M1 5G is here!

eyz

I am staying put at 4G.

No point going 5G at the moment.

I am on 5G plan with SH for 1 year and no point. Just that the plan is similar price after CIS so I am ok to be Locked up for 2 years.

my 2 other lines going at Gomo 4G (50GB/$18) and Circles 4G (50GB/$10 data only).

$7 more per month for 5G doesn’t give me more goodness but more trouble.

ahh thanks for the info.

im considering getting a 4G phone, and hope that it will be useful for a a other 3 years.

eyz

With the same number of users, 5G will be faster than 4G.

The real benefit of 5G isn't the single user speed (realistically who needs 1Gbps+ on a phone) but it's the speed when it's crowded (eg Jay Chou concert)

As 5G takes off, telcos will move spectrum/bandwidth from 4G to 5G, like they did with the transition from 3G to 4G. So no, it’s unlikely 4G will get faster than what it already is today.

ok, i got the idea. 4G spectrum will be taken over by 5G, as more users moving to 5G.

boonkang

Yes. In areas of extreme congestion 5G can support more users.

In Orchard yesterday I couldn't use any internet even with full bars 4G. I forced my phone to connect to 5G SA and could get 300+Mbps.

The REAL TEST for 5G is not now.

Currently 5G has low adoption rate -- i.e. MUCH LESS people on 5G compared to 4G.

5-10yrs from now -- when everybody is already on 5G -- then we can ACTUALLY TELL if 5G can REALLY provide EVERYBODY with good bandwdth -- even in extremely crowded situations.

When 4G was in initial stages -- those early 4G adopters all had very good bandwidth too & 4G had all the hype -- JUST like 5G now.

Today, when everybody is on 4G -- did 4G live up to the hype it got -- during first 1-3yrs of 4G rollout?

We all know the answer now, yes? Haha..

Currently 5G users -- are just paying more -- so as to be connected via a (much) less crowded channel/spectrum.

Hi1307

The REAL TEST for 5G is not now.

Currently 5G has low adoption rate -- i.e. MUCH LESS people on 5G compared to 4G.

5-10yrs from now -- when everybody is already on 5G -- then we can ACTUALLY TELL if 5G can REALLY provide EVERYBODY with good bandwdth -- even in extremely crowded situations.

When 4G was in initial stages -- those early 4G adopters all had very good bandwidth too & 4G had all the hype -- JUST like 5G now.

Today, when everybody is on 4G -- did 4G live up to the hype it got -- during first 1-3yrs of 4G rollout?

We all know the answer now, yes? Haha..

Currently 5G users -- are just paying more -- so as to be connected via a (much) less crowded channel/spectrum.

I disagree. To start, 5G already has 5x the amount of spectrum as 4G (100MHz vs 20MHz). So we would minimally see 5x the speed on 5G compared to 4G. However, with other advancements at the radio level like 256QAM and OFDMA, the benefits are multiplied further.

Of course 5G will become more congested as more users onboard. But it will be far from as bad as 4G because 5G is designed to carry more users in the same spectrum, and we also have so much more spectrum.

Also 4G didn't slow down as more users got onboard because IMDA eventually released more spectrum (and refarmed from 3G). 4G slowed down because we stopped paying $80 for 4GB of data and started paying $20 for 100GB of data (thank you SIMBA).

Slavor

I want to vomit blood and almost going to change my mind to sign up for M1.

I used to be an M1 customer a while back so my email definitely on their system. Because of that every time I input my email on their bespoke plan sign up process it keep throwing up error saying I'm an M1 customer. Even when I try a new email also got error now.

Their infrastructure really terrible sia. Looks like I'm going to have to stay on circles because M1 dunno how to process me lol

boonkang

I disagree. To start, 5G already has 5x the amount of spectrum as 4G (100MHz vs 20MHz). So we would minimally see 5x the speed on 5G compared to 4G. However, with other advancements at the radio level like 256QAM and OFDMA, the benefits are multiplied further.

