NTU APPEAL

gosthic

My grades are BBC GP C5,, to guarantee my place in NTU, should i appeal into less popular courses such as EEE or mech engin (i don even know i am qualified since competition is so tough)... what are my chances? cause through the forums i realise that quite a number of people are forsaking their places in engineering courses to pursue Biz or Accountancy.

laober

for anan32, just try appealing la. u paid for application fees, so just give them the work. if appeal fails, at least u know u tried!

gosthic: i'm not sure what's competitive and not this year. maybe you can try courses like common engin, etc.

DRaG0NoVA

hey, for the CCA records, i lost contact with my coach but i won a trophy during my JC days, do i need to send any 'supporting documents' to strengthen my case? haha i also stated that im taking up ACCA, hope that helps me in getting to ntu biz:look:

joycelyn09

ya. btw.. ppl dun get the wrong idea that common engin is the worst engin course. actually it is not easy to get into common engin too.. my friend got bbc and get rejected. If u really want to choose the least popular course. i will suggest EEE, my friend got BCD and manage to secure a place in NTU EEE.

erm. may i ask, yr friend who got BCD, what did he get for his gp to get ntu EEE?

hoshiyume

eh. if i get CCE for my 3 h2.. does it mean that i should dun even bother to try appealin?

Like what laober has mentioned - just appeal. You did pay the 10 bucks and since all of us here did apply to at least 2 schools? and given that there's NO WAY we can study in the 2 schools at the same time, there will be places available. So just give your best shot and pray

hellsoul

From the appeal page, they wrote only for those applications for admission for year 2008-09.

Those that applying for year 2010 cannot appeal?

If appeal and got accepted, then next year suddenly interest change, can apply again right?

joycelyn09

From the appeal page, they wrote only for those applications for admission for year 2008-09.

Those that applying for year 2010 cannot appeal?

If appeal and got accepted, then next year suddenly interest change, can apply again right?

erm. can i ask how ppl ask to admission for year 2010 ar? u mean those ppl who are in army, acty their application is for year 2010? so those ppl who register 2 years ago while in army, we are acty competiting places with them?

dunnowat123

actually i called nus once about this, they kinda gave vague response. basically they just said the army thingy has been accounted for so shouldnt matter much.. not sure what it means. maybe someone wanna call?? haha.. altho is pretty weird if the army boys are competing places with ppl two years later coz the intensity of the competition is uncertain (unless if ur looking only at the competition between the army boys)

hellsoul

erm. can i ask how ppl ask to admission for year 2010 ar? u mean those ppl who are in army, acty their application is for year 2010? so those ppl who register 2 years ago while in army, we are acty competiting places with them?
yup.. for guys.. we are applying for year 2010..not sure how they compete for places.
But shld be the same as the applying year. Which is this year. So it may means you may need all As to get into a course in 2010, while 2 years later ppl apply, BBB also can get in..

achh21

hi here's an update for my appeal case. i sent a letter to the dean of NBS regarding my appeal. i received a call from dean's office, NBS. they said they received my letter, but cannot do anything yet until office of admissions forwards them my application for consideration(this happens to all appeal cases). so meanwhile i still have to wait, she said late june or early july, which is the same as what office of admissions told me.

i think the people of ntu are nice.. because i did not state any hp no in my letter but the caller(not the dean) bothered to check my hp no to call and inform me :)

you snail mail the dean?

joycelyn09

yup.. for guys.. we are applying for year 2010..not sure how they compete for places.
But shld be the same as the applying year. Which is this year. So it may means you may need all As to get into a course in 2010, while 2 years later ppl apply, BBB also can get in..

so does dat mean dat i have to go n find out which courses did ppl less got in 2 years ago so dat there will be more vacancies? acty whatever u say behind, doesnt ring a bell to me also. what do u mean by 'So it may means you may need all As to get into a course in 2010, while 2 years later ppl apply, BBB also can get in', isnt 2 years later 2010?

zerogoal

anyone knows if it's possible to change the course i'm appealing for after i have sent in my appeal?

hellsoul

so does dat mean dat i have to go n find out which courses did ppl less got in 2 years ago so dat there will be more vacancies? acty whatever u say behind, doesnt ring a bell to me also. what do u mean by 'So it may means you may need all As to get into a course in 2010, while 2 years later ppl apply, BBB also can get in', isnt 2 years later 2010?
As in for eg. Guy A applied for Business this year for year 2010, cut off is AAA.
Then in year 2010, Girl B applied for Business for year 2010, cut off may be BBB.

Gabrielle.s

Ehhhhh. Is there any way to change NTU appeal? I totally appealed for the wrong course... zz.. why am I so stupid...

Nightmare_Angel

Ehhhhh. Is there any way to change NTU appeal? I totally appealed for the wrong course... zz.. why am I so stupid...

omg, sad to hear that, but i believe there is still time to make amendments. give the admin office a call and consult them for advise on how to alter the appeal. :o

joycelyn09

huh i tot can relogin and send in another one? that will overwrite ur previous appeal.. not meh?

no. cannot. i called up the lady say there's no way we can change wwhen we submitted. i think for nus can. i think ntu wants us to consider properly before appealing. i think for the nxt few weeks they gonna be very busy again. i think not many ppl have yet to receive anything from ntu. i think now u call, they will be able to advice u which course is less competitive. cos the lady told me the courses i applied is aldy very much less competitive.

kennylkl

hi,

toking about appeal... aiyo... u know some of the orientation camps are starting soon liao... so i'm thinking of joining.. but then ah.. scally i join liao.. used to the place.. then suddenly another uni tells u that ur appeal is successful. oh gosh... lolx... coz it'll take them few weeks to give u an answer. i hope the appeals for different unis are independent? i realized there is no way to cancel ur appeal.......... if indepedent.. then at least still got chance to reject them loh... haiz...

gosthic

no. cannot. i called up the lady say there's no way we can change wwhen we submitted. i think for nus can. i think ntu wants us to consider properly before appealing. i think for the nxt few weeks they gonna be very busy again. i think not many ppl have yet to receive anything from ntu. i think now u call, they will be able to advice u which course is less competitive. cos the lady told me the courses i applied is aldy very much less competitive.
the lady told me she is unable to comment. btw which are the courses u applied?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.