Recently visit penang

yeenfei

justln

Visited Penang last year, quite nice trip, keep eating lo. Cab is cheap there.

Stayed at this AirBnB, the host bought jackfruit for us to eat!
https://www.airbnb.com.sg/rooms/40383660
fec56218-cffd-4d0b-901f-a6321adc802a.jpg

Eat atas food at Blanc Penang: https://maps.app.goo.gl/x9LbRkFsR5Hmatm3A

AF1QipPlIkvq_fJcCnyXPmUKb8KltSI2-kO4ZO7pk6Mi=s0

AF1QipMZHkW_pSEvD0rRayKK73oE9g0WasG4sTWjwHBf=s0

Wanted to go Au Jardin but didn't get the chance. https://maps.app.goo.gl/HizEvi18n7qLeVNs8

Go upside down museum walk walk.
AF1QipOe15145bQNIotkXgqMMss5fswB9mii64Q6d22g=s0

Cat Art museum, only 2 cats, not suppose to touch, is literally a museum for cat art. Seems like permanently closed. :(
https://maps.app.goo.gl/CwtcAa8otBRiEoS36

AF1QipN1qehzegtterC-AQuqCXFYZ99Bjib2fFd45a8S=s0

AF1QipNNpbCQYDskISvkwscROl57OE2dm92bVGDZzhAM=s0

Go around eat dim sum and walk museum lo.
Basically a lot of eating.

Took cab to this place for Duck Meat Koay Teow Th'ng, a lot of pple.
Loh Kei Duck Meat Koay Teow Th'ng https://maps.app.goo.gl/wanfjihxBZKCZdfQ9

AF1QipP0Rc6TOo1mB_qAQ3vwrGyCjucsW4n7GQJmDADd=s0

AF1QipONY2H2kszMr4dkPOMCfdjfxuhNl93VSf9dVmXv=s0

fortunehunter

Reason Malaysia food is nice cause they use fresh ingredients not like Singapore is imported.

Don't hear those hawker bullship that they use fresh ingredients and sell at higher price.

yeenfei

Reason Malaysia food is nice cause they use fresh ingredients not like Singapore is imported.

Don't hear those hawker bullship that they use fresh ingredients and sell at higher price.
costing (eg rents) is killing the local food.
beside raw materials, some of the long preparation steps (eg making the broth) is not feasible in SG as well

siaoliaolor

fortunehunter

costing (eg rents) is killing the local food.
beside raw materials, some of the long preparation steps (eg making the broth) is not feasible in SG as well

Rent is part of it but greed is more.
When COVID no rental for don't know how many months, government give them salary.
Don't see hawker lower their price.

V-FORTY

actually penang have island and mainland,
island is like cbd everyone go there to work only
the comfy place is mainland

TLCTLC88

can also try:
- balik pulau nyonya laksa (not asam laksa)
- curry mee (with pig blood curd)
- nasi kandar (fyi, this food started in penang, some only opens at late night)
- apom guan
- nutmeg
- specialty cafe

can explore the mainland side, but that requires someone familiar to bring you around as its requires more driving around:
- THE old tree (>40year) blackthorn, you never get this in other place, requires advance booking + subject to availability
- really good loh mee (collagen type, not the starchy 5-spices kind that you common see elsewhere) made with alot braised pork
- wild-caught freshwater prawn (overfishing causing smaller size now)
- famous BM yam rice
- tomyam porridge (many find it surprisingly acceptable)
- "Guagua's Store" (legendary cafe that sell freshly made fruit cakes, but opens ~3 days a week, randomly)
Think I tried the curry mee and nonya laksa before. Lor mee, I prefer SG ones.

Too bad I have overhauled my diet, now, not sure if I will go penang again.

vee4044

Visited Penang last year, quite nice trip, keep eating lo. Cab is cheap there.

Stayed at this AirBnB, the host bought jackfruit for us to eat!
https://www.airbnb.com.sg/rooms/40383660
fec56218-cffd-4d0b-901f-a6321adc802a.jpg

Eat atas food at Blanc Penang: https://maps.app.goo.gl/x9LbRkFsR5Hmatm3A

AF1QipPlIkvq_fJcCnyXPmUKb8KltSI2-kO4ZO7pk6Mi=s0

AF1QipMZHkW_pSEvD0rRayKK73oE9g0WasG4sTWjwHBf=s0

Wanted to go Au Jardin but didn't get the chance. https://maps.app.goo.gl/HizEvi18n7qLeVNs8

Go upside down museum walk walk.
AF1QipOe15145bQNIotkXgqMMss5fswB9mii64Q6d22g=s0

Cat Art museum, only 2 cats, not suppose to touch, is literally a museum for cat art. Seems like permanently closed. :(
https://maps.app.goo.gl/CwtcAa8otBRiEoS36

AF1QipN1qehzegtterC-AQuqCXFYZ99Bjib2fFd45a8S=s0

AF1QipNNpbCQYDskISvkwscROl57OE2dm92bVGDZzhAM=s0

Go around eat dim sum and walk museum lo.
Basically a lot of eating.

Took cab to this place for Duck Meat Koay Teow Th'ng, a lot of pple.
Loh Kei Duck Meat Koay Teow Th'ng https://maps.app.goo.gl/wanfjihxBZKCZdfQ9

AF1QipP0Rc6TOo1mB_qAQ3vwrGyCjucsW4n7GQJmDADd=s0

AF1QipONY2H2kszMr4dkPOMCfdjfxuhNl93VSf9dVmXv=s0
Look nice look yummy.........20yrs never beed to Penang. May Plan one trip there. One week Enough ? Play Slowly............

Eat many........lol

justln

Look nice look yummy.........20yrs never beed to Penang. May Plan one trip there. One week Enough ? Play Slowly............

Eat many........lol
I only explore Georgetown area, right side of island. Left side have butterfly farm and other activities, still got main land.

trevlim

If you like only modern updated city of course dun like Penang. Many other people like old places
I like old places like those you find in Japan, maybe Taiwan. which are old but well maintained or conserved. Penang is old and plain stagnant, hard to move around, proper pavements lacking and public transport poor. I like Penang Hill but going there is not easy too. Even Melaka has move forward and look fresher with new developments.

trevlim

penang beach no fight against thailand, its never try to compete in this area also. ppl mostly go penang for food, but taste is usually subjective (thats why some diehard fans will prefer SG food)
Agreed it's subjective. I find Penang food nothing special. You can find them here in Sg food courts as well.

yeenfei

Agreed it's subjective. I find Penang food nothing special. You can find them here in Sg food courts as well.
Taste is acquired preference. The similarities in culture between the straits colony means one may find same things in different places, including those disappeared from SG due to environmental changes. No doubt penang street food will become SG alike when modernization come.

yeenfei

I like old places like those you find in Japan, maybe Taiwan. which are old but well maintained or conserved. Penang is old and plain stagnant, hard to move around, proper pavements lacking and public transport poor. I like Penang Hill but going there is not easy too. Even Melaka has move forward and look fresher with new developments.
Well too bad things are complicated when involving politics. You will be surprised how much budget are spent on a top tax paying state, just because it's majority Chinese.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.