[Mac 101] Ask your questions here!

crash86

oh.. so how do i format my external hd in fat32 format? it is not one of the options when i try to format it in disk utility.

oh and what if i have a file tts bigger then 4GB?

thanks.

electronics

When installing Windows XP onto Macbook, must ONLY use Windows XP with Service Pack 2 CD?

Will normal version of Windows XP do? i.e. without serivce pack 2 version of Windows XP.

ghost_83

When installing Windows XP onto Macbook, must ONLY use Windows XP with Service Pack 2 CD?

Will normal version of Windows XP do? i.e. without serivce pack 2 version of Windows XP.

Must use XP wth SP2. Or else your install won't be successful. Confirm + Chop.. It is due to the SATA drivers that is included in SP2.

If you have the original XP, you can slipstream SP2 (now SP3) into it and burn out a new XP install CD with SP3 integrated into it.. Try to google to find out more about slipstreaming.

Ghost

Ore0_Cheescake V2.0

hey, got a quick question, why does my screen get dimmer when my room is completely dark and brighter when the lights are on ? i mean shouldnt it be the other way round ?

leinad

hey, got a quick question, why does my screen get dimmer when my room is completely dark and brighter when the lights are on ? i mean shouldnt it be the other way round ?

That's actually correct. I used to wonder about it too, but I realized if it went brighter when the ambient light darkens, it is more painful to the eyes.

When the ambient light is bright, it washes out the screen - so the screen backlight brightens to "compensate".

Think about it.. I believe it'll become clear to you. :)

/Dan

leinad

You can slipstream the Windows XP SP2 updates into a disc. Do a google search on "Slipstream Windows XP Service Pack 2".

/Dan

-hollowman-

1) is it worth going for firewire-enabled ext HDD like the WD Passport Studio or Seagate freeagent for mac? will apple phase out firewire in the future? cos the alu-MB already don't have firewire port already...

2) for the Passport Studio, in order to run it in Windows, it needs to be reformatted :(

what if i'm using the normal Passport Essential, do i still need to format for it to run in windows? Windows is FAT32 and OSX is HFS+ right?

Thanks in advance!

edit: Mac is my main station, but concerned with windows compatibility in the event i revive my dead PC.

RupertGee

Firewire is dead on the MB series.

Surely Apple heard our cries and protests when it dropped firewire on the alu mac book. So I doubt they will do so for the iMac line, and definitely dare not do so on the Mac Pro (which even has Firewire 800 as standard, that only came with higher end iMac.)

The thing is most people never care for Firewired devices until Apple drop the Firewire, isn't it? Just like nobody likes the cube until it prematurely stopped production... suddenly everybody must have one.

Just get usb if you don't need firewire anyway.

slang

A question on video playing on a mac leopard OSX....how do i play TS Video files (Extracted from DVD) in Mac Directly without converting the videos? I tried to install flip4Mac to work with Quicktime but it cannot play too...Anyway to get the TS video files to work in a Mac? Cheers!

RupertGee

Wahcor!

You damn typical window users hor? :D

Just drag and drop the VIDEO_TS folder into.... take your first guess as a Mac user... the Apple DVD Player, lor!

And... wtf does flip4mac has got to do with dvd leh? Huay you think so much unlike like dat?

:(

Ore0_Cheescake V2.0

i need help guys, recently i copied my entire album from my desktop to my mac via a external HD. so i place it inside my home icon, the place which is above application and below desktop, under the heading of places. i copied all my songs into, music->itunes. after which, i drag the entire album to Itunes programme itself. but here comes the problem, after i transfered, i notice ALOT of double post, some times even triple post in the itunes programme. i had to manually remove hundereds of songs. and i've still got quite some more to clear. why is it like that, at my desktop , i didnt encountered this problem. now the 2nd problem,i notice the Itunes music folder itself has some songs in it too. but i didnt transfer any songs there, how did it get there ?

so in summary

problem no1: i transfered my entire song album (lets call it ABC) from HD to music->itunes
problem no2: alot of repeats on my itunes programme itself
problem no3:now Itune music folder and "ABC" folder from problem no1, are taking up alot of spaces, i dont know which to delete. now my HD left 60gb nia. i suspect alot of repeat songs.

thanks for reading my question

FeNgZhEnG

eh got another hassle free way..use Senuti to import ur ipod songs to ur Mac Hdd

globalnomad

Hi, if I use a MBP Alu for watching movies, running chat, and editing photos in adobe CS4, and just Maybe some light gaming. Do you think 2GB RAM would suffice?

Or is 4GB RAM overkill? I'm kinda reluctant to upgrade in the future even though I know it's relatively easy. It also voids my applecare if I decide to buy one right?

leinad

Hi, if I use a MBP Alu for watching movies, running chat, and editing photos in adobe CS4, and just Maybe some light gaming. Do you think 2GB RAM would suffice?

Or is 4GB RAM overkill? I'm kinda reluctant to upgrade in the future even though I know it's relatively easy. It also voids my applecare if I decide to buy one right?
RAM is user-upgradeable (tip, as long as it's in the manual, you should be able to upgrade it without voiding warranty)

IMO, go with the 4GB upgrade. It's definitely worth it. 256MB of the RAM is reserved for the GPU, leaving you with a lot less to work with. If your images are bigger, working in PS4 will definitely degrade system performance due to multiple swapping.

/Dan

globalnomad

ok thanks. yes the RAW files out of my camera is going to be double digit MB. So I guess 4gb RAM is the way to go.

Eldarchen

Question,

Will I be able to upgrade the graphic/ram and HD personally (outside shop) for the imac after the warranty expires ?

Ore0_Cheescake V2.0

4qn62u.jpg

iTunes Preference, Advanced.

If you're having too much trouble with a Mac, maybe it's time to remove it from your life. Stick with the familiar.

so u're saying that i can delete the folder that i added from my HD ? since the itunes folder already has my songs in place ? cause some of the songs DOES not have repeats, so which folder to repeat. NA, i love the mac, just need to get use to it. thanks for the advice though

emuji

new aluminum MacBook's super drive

i am quite worry about the super drive on my Macbook. hope to get some advise here.

when i load DVD into the super drive, the drive took it but it came with a rather loud 'crak' sound. sounded like some hard plastic inside cracking up.

anyone has this issue?

hope this is the right forum to bring up this question.

Thanks!

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.