[Mac 101] Ask your questions here!

d0gsMiLez

I hope that works for you.

Otherwise, go to Firefox 3's -> Tools -> Add-ons -> Plugins, and disable Shockwave Flash. If FF3 still crash after that, it's not Flash's fault leow.

aiya installed liao .. still crash .. me try the 2nd method ..

*check .. mine ff2 :s13:

omg really can die :s13:

RupertGee

FF2 ah? Manually go to /Library/Internet Plug-Ins/ and move two "flashplayer" files to your Desktop to disable Flash.

RupertGee

Cannot be.

You probablly looked in the wrong Library folder.

/Library/ means the Library folder that is in the same root as your /Applications/ folder.

~/Library/ is the one under your Home folder, and is the wrong one you looked at.

:D

d0gsMiLez

Cannot be.

You probablly looked in the wrong Library folder.

/Library/ means the Library folder that is in the same root as your /Applications/ folder.

~/Library/ is the one under your Home folder, and is the wrong one you looked at.

:D
lol! thanks rupert! found it :D

leinad

another noob qns.

then if i place 2xddr2 800 into a duo core macbook that can support 4gb. will it take in the chip as 667mhz? as i got spare 800mhz. or the chipset cannot support? i afraid of damaging the chipset.

I'm using that configuration ATM. No issues so far.

/Dan

austinmation

1) No. The Santa Rosa chipset limits the memory bus to 667Mhz - it's a hardware limitation in place by Intel.
2) The 2nd disc is part of the installation process - it contains the extra applications.
3) No. Discs are locked to device classes. You can't even use an older/newer-generation MacBook's restore disc on your MacBook.

/Dan

3) You cannot do the installation directly onto the tiger macbook's hdd, however you can install the leopard detecting the macbook as an external hdd (either via fire wire transfer wizard/ external hdd casing). Its a loophole. :p

leinad

3) You cannot do the installation directly onto the tiger macbook's hdd, however you can install the leopard detecting the macbook as an external hdd (either via fire wire transfer wizard/ external hdd casing). Its a loophole. :p
Yeah. But I believe I was quite specific when I said the disc was installed on the macbook itself.

/Dan

austinmation

Yeah. But I believe I was quite specific when I said the disc was installed on the macbook itself.

/Dan

oops.. Not meant to say you are wrong in anyway. Just want to point that you are right, and suggesting an unorthodox method which is inconvenience, but will install onto a hdd. :)

*Users are encouraged to purchase a retail version at all times to receive full support from Apple!*

Teaken

hi guys,

use which program to extract dvd to iso format. handbrake?

thanks! :D

Teaken

Huat torking you?
:o let me rephrase again.

I want to rip my DVD but end product will be ISO format. Possible? Can handbrake rip DVD to ISO format too?

I did tried using Mac Ripper, not possible to rip into ISO format unless I can't locate it again. :D

RupertGee

Waolaoeh.

ISO format is just a disc format, a disc format readable by almost all modern OSes and electronic devices, unlike the FAT32/NTFS (Winblows) or HFS (Macintosh) formats for instance are platform specific.

So it makes no sense to "rip a dvd to iso format"!

Ripping simply means copying the content of a dvd-video disc to your harddisk. Period. The ripped dvd-video retains its dvd-video format but now instead of residing in a dvd disc it is in your harddisk. Kotex.

We often CONVERT the content of a dvd-video disc to a smaller media FILE format, format such as .mp4, .mkv, .wmv, .rmvb etc. You can then store the converted media file in an iso formatted dvd, a Zune, an iPod, a Dell.

So... exactly what chew wanna do?

Teaken

Waolaoeh.

ISO format is just a disc format, a disc format readable by almost all modern OSes and electronic devices, unlike the FAT32/NTFS (Winblows) or HFS (Macintosh) formats for instance are platform specific.

Ripping simply means copying the content of a dvd-video disc to your harddisk. Period. The ripped dvd-video retains its dvd-video format but now instead of residing in a dvd disc it is in your harddisk. Kotex.

We often CONVERT the content of a dvd-video disc to a smaller media FILE format, format such as .mp4, .mkv, .wmv, .rmvb etc. You can then store the converted media file in an iso formatted dvd, a Zune, an iPod, a Dell.

So... exactly what chew wanna do?
I do understand ISO format is just a format readable by Win/Mac . I do know DVD residing in my hdd after ripping it. I'm asking whether can I rip to ISO format is for my purpose of easy management in my Hdd driven media player.

I dont need to convert to other smaller format which I dont see a need too becos I could burn and pass to my frens without loaning them my dvds.

jaskoo80

I've read somewhere that Disk Utility can be used to create ISO images
I haven't tried this before but if I were to do it, this is what I'll do
20080821-ttyiqab972skp363116cun9xck.jpg

This will create a file with a CDR extension. You can rename to ISO if you prefer (works both ways)
Note: Some boards say the ripped image cannot be mounted on windows while others say it can. So I dunno.

Alternatively, I'm sure you can find tons of ISO making freeware tools on versiontracker or macupdate.

jaskoo80

Here's another way that have been reported to work

1) Open Terminal
2) Use drutil to get device name of your dvd-drive (in this case, /dev/disk1)
$ drutil status
Vendor Product Rev
HL-DT-ST DVDRW GSA-S10N AP09

Type: DVD-ROM Name: /dev/disk1
Cur Write: 3x DVD Sessions: 1
Max Write: 3x DVD Tracks: 1
Overwritable: 00:00:00 blocks: 0 / 0.00MB / 0.00MiB
Space Free: 00:00:00 blocks: 0 / 0.00MB / 0.00MiB
Space Used: 485:50:54 blocks: 2186304 / 4.48GB / 4.17GiB
Writability:
Book Type: DVD-ROM
3) unmount your disc
$ diskutil unmountDisk disk1
Disk disk1 unmounted

4) use dd command to dump the entire dvd into an ISO file
$ dd if=/dev/disk1 of=/whatever-path/whatever-file.iso

Edit: when using dd command, make sure you dun typo the "if" and "of" options

jaskoo80

RupertGee said:
Eh Rupert? Acutally a lot of ppl I know do rip their DVDs into ISO files for storing/backup purposes. There is some sense in that.
I guess the correct way is to say "creating an ISO image of a DVD". Some say rip, same say convert, some say extract same say backup.... same intended meaning most of the time.

leinad

Hey! Don't bully Teaken la. :) He's a laojiao in these forums, just new to the mac. Be nice!

/Dan

RupertGee

Eh Rupert? Acutally a lot of ppl I know do rip their DVDs into ISO files for storing/backup purposes. There is some sense in that.

Oh.... That wasn't the impression I got but now I know. I guess I was thrown off course when he mentioned Handbrake, which is a DVD-Video to mpeg-4 Converter. Handbrake doesn't rip at all. :(

I guess the correct way is to say "creating an ISO image of a DVD". Some say rip, same say convert, some say extract same say backup.... same intended meaning most of the time.

Kinda... but… but ... nevermind. :)

Anyway... IIIRC, Toast can creates/mount an .iso 9660 image file.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.