Portfolio Sharing Thread

limster

There's a multi millionaire uncle who told me during crisis, buy Haw Par.. but i didnt follow.

So what did you buy instead of Haw Par? Or paralysed by fear?

If you bought almost anything except S-chip during the crisis, you would have made money.

reinphd

There's a multi millionaire uncle who told me during crisis, buy Haw Par.. but i didnt follow.

I think he got alot of Haw Par.. sibeh song

The thing is, we don't usually buy from hearsay. What's the moat of haw par and is it really a sustainable business? Don't hold any buyer's remorse :)

felixleong

Nobody buy Haw Par ah?

I used to own it for like 3 years, during my early times as a value investor

however it often trades at a big discount to NAV

inside haw par what I like most is its tiger balm business, the branding and moat is there.

secondly it holds a lot of UOB shares, so its an indirect play on UOB too

on the reason why I sold, is because I got fed up on Mr Wee
they always give 20 cents dividends nia.. profits keep going up but they dun wanna raise dividends, also mr wee has no intention of buying it up.. regardless on how big the discount to book is... so its near impossible to unlock full nav on haw par

3 years holding it, i got out with a small profit and less well learnt on value traps

other value traps are like HL finance, global investment, stamford land, FCL

wahkao3

inside haw par what I like most is its tiger balm business, the branding and moat is there.

they always give 20 cents dividends nia.. profits keep going up but they dun wanna raise dividends, also mr wee has no intention of buying it up.. regardless on how big the discount to book is... so its near impossible to unlock full nav on haw par

3 years holding it, i got out with a small profit and less well learnt on value traps

i believe the way to deal with value trip is to use both TA and FA
both say buy, then I buy
if 1 never say buy, i never buy :o

lolita_5

since u were value investor back then, shouldn't u view low dividend yield as a positive thing as the company is retaining profits to expand?

hakkinen

1.) Nam Cheong
2.) Sembcorp Industries
3.) Croesus Retail
4.) Penguin
5.) Genting Sp
6.) Yuuzoo

:)

joshua182

SCI
SMM
SINGTEL
CSE GLOBAL
CES
MIDAS
EZION
THAI BREV

Previously had Kep corp but had to reduce marine exposure a little..

felixleong

since u were value investor back then, shouldn't u view low dividend yield as a positive thing as the company is retaining profits to expand?
The management , which is the wee family uses the money to pay themselves big bonuses year after year for doing nothing... Its mostly the same businesses year after year in haw par... They also use the retained earnings to stregthen their control of UOB

As minority shareholder, i couldnt see how all their moves benefit us.

Anyway... SGX has a lot of such family own stocks, i have learnt to avoid them then to appreicate them

Each stock about 10-20% of portfolio.
Started investing on 2 Sept 2013, XIRR = 37.9%.
Using NAV method, annualised gain = 31.0%.

1. Fischer
2. Hotung
3. Keppel
4. Memtech
5. Noel
6. TTJ
7. Zagro

blurinvestor

Each stock about 10-20% of portfolio.
To date (since 2 Sept 2013), XIRR = 37.9%.
Using NAV method, annualised gain = 31.0%.

1. Fischer
2. Hotung
3. Keppel
4. Memtech
5. Noel
6. TTJ
7. Zagro

this portfolio looks interesting.
May I know how you go about evaluating these pennies for your portfolio.

Perisher

I like memtech, TTJ. In my watchlist for quite some time. haha.

this portfolio looks interesting.
May I know how you go about evaluating these pennies for your portfolio.

I mainly focus on balance sheet rather than earnings.
Old school value investing - I buy fair companies at wonderful prices.
Strategy is collect dividends (minimise opportunity loss) while waiting for value to unlock.

My criteria:

1. Low Price to NAV/NCAV
2. Net Cash
3. Consistent Dividends

For a long position, these are the deal breakers for me:

1. Price above NAV
2. Net Debt
3. No Dividends
4. S-Chips

Personal View - Investment need not be too complicated. I don't even know how to calculate ROE, DCF, Free Cash Flow etc. Once you protect the downside (strong balance sheet), the upside (earnings/catalyst) will take care of itself.

blurinvestor

Strategy is collect dividends (minimise opportunity loss) while waiting for value to unlock.

My criteria:

1. Low Price to NAV/NCAV
2. Net Cash
3. Consistent Dividends

1. Price above NAV
2. Net Debt
3. No Dividends
4. S-Chips

Personal View - Investment need not be too complicated. I don't even know how to calculate ROE, DCF, Free Cash Flow etc. Once you protect the downside (strong balance sheet), the upside (earnings/catalyst) will take care of itself.

Thanks for sharing. I will shadow this portfolio for my learning.
But Noel is going down, will it pick up during festive seasons only.

daxiong88

My criteria:

1. Low Price to NAV/NCAV
2. Net Cash
3. Consistent Dividends

1. Price above NAV
2. Net Debt
3. No Dividends
4. S-Chips

thanks for sharing :)

Thanks for sharing. I will shadow this portfolio for my learning.
But Noel is going down, will it pick up during festive seasons only.

Not sure wor. Noel is an illiquid stock so the drastic price change may be due to only a few lots of trade. I wouldn't be too concerned.

Aiya, don't shadow my portfolio lah. Got better investors here and at valuebuddies. Can check them out.

kletian

My criteria:

1. Low Price to NAV/NCAV
2. Net Cash
3. Consistent Dividends

1. Price above NAV
2. Net Debt
3. No Dividends
4. S-Chips

I share no.2 and no.4 of your deal breakers. And I don't bother too much about the ratios too, even PE.
There should be a investment strategy thread here!

lolita_5

The management , which is the wee family uses the money to pay themselves big bonuses year after year for doing nothing... Its mostly the same businesses year after year in haw par... They also use the retained earnings to stregthen their control of UOB

As minority shareholder, i couldnt see how all their moves benefit us.

Anyway... SGX has a lot of such family own stocks, i have learnt to avoid them then to appreicate them

be careful sekali they surfing hwz also :s13:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.