Of course 5G will become more congested as more users onboard. But it will be far from as bad as 4G because 5G is designed to carry more users in the same spectrum, and we also have so much more spectrum.

Also 4G didn't slow down as more users got onboard because IMDA eventually released more spectrum (and refarmed from 3G). 4G slowed down because we stopped paying $80 for 4GB of data and started paying $20 for 100GB of data (thank you SIMBA).

You may be a bit (too) obsessed with front end radio paper specs. Haha..

No matter how much new technologies goes into the front end 5G SA/NR radio base stations or client devices -- the high 5G SA/NR bandwidth comes at a cost of range.

5G SA/NR range is (much) shorter than 4G -- so REAL LIFE bandwidth drops much faster or drops much more -- when people/users moves a bit further away.

All the paper specs high number 5G SA/NR bandwidth -- assumes quite ideal conditions (as if all 5G users will be always be VERY VERY close to 5G base stations).

Real life is not ideal & the average real life bandwidth -- by the time everybody is on 5G SA/NR -- will be MUCH LOWER than paper specs in real world conditions.

We will know in 5-10yrs time.

You're also missing out / NOT CONSIDERING a VERY IMPORTANT factor -- that nobody talks about.

No matter how much technologies goes into the front end 5G SA/NR radio base stations or client devices -- it CANNOT OVERCOME another important factor.

That factor is: Backhaul bandwidth limit of the mobile data network (at any particular location).

Will stop here -- since digressing from this thread's main topic. Haha..

Hi1307

You may be a bit too obsessed with front end radio paper specs. Haha..

No matter how much new technologies goes into the front end 5G SA/NR radio base stations or client devices -- the high 5G SA/NR bandwidth comes at a cost of range.

5G SA/NR range is (much) shorter than 4G -- so REAL LIFE bandwidth drops much faster or drops much more -- when people/users moves a bit further away.

All the paper specs high number 5G SA/NR bandwidth -- assumes quite ideal considitions (as if all 5G users will be always be VERY VERY close to 5G base stations).

Real life is not ideal & the average real life bandwidth -- by the time everybody is on 5G SA/NR -- will be MUCH LOWER than paper specs in real world conditions.

You're also missing out / NOT CONSIDERING a VERY IMPORTANT factor -- that nobody talks about.

No matter how much technologies goes into the front end 5G SA/NR radio base stations or client devices -- it CANNOT OVERCOME another important factor.

That factor is: Backhaul bandwidth (available) for mobile data network (at any particular location).

You're using American arguments which do have some substance here, but are very limited.

Yes the range of 5G is shorter than LTE/4G, but not by much. 5G at n78 (3500MHz) is not much higher in frequency than 4G's capacity band on b7 (2700MHz). It has similar propagation characteristics to b7 early in its deployment so range is not really an issue in Singapore (unlike the US which relies heavily on mmWave). This is how our telcos already have 90+% coverage in SG.

Plus, backhaul is a non-issue in Singapore. We have Netlink NBN so we are on full fibre. 10GbE is no problem at every base station if required - fibre has practically unlimited bandwidth.

At this point, we are 4 years into 5G's release. With a mature ecosystem I'd expect around 30-50% of connections in SG to be on 5G (all recontracting lines since 2020 use 5G). However, I've yet to see any slowdowns in speeds on 5G which is promising.

eyz

@boonkang @Hi1307

thanks for the info guys.

im torn between getting a Huawei old model 5G phone or a Huawei new model 4G phone.

natas

Same problem.... My home, happy happy 5G, not happy 4G. Happy no signal, happy 1,2 bars. With 4G or 5G, download, surfing net is like flipping of coin, depending on network mood. Getting worse n worse. How bad can a paid service offered by a telco? Look at the attached pics. Show them to the CEO, will he feels proud n continue monthly fat pay or hara-kiri? :D

Sadly, we do not have a strong, trustworthy org to monitor all these.

