Living in JB

Feeling down, anxious and need help? Mental Health Helpline: 6389-2222 (24 hours) More info

SKenny

Rent. Don't buy. Malaysian property not worth buying. It takes sometime for princess cove to be occupied. Hopefully with the mall up and running will bring in the crowd from citysquare

You are right to recommend rental instead of purchase.

Princess Cove
2 Bedroom, 870 sq ft
Partially Furnished
RM1,800 per month

https://www.propertyguru.com.my/pro...e-for-rent-by-victor-tai-29183527?ref=ls||5|1

Another similar but better furnished unit going for RM2,200 per month.
R-F-Princess-Cove-Johor-Bahru-Malaysia.jpg

RMCWMR

Common sense like prepare to be robbed all the time, right?

No. Common sense like don't put your wallet and hp on the table while eating, be aware of who and what is going on around you, not wearing expensive watch or jewellery, like i say common sense which is severely lacking in Singapore....i have no pity for fools who put their wallet on the table while eating then lose it when they are distracted. Then kpkb say why crime rate so high.

RMCWMR

RENT, Don't, Never BUY especially condos. Totally agree.

Why Rent?

1. Free to move out to another condo if you do not like the place (or location) or may have found a better, suitable area for your personal preference, at the end of the rental agreement.

2. No need to pay the monthly maintenance/sinking fund; annual property assessment, fire insurance which can add up to a hefty sum on an annual basis.

3. Not your concern, at least since you are not the owner - whether the Management Committee Council is reliable or responsible in their jobs. If the condo property (cleanliness, security, lifts maintenance, leaking roofs , pipes etc) is not to your liking, look for another condo after your lease agreement expires.

4. No need to spend money for renovation, lighthings, appliances, furniture.

5. Buying involves administrative and legal costs (Stamp Duties on loan + property, lawyer fees for S&P etc) and selling the unit later again involve legal costs.

6. No responsibilities as a renter to bother about registering (and cancelling after selling the unit) for Utilities with Tenaga, Indah Water, Syarikat Bekalan Air & Majlis Bandaraya. You can just 'walk away' after settling with the landlord at the end of the lease. (This is subjective, you can negotiate with the owner to allow utility bills to remain under his/her name).

What else? :)

Flip flop policy on foreign ownership, oveesupply of properties, the list goes on. If you really want to buy property in Malaysia go for KL, Selangor or Penang. The rest confirm + chop lose money. I LOL at people who buy malacca development thinking it will be the "next big thing"

Toni90

No. Common sense like don't put your wallet and hp on the table while eating, be aware of who and what is going on around you, not wearing expensive watch or jewellery, like i say common sense which is severely lacking in Singapore....i have no pity for fools who put their wallet on the table while eating then lose it when they are distracted. Then kpkb say why crime rate so high.

Yeah. And if u make mistake not aware what going on around u then someone will rob/kill/rape u. Better don’t make mistake there or have to pay dearly.

gld998

Flip flop policy on foreign ownership, oveesupply of properties, the list goes on. If you really want to buy property in Malaysia go for KL, Selangor or Penang. The rest confirm + chop lose money. I LOL at people who buy malacca development thinking it will be the "next big thing"

JB can still buy but must landed guarded and chinese area... meaning 80% ppl staying is chinese. All my JB properties are landed and guarded.

gld998

and that's just buying directly from developer..

a lot of resale units.... some asking about 25% below the launch price....
BCptzBv.jpg

I would low ball them at 500k or lesser.. lets see who break 1st... but I dont dare to also even at 500k or lesser as I know non landed very hard to sell in the future. :(

RMCWMR

Yeah. And if u make mistake not aware what going on around u then someone will rob/kill/rape u. Better don’t make mistake there or have to pay dearly.
That applies to anywhere be it London, New York, Paris, etc except sinkieland. We take security for granted

RMCWMR

I would low ball them at 500k or lesser.. lets see who break 1st... but I dont dare to also even at 500k or lesser as I know non landed very hard to sell in the future. :(

Foreigners can't buy malaysian property below rm1 million

dork32

The guards will be the part time robbers.

actually they are part time guards and full time robbers.

this statement is true. the guards patrol around the estate all the time. they know who is in and who is not. they will let the robbers come in to the houses that are not occupied.

if malaysia police can accept bribes to supplement their income, i dont see why the guards will not do the same.

