SIMBA Telecom discussion thread

dexboi

why need to handover old SIM?
if they ask i won't give either. it's straight terminate after new SIM activation/replacement.
So the service center staff just issue new sim card without having to handover the old sim card?

The activation process requires old sim card in phone?

XiaoJinLing

my simba card is 5G ultra already.

That time mid of May, my sim card suddenly spoil around 6pm, suddenly everything (data and call) cannot use... then the next day really cannot use for work if not in office... can only rely on wifi in office ... whatapps (wifi) for calls... contact simba (email) ask me can go vivo (before 7pm) but went there cannot change sim card, then ask me go orchard central (before 9pm) do... issue new Sim card activated on the spot... really waste my time but bo choice... mayb then already got the 5g ultra which i didnt know..

I use like no different leh

username03

So I guess I shall wait for the rest who changed to report back if there's any special improvements from changing to new sim.

I'm also getting umobile 5g ultra in Malaysia while roaming on simba. My Sim card is like 2 years old at least.

Sorvos

So the service center staff just issue new sim card without having to handover the old sim card?

The activation process requires old sim card in phone?

Yes, SIMBA Service Centre staff issue new sim card without having to handover the old sim card. Once new SIM card is issued, you will receive a SMS from SIMBA telling you that a New SIM Card is issued, please activate with the link.

No, activation process don't require old SIM card in phone. You just need your Singpass and the URL Link sent via SMS to activate (along with some form of data or WiFi). However the SMS will be sent over to the old SIM card.

nuscape

Yes, SIMBA Service Centre staff issue new sim card without having to handover the old sim card. Once new SIM card is issued, you will receive a SMS from SIMBA telling you that a New SIM Card is issued, please activate with the link.
No, activation process don't require old SIM card in phone. You just need your Singpass and the URL Link sent via SMS to activate (along with some form of data or WiFi). However the SMS will be sent over to the old SIM card.

I just changed it just now, the staff activated from the system. this one is physical sim hor.

for my other number that's using eSIM then it is auto change to 5g ultra liao. also when check using sms no.5, said ultra already.

twosix

I can use 5G no issue with current sim. Unless I see someone reporting SA with new card and speed, I won’t bother changing, although there is a SIMBA shop nearby.

firesong

SIMBA Notice: SMS 5G to 1218 to check if your SIM is 5G Ultra ready. For FREE upgrade, visit any SIMBA Service Centre (simba.sg/collect) for your SIM swap. Enjoy exclusive Samsung 5G deals too. Thank you.
Ultra what? Ultra slow? Ultra disappointing?

Ultra inferior to other telcos?

twosix

Those with "ultra" simba 5g i wonder whats the speed now .. latency ..
Dun think it will be any better than now. They don't have the bandwidth.

Im using it to stream music and is working well. Dun see the need to change the sim card yet. Dunno will it get better or maybe worst.

Sorvos

I just changed it just now, the staff activated from the system. this one is physical sim hor.

Mine also physical SIM. Means the staff smoked me lor. But he guided me step by step on my phone to activate the new SIM at the counter so everything went well still.

gapboy

Dun think it will be any better than now. They don't have the bandwidth.

Im using it to stream music and is working well. Dun see the need to change the sim card yet. Dunno will it get better or maybe worst.
There is zero news on this anyway at their official site .. just some SS from FB groups

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.