Unlike in other country. https://www.reuters.com/business/me...-inaccurate-internet-speed-claims-2022-11-11/

Whats-App-Image-2022-12-12-at-21-33-57.jpg
Whats-App-Image-2022-12-12-at-21-40-07.jpg

You may be a bit (too) obsessed with front end radio paper specs. Haha..

All the paper specs high number 5G SA/NR bandwidth -- assumes quite ideal conditions (as if all 5G users will be always be VERY VERY close to 5G base stations).

That factor is: Backhaul bandwidth limit of the mobile data network (at any particular location).

You're using American arguments which do have some substance here, but are very limited.

Yes the range of 5G is shorter than LTE/4G, but not by much. 5G at n78 (3500MHz) is not much higher in frequency than 4G's capacity band on b7 (2700MHz). It has similar propagation characteristics to b7 early in its deployment so range is not really an issue in Singapore (unlike the US which relies heavily on mmWave). This is how our telcos already have 90+% coverage in SG.

Plus, backhaul is a non-issue in Singapore. We have Netlink NBN so we are on full fibre. 10GbE is no problem at every base station if required - fibre has practically unlimited bandwidth.

At this point, we are 4 years into 5G's release. With a mature ecosystem I'd expect around 30-50% of connections in SG to be on 5G (all recontracting lines since 2020 use 5G). However, I've yet to see any slowdowns in speeds on 5G which is promising.

U guys can debate till no end. :D

Back to the basic, as a customer, I pay for the service, I just want to watch youtube, etc. I do not ask for what 100 mbps but speedtest at 1.5 mbps??? Even the speedtest commented, "Your internet connection is very slow." :D

Personal experience n view, it is slowly getting worse n worse as a 1st tier telco. With Simas as secondary.. I am quite happy with it. Will continue monitor both.

lohsenglte

@boonkang @Hi1307

thanks for the info guys.

im torn between getting a Huawei old model 5G phone or a Huawei new model 4G phone.
I would say you can think of the old Huawei 5G phone as future 4G phone too.

when SingTel/StarHub/SIMBA choose to (or forced to) shut down 5GNR NSA, many early gen 5G devices won't be able to connect to 5GNR SA.
That is of course, unless the device was certified to operate on SingTel/StarHub/M1/SIMBA 5GNR SA.

That would be the dilemma for iPhone 12 customers too, where M1 customers cannot connect to 5G at all now because of the lack of 5GNR NSA, and SIMBA not even having any carrier profile means that they can't even have 5G Access on any iPhone in the near future.

camoguysg

Anyone already received email or SMS notifying that your M1 plan is automatically upgraded to M1+ plan for FREE? Applicable to all plans except Bespoke plans.

See more details & FAQ in M1 website below.

https://www.m1.com.sg/sites/missionplus/index.html
No leh...didn't receive any sms. When I downloaded the m1+ app from the web link it seems to be for bespoke plans.

everex

No leh...didn't receive any sms. When I downloaded the m1+ app from the web link it seems to be for bespoke plans.
It looks like they are relaunching M1+ differently. Let’s see. Right now, just teasers. Hopefully something good and useful for M1 subs.

magix

Maybe this is just offer Corp customer or line. (the unlimited zoom, team,webex)

THFC78

Anyone already received email or SMS notifying that your M1 plan is automatically upgraded to M1+ plan for FREE? Applicable to all plans except Bespoke plans.

See more details & FAQ in M1 website below.

https://www.m1.com.sg/sites/missionplus/index.html
I receive 2 times already, once during Nov and another in Dec last year, but both migration did not go through and they sent me another sms telling me my M1 plan will be upgraded at a later date....

THFC78

It looks like they are relaunching M1+ differently. Let’s see. Right now, just teasers. Hopefully something good and useful for M1 subs.
Some people received bill shock after the upgrade, they suddenly tio charge unknown misc charge

RMXlKLw.jpg

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.