RMCWMR

actually they are part time guards and full time robbers.

this statement is true. the guards patrol around the estate all the time. they know who is in and who is not. they will let the robbers come in to the houses that are not occupied.

if malaysia police can accept bribes to supplement their income, i dont see why the guards will not do the same.

Anyway the point I'm trying to make is use your common sense. Lock your doors. Install cctv, install alarm. Don't take security for granted. It applies everywhere in the world except singapore aparently

homer123

Actually there are more below 1500 pm rental ( guarded and gated as well) in Iskandar ..even saw a few horizon hill landed at 1.5k pm
You are right to recommend rental instead of purchase.

Princess Cove
2 Bedroom, 870 sq ft
Partially Furnished
RM1,800 per month

SKenny

Actually there are more below 1500 pm rental ( guarded and gated as well) in Iskandar ..even saw a few horizon hill landed at 1.5k pm

Yes, I saw those as well. They used to be going for RM3k/m just a few short years ago. :(:(

I heard they are open to negotiation! And they will consider short lease too!!. :eek::eek:

homer123

Yes on negotiating lower rent, they are desperate to rent.
With rental now lower than 2K ringgit for a nice property , the JB landlord is actually subsidizing you after accounting for mortgage interest,maintenance and other misc expense the buyer has to pay. The minimum 1 million for foreign buyer has seriously distort property price in JB..

Yes, I saw those as well. They used to be going for RM3k/m just a few short years ago. :(:(

I heard they are open to negotiation! And they will consider short lease too!!. :eek::eek:

andyhtc

Collecting maintenance will be a big headache for the Management Council. Hence, the property condition will usually deteriorate after just 3-4 years.

I recommend staying away from condos in JB even though they are priced attractively now. Freehold landed that are gated and guarded near amenities are the way to go for own-stay.

SKenny

Collecting maintenance will be a big headache for the Management Council. Hence, the property condition will usually deteriorate after just 3-4 years.

I recommend staying away from condos in JB even though they are priced attractively now. Freehold landed that are gated and guarded near amenities are the way to go for own-stay.

I agree.

Many of the owners are from oversea. It is extremely difficult for them to recover the management fee from them.

I know of a person who owns a unit in Malaysia. He has not been paying his monthly management fee for more than 10 years!

RMCWMR

Yes on negotiating lower rent, they are desperate to rent.
With rental now lower than 2K ringgit for a nice property , the JB landlord is actually subsidizing you after accounting for mortgage interest,maintenance and other misc expense the buyer has to pay. The minimum 1 million for foreign buyer has seriously distort property price in JB..
If you want to live in JB now is the best time to rent. Just get a 2-3 years lease and whack them for 20-30% below their asking price. Better to rent it out than leave the unit empty.

gld998

Foreigners can't buy malaysian property below rm1 million

If the property is worth 1mil but you buy at 500k, u can declare as 1mil and say u pay 500k downpayment to the bank etc. Talk to the seller and get him to agree. That is the whole point of a lowball. U think Msia got structure like HDB ar?

I recently bought a KL landed at 1.6mil valued at 2.5mil. Now KL landed only can buy. Avoid penang and jb. Negative growth for sure. KL area stop building landed. You can only get landed outskirt KL only.

I cannot buy also if below 1mil. Only lowball 1mil and above property and try my luck.

The guards will be the part time robbers.
You must know what are u doing. If its so bad, I would have given up long ago. Anyway there is nth much to rob also.

gld998

Wow. Properties! Is it tough to rent out?

It's tough. Heng I got it low. Now some property worth a few fold which I sold for some decent profit. I regretted as I nvr hooted SG property during that time. Haiz.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.