RANT: Driving Experience Nowadays

Feeling down, anxious and need help? Mental Health Helpline: 6389-2222 (24 hours) More info

Nevereatrice

Lta is turning a blind eye on the 'fake phvs' issue . They are overflooding the road and making coe more expensive.
Why turn blind eye? To them earn money it's more important than your driving experience even though u paid 200k on a coe and no one here will give a rat ass about your poor driving experience problem and will sinkie pawn sinkie because most here are BMWs

Firestorm1978

i see many lorries and vans on 2nd lane and some even on first lane too.
This is a common sight nowadays. Ironically, when it is RAINING, these vans and lorries tend to be more daring and blatantly drive on 2nd and 1st lane. Don't believe, you go and check it out next time. My guess is that they believe that during rainy days, TP bikes usually won't come up. That's why they blatantly do it.

tomsss

there aren't as many cars in the 90s compared to today

more cars = more issues

yet our govt can still dream of having zero car population growth

even they want to bluff themselves :s13:

Firestorm1978

waiting for the green arrow/gantry to open, the behind start horning liao. Nowadays, people impatient.
filter lane, turning, stopping all no signals.
use 2 lanes to turn.... what the fish....
a little bit buay song, high beam/e bake liao.
suka suka stop at roadside, like his father road.

:devilish:
This really makes me damn mad. Many times, I tried to ensure that there are enough space between me and the vehicle behind me before I filter in. Just about a month ago, I was on the CTE. Traffic was relatively clear in the evening. I switched on my signal and SLOWLY changed lane. The PHV driver was at least 4 cars length behind me. When he saw my signal, he ACCELERATED hard, high beamed me as if I had stolen his crown! WHAT THE F@#$

harky

I do agree that learning to drive only by manual car and tested with manual car will sieve out many candidates that cannot coordinate well on motor skills.
oei.. cannot la.
auto very easy but i think in sg.. actually not easy to get licence

Elfblade

I have been driving close to 30 years. Back in the 80s and 90s (sorry for the younger ones here who missed out those years), driving in Singapore was so much more relaxing and fun. PHVs (no offence to the considerate PHV drivers here), illegal PMDs and inconsiderate cyclists were non-existent and the traffic was much MUCH smoother. I reminisce those days when I could leisurely drive from one end of Singapore to the other without having much to fear for my life from inconsiderate PHV drivers who are busily looking at their APPs and ignoring road safety rules. Not forgetting crazy e-scooters speeding on expressway/roads and cyclists competing in Tour de Singapore in big groups on Singapore roads. Of course there were also inconsiderate drivers in those days, but definitely less stressful to drive nowadays as compared to those years.

Yes, we do not really use car cams then but somehow, it seems that I am encountering less accidents (no stats to proof though) on a weekly basis. Nowadays, I will encounter an accident scene (almost at least once every week). Also, I am not sure about the younger/new drivers nowadays. During my time, when we were learning driving, we were only able to be tested in vehicles with manual gear. Does it equate to 'better skills' from the drivers back then? Much to be debated....

I also noticed that in the 80s and 90s, I rarely see vans/lorries speeding like no tomorrow on the extreme right lanes of expressways. Many were fearful of *** who could often be seen patrolling on our roads. Those pick-ups/vans/lorries came equipped with a signal light on the roof which would lit up when they exceeded the speed limit. Lastly, there are so many construction work done on our roads nowadays. Many roads are also getting really bumpy as well. It just adds to our frustrations.

(LOL....I know some will just suggest using 'BMW' instead. However, this option is regretfully not applicable to me). Car drivers, feel free to add your personal experiences here. Let's keep this thread going and be cordial to all. :)
I've been driving for the past 15 years and I've experienced it 1st hand myself. :( I must also emphasize on the quality of roads today, super duper bumpy and suspension super fast up lorry, dig and dig somemore la.

Firestorm1978

Too many unnecessary traffic lights~ some t-junction can actually do away with the traffic lights~

Right turn arrow took longer time to wait and when it turns green, it only last very short for few vehicles to turn~

Traffic lights mgnt system is not smart enough, midnight no traffic but the waiting time still the same~ :s22:
Ya la. They should come up with an 'adaptive' system. Or maybe AI?????

saltydog

Oh yes. Not forgetting that when they switched on their signal and immediately/ABRUPTLY change lane......thinking that he is the vehicular king of the road.
rast taim dey orwaes go slow n safe nao dey juz cut in rike motorbikes n overtake rike a bmw 🤢

Firestorm1978

Lta is turning a blind eye on the 'fake phvs' issue . They are overflooding the road and making coe more expensive.
Why turn blind eye? To them earn money it's more important than your driving experience even though u paid 200k on a coe and no one here will give a rat ass about your poor driving experience problem and will sinkie pawn sinkie because most here are BMWs

NEW CARs for our neighbours, OLD COE cars for us! YEAH

Firestorm1978

I've been driving for the past 15 years and I've experienced it 1st hand myself. :( I must also emphasize on the quality of roads today, super duper bumpy and suspension super fast up lorry, dig and dig somemore la.
When I told my friends that driving on NS highway is overall less bumpy than our expressways, many of my friends opened their eyes wide. Alignment and balancing tyre shops are probably doing a roaring business with so many bumpy roads nowadays.

Again, I remember those days.....after they have resurfaced the roads, the roads are really damn smooth and nice to drive on. Nowadays, after resurfacing, I have a feeling it became WORSE and more bumpy!!!!

lanky_al

Today saw 2 PHV drivers, almost come to a stop at center and left lane respectively, busy looking and pressing on their multiple phones setup, oblivious to traffic behind it until the sound of horns came.

Phone holders are just dangerous and a distraction. No difference from holding the phone to the ear imo.

Hands free should be using voice commands only while driving, not looking or touching the phone while driving in my opinion.

Firestorm1978

worse is kena a bunch of cyclists hogging the whole lane can chit chat while cycling
if they kena mow down by a bus or truck, no one will pity them :(
I have seen the Tour De Singapore cyclists in big groups and holding back the entire traffic.....and they were going at leisurely speed, oblivious to their surroundings. Are our roads even conducive for cycling? This is not Europe la!

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.