Kanna penangedRecently visited Penang
costing (eg rents) is killing the local food.Reason Malaysia food is nice cause they use fresh ingredients not like Singapore is imported.
Don't hear those hawker bullship that they use fresh ingredients and sell at higher price.
Took cab to this place for Duck Meat Koay Teow Th'ng, a lot of pple.
Loh Kei Duck Meat Koay Teow Th'ng https://maps.app.goo.gl/wanfjihxBZKCZdfQ9
penang ppl will say thses not island penang .Some food places i like near the location above:
Wood fire bbq
https://maps.app.goo.gl/S81MyFVpxFYh7Yh37
very old chinese restaurant
https://maps.app.goo.gl/bpUSsVVXdeqBQ5Kv7
>100y traditional chinese pastry shop (incl tsp)
https://maps.app.goo.gl/2zcExHpAmnmcGGqD8
home-run cafe (very famous for cake)
https://maps.app.goo.gl/1SxYGFx68xz46cgU7
BM yam rice
https://maps.app.goo.gl/7nNh8Dj91VRA2RTD8
remember bring passport can d, go "over"-sea literrallypenang ppl will say thses not island penang .
costing (eg rents) is killing the local food.
beside raw materials, some of the long preparation steps (eg making the broth) is not feasible in SG as well
Think I tried the curry mee and nonya laksa before. Lor mee, I prefer SG ones.can also try:
- balik pulau nyonya laksa (not asam laksa)
- curry mee (with pig blood curd)
- nasi kandar (fyi, this food started in penang, some only opens at late night)
- apom guan
- nutmeg
- specialty cafe
can explore the mainland side, but that requires someone familiar to bring you around as its requires more driving around:
- THE old tree (>40year) blackthorn, you never get this in other place, requires advance booking + subject to availability
- really good loh mee (collagen type, not the starchy 5-spices kind that you common see elsewhere) made with alot braised pork
- wild-caught freshwater prawn (overfishing causing smaller size now)
- famous BM yam rice
- tomyam porridge (many find it surprisingly acceptable)
- "Guagua's Store" (legendary cafe that sell freshly made fruit cakes, but opens ~3 days a week, randomly)
Look nice look yummy.........20yrs never beed to Penang. May Plan one trip there. One week Enough ? Play Slowly............Visited Penang last year, quite nice trip, keep eating lo. Cab is cheap there.
Stayed at this AirBnB, the host bought jackfruit for us to eat!
https://www.airbnb.com.sg/rooms/40383660
Eat atas food at Blanc Penang: https://maps.app.goo.gl/x9LbRkFsR5Hmatm3A
Wanted to go Au Jardin but didn't get the chance. https://maps.app.goo.gl/HizEvi18n7qLeVNs8
Go upside down museum walk walk.
Cat Art museum, only 2 cats, not suppose to touch, is literally a museum for cat art. Seems like permanently closed.
https://maps.app.goo.gl/CwtcAa8otBRiEoS36
Go around eat dim sum and walk museum lo.
Basically a lot of eating.
Took cab to this place for Duck Meat Koay Teow Th'ng, a lot of pple.
Loh Kei Duck Meat Koay Teow Th'ng https://maps.app.goo.gl/wanfjihxBZKCZdfQ9
I only explore Georgetown area, right side of island. Left side have butterfly farm and other activities, still got main land.Look nice look yummy.........20yrs never beed to Penang. May Plan one trip there. One week Enough ? Play Slowly............
Eat many........lol
I like old places like those you find in Japan, maybe Taiwan. which are old but well maintained or conserved. Penang is old and plain stagnant, hard to move around, proper pavements lacking and public transport poor. I like Penang Hill but going there is not easy too. Even Melaka has move forward and look fresher with new developments.If you like only modern updated city of course dun like Penang. Many other people like old places
Agreed it's subjective. I find Penang food nothing special. You can find them here in Sg food courts as well.penang beach no fight against thailand, its never try to compete in this area also. ppl mostly go penang for food, but taste is usually subjective (thats why some diehard fans will prefer SG food)
Taste is acquired preference. The similarities in culture between the straits colony means one may find same things in different places, including those disappeared from SG due to environmental changes. No doubt penang street food will become SG alike when modernization come.Agreed it's subjective. I find Penang food nothing special. You can find them here in Sg food courts as well.
Well too bad things are complicated when involving politics. You will be surprised how much budget are spent on a top tax paying state, just because it's majority Chinese.I like old places like those you find in Japan, maybe Taiwan. which are old but well maintained or conserved. Penang is old and plain stagnant, hard to move around, proper pavements lacking and public transport poor. I like Penang Hill but going there is not easy too. Even Melaka has move forward and look fresher with new developments.