Living in JB

Feeling down, anxious and need help? Mental Health Helpline: 6389-2222 (24 hours) More info

SKenny

may i know which area you stayed in KL?
do u find KL cost of living to be close to SG levels?

penang is nice … more compact, comfortable public transport & easier to get around.

I used to stayed at Bangsar area.

Living expenses in KL is so much cheaper than Singapore. Housing (rental or purchase) and car (including road tax and petrol) are usually the 2 biggest cost items, and they cost a fraction of the cost in Singapore. Next are the food, eating out, entertainment etc. And they too cost a fraction of Singapore.

cscs3

We used Tebrau shuttle ie the train before. Actual crossing only 5 min but customs clearance another 15 min.

What about from the place you stay to shuttle and from the place shuttle reach to your work place?

pattanispirit

can stay in Seremban 芙蓉 w S$1k salary, enough to pay installment for a RM200k house + living expenses.

RMCWMR

Now JB quite expensive compared to furthur up north. Only good for semiretirees who need to come back occ for work. If not retire furthur up north is cheaper.

Further up north only KL and penang is worth living. The other places are slums

RMCWMR

this is one of the options that i am considering.

since i intend to come back one or twice a month, i prob be moving a bit more north.
there a brand new semiD is only RM700k.

Foreigners cannot buy property below rm1 million.

mummy1234

What about from the place you stay to shuttle and from the place shuttle reach to your work place?

From my JB house to customs about 15min, 20 min to cross then prob take grab or mrt to nearby clinics like in woodlands or yishun. Should be about an hr I think.

Have to try out but hubby still dun like my kids to study in JB international schools. He prefers Sg schools.

So I am stuck in Sg. Gonna start a new job as an anchor Dr. Have to work hard to save money if wanna retire in Sg...sob...

rrr2015

thanks for sharing. ahh ... upscale area of coz nice & comfy :)
aside from rent & car. hmm ... yes food, eating out (restaurants?) may be cheaper, but didn't find it much cheaper

may time to go look see look see :)

I used to stayed at Bangsar area.

Living expenses in KL is so much cheaper than Singapore. Housing (rental or purchase) and car (including road tax and petrol) are usually the 2 biggest cost items, and they cost a fraction of the cost in Singapore. Next are the food, eating out, entertainment etc. And they too cost a fraction of Singapore.

gld998

may i know which area you stayed in KL?
do u find KL cost of living to be close to SG levels?

penang is nice … more compact, comfortable public transport & easier to get around.

Penang everyday jam jam jam la... :s22: Public transport? what public transport:s13:

gld998

thanks for sharing. ahh ... upscale area of coz nice & comfy :)
aside from rent & car. hmm ... yes food, eating out (restaurants?) may be cheaper, but didn't find it much cheaper

may time to go look see look see :)

Recently stayed in KL for property hunting, KL is similar to SG food prices, just slightly cheaper. Rent & car is cheaper. Certain areas alot Japs and Kimchi. Some places alot Nigerians... :s22:

rrr2015

retire already got plenty time mah hahaha ... bus are quite new & comfy for certain routes. of coz don't stay in george town mah, somewhere quieter & near the beaches
Penang everyday jam jam jam la... :s22: Public transport? what public transport:s13:

some area alot of indonesian, nasi padang shiok but not cheap
if i crave for nasi padang, go batam cheaper :)
Recently stayed in KL for property hunting, KL is similar to SG food prices, just slightly cheaper. Rent & car is cheaper. Certain areas alot Japs and Kimchi. Some places alot Nigerians... :s22:

gld998

retire already got plenty time mah hahaha ... bus are quite new & comfy for certain routes. of coz don't stay in george town mah, somewhere quieter & near the beaches

some area alot of indonesian, nasi padang shiok but not cheap
if i crave for nasi padang, go batam cheaper :)

Lookup nasi kandar/Melayu not nasi padang. :D and yes batam cheaper.

If u ok to wait for 1 to 2 hrs for public transport then u should be fine. Ride a bike or buy a kancil instead.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.