasnoblur

U all very frugal. When I went in last weekend to JB, spent rm120 on Jap food for 2 and rm 130 on Souper Tang. But back in Sg, sl more exp , S$50 for 2 at Ship restaurent....I must learn to eat more hawker food.

its not about frugal.

i find coffee shop / hawker food / shophouses much nicer than most restaurant in jb.

rrr2015

AA do autoventures to various parts of malaysia & south thailand
if you are new, you may like to follow them for few trips to chalk up experiences before embarking on your own
Ha ha you are talking about van life. How much to buy a van in JB? Anyone tried driving from JB all the way to Thailand or beyond before? Im planning to do a road trip sometime.

mummy1234

its not about frugal.

i find coffee shop / hawker food / shophouses much nicer than most restaurant in jb.

I had severe diarrhoea after eating hawker food in Malaysia before when I was young...restaurent food more hygienic to me.

cscs3

As if sinkies are not second class citizens in Singapore. Jobs for FT, NS for sinkies?

If you consider sinkies is second class citizens in Singapore. Then it will be worse off if you move to other country.

gld998

If you consider sinkies is second class citizens in Singapore. Then it will be worse off if you move to other country.
Mayb komplain King should try living in other places. Angmo started shouting at me and my family when I was in Amsterdam and Prague 3 years ago. They think I am some foreigner come there to steal their lunch. :(

gld998

Think you are too nasty and too atas towards them is it? :s13:
I ever lived overseas several years and do business trips also never experience what you said. =:p
Dunno le.. :( I do what I normally do everywhere and anywhere

rrr2015

probably you have to "thank" china chinese for that treatment
Mayb komplain King should try living in other places. Angmo started shouting at me and my family when I was in Amsterdam and Prague 3 years ago. They think I am some foreigner come there to steal their lunch. :(

RMCWMR

Sigh....I cannot win an argument against feeling.....obviously grass is greener on the other side until you cross over and discover there are cow dung.
That is why i only want to retire and live in JB no further than Citysquare mall. Princess Cove is a good choice. Anything happen i can run back across the bridge to Singapore while enjoying the cheaper cost of living in JB

RMCWMR

Who ask you to go europe? Europe is a sheethole. Try canada. people there are much nicer

gld998

That is why i only want to retire and live in JB no further than Citysquare mall. Princess Cove is a good choice. Anything happen i can run back across the bridge to Singapore while enjoying the cheaper cost of living in JB
Princess cove is another ghost town.. Mai la.. So many empty units. U know how eerie or not. I visited Dec 2018 and they have ard 1k units to choose.

ocs_woodlands

Princess cove is another ghost town.. Mai la.. So many empty units. U know how eerie or not. I visited Dec 2018 and they have ard 1k units to choose.

and that's just buying directly from developer..

a lot of resale units.... some asking about 25% below the launch price....
BCptzBv.jpg

Toni90

JB is the worst place in Malaysia. Expensive and unsafe. Why want to live there?

RMCWMR

JB is the worst place in Malaysia. Expensive and unsafe. Why want to live there?
Expensive as compared to? I've been to JB almost every other week. I don't think its unsafe. I think you just need to excercise common sense.

RMCWMR

Rent. Don't buy. Malaysian property not worth buying. It takes sometime for princess cove to be occupied. Hopefully with the mall up and running will bring in the crowd from citysquare

Toni90

Expensive as compared to? I've been to JB almost every other week. I don't think its unsafe. I think you just need to excercise common sense.

Common sense like prepare to be robbed all the time, right?

Rent. Don't buy. Malaysian property not worth buying. It takes sometime for princess cove to be occupied. Hopefully with the mall up and running will bring in the crowd from citysquare

RENT, Don't, Never BUY especially condos. Totally agree.

Why Rent?

1. Free to move out to another condo if you do not like the place (or location) or may have found a better, suitable area for your personal preference, at the end of the rental agreement.

2. No need to pay the monthly maintenance/sinking fund; annual property assessment, fire insurance which can add up to a hefty sum on an annual basis.

3. Not your concern, at least since you are not the owner - whether the Management Committee Council is reliable or responsible in their jobs. If the condo property (cleanliness, security, lifts maintenance, leaking roofs , pipes etc) is not to your liking, look for another condo after your lease agreement expires.

4. No need to spend money for renovation, lighthings, appliances, furniture.

5. Buying involves administrative and legal costs (Stamp Duties on loan + property, lawyer fees for S&P etc) and selling the unit later again involve legal costs.

6. No responsibilities as a renter to bother about registering (and cancelling after selling the unit) for Utilities with Tenaga, Indah Water, Syarikat Bekalan Air & Majlis Bandaraya. You can just 'walk away' after settling with the landlord at the end of the lease. (This is subjective, you can negotiate with the owner to allow utility bills to remain under his/her name).

What else? :)

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.