SimLim shop recommendation

terence52

"Best Buy = Newer & cheaper than Bargain. The place to get Sandisk stuff (all local set & lowest price :p)"

but is the Sandisk stuff covered by local dealer ... (is it still) Vector Magnetics :s11:

btw, all the Best are **** shops rite ? :D

Nope.
Best price is part of Videopro.

jaywalkra

"Best Buy = Newer & cheaper than Bargain. The place to get Sandisk stuff (all local set & lowest price :p)"

but is the Sandisk stuff covered by local dealer ... (is it still) Vector Magnetics :s11:

btw, all the Best are **** shops rite ? :D

Sandisk stuff sold in Best Buy is covered locally by Kaira. It is indeed Kaira; went to "RMA" a DOA Sandisk microSD at their Paya Lebar centre, they checked Best Buy receipt and got an instant BNIB replacement.

Not sure about Best Price (Terence knows) since I'm still a freshie to SLS. But yeah, the back-alley Best Shops are all ABNNs :s22:

terence52

Sandisk stuff sold in Best Buy is covered locally by Kaira. It is indeed Kaira; went to "RMA" a DOA Sandisk microSD at their Paya Lebar centre, they checked Best Buy receipt and got an instant BNIB replacement.

Not sure about Best Price (Terence knows) since I'm still a freshie to SLS. But yeah, the back-alley Best Shops are all ABNNs :s22:

Best price is Chinese. But they are not **** hor.. Best Bargain and Best Buy are ran by Arabs. Best value, Bizgram is ****

Jas007

Best price is Chinese. But they are not **** hor.. Best Bargain and Best Buy are ran by Arabs. Best value, Bizgram is ****

TradePac is like the Cashtronics of old SLS ...
except Cashtronics business was hotter then (at the height of PC DIY ? ) ...
and then, even before the bubble burst, they downsized and moved to back alley ... never knew the exact reason/s why ...
then their prices were the lowest in SLS ... iirc, they even had a slogan (or sorts) : if you find $ cheaper than in our shop, we will match that $ ... problem was, items in their shop mostly oos pretty fast ...
i think TP attitude cannot even fight :s13:
those days, take it or leave it ... feel free to buy elsewhere ... lots of bad rep but bcos $ so low, ppl just LLST and buy from them ... keeping fingers crossed against having to make return trip for faulty items :s13:

Bizgram one-time also super attitude ... now i dunno cos i dun frequent their shop other than to take $list for comparison purposes lol

jaywalkra

I thought is Indian Muslim lol. Thx for info. Ever since Buy appeared, Bargain price like not that competitive already. Plus the staff's bo chup attitude really turn me off (worse than TP)...

dataworld111

-nvm- i think i got it lol. Whos this yilong guy u guys are talking about? is he the guy in charge at PCT or something? coz im most probably going down tmr or this sat to do my purchase at pct so i guess it will be great to know who to look for and stuff.

blade007

these days PC DIY not as hot as the good old days ...
i guess Apple was a game changer ... Dell too ...
then came the Courts, etc ...
those days so many DIYers, parts will go OOS ...
hop from shop to shop ... not as easy as now to assemble your planned rig ... and back then more shops also ...

haha. those days are sooo hot that shops don't really want to entertain you~ esp when u need them to set up a full system on a busy Sat.
Guess nowadays DIY dont really save you much money as compared to those days~

putumayam

ditto PCT on peace-of-mind and after-sales service

bot an asrock mobo, took for granted and didn't check as i was really running late ...
rushed off, and whilst on the train took out to have a look ...
:eek::eek: the board inside isn't what as stated on box ...
noticed something's amiss cos of RAM slots (2 less than should be) ... noticed the wordings "DGS"
cham liao ... if TradePac ... should in deep sh*it liao ...
called shop immediately and explained ... they took my word for it without even any doubts

dunno why, but i took a 2nd look at the mobo again ...
:eek::eek: it's not even the DGS equivalent of my mobo series ...
totally different series, one's that almost a year old and EOL already ... H61 instead of B75 !!!
called them back immediately, (had to else big misunderstanding board returned isn't what they're expecting) and they politely told me they've set aside the right board for collection anytime

now, that's quality of service, that's PC Themes for u :)
and when i returned in the evening to collect, their apology was sincere ...

i can't help but think what will be of the situation had it been TradePac or Bizgram even ...
not too sure, perhaps Fuwell also might be difficult ... (i can't think of a better shop in this instance than PCT)
sure have to kpkb make big hooha and even then you are at their mercy !

Why was the board wrongly given in the first place? If it was a newbie buyer instead of u, the person would have been given an inferior and cheaper product right?

And instead you are complimenting them? I'm puzzled.

enenyi

Why was the board wrongly given in the first place? If it was a newbie buyer instead of u, the person would have been given an inferior and cheaper product right?

So u think any other shop (Tradepac, Fuwell, Bizgram, Best Bargain etc) would be honest enough to acknowledge their mistake of giving wrong board over the phone? They'll probably tell u to come back to their shop with original receipt and prove that it's their fault and not yours. And u never know those shops will play the OOS game on you or not. But for wad I noe, if any part OOS in PCThemes, Yilong or Yazid will tell u straight that it is OOS, wun beat round the bush to make u settle for something lousier or more expensive. So for that instance the 'wrong board' issue was an honest mistake by them and kudos to how they handle these situations. :)

jaywalkra

So u think any other shop (Tradepac, Fuwell, Bizgram, Best Bargain etc) would be honest enough to acknowledge their mistake of giving wrong board over the phone? They'll probably tell u to come back to their shop with original receipt and prove that it's their fault and not yours. And u never know those shops will play the OOS game on you or not. But for wad I noe, if any part OOS in PCThemes, Yilong or Yazid will tell u straight that it is OOS, wun beat round the bush to make u settle for something lousier or more expensive. So for that instance the 'wrong board' issue was an honest mistake by them and kudos to how they handle these situations. :)

^^ This is what makes PC Themes stand out from the rest. For other shops, you have to play 'The Game' with them.

Jas007

the board's mistake could be down to the distro ...

they deserve complement for the way they handled it ...
no fuzz, no suspicion on their part, and best of all ... Yazid just told me to come back anytime ...
other shops might have insisted i returned to them immediately for fear of customer playing punk (go back swap boards etc)
had that been the case, i'd be in a real predicament as i was rushing back to fetch my son from school ...
i didn't even had to explain to them why i cant return to their shop right away ...

when i returned, Yazid had already reserved a set for me with a sticker notepad on it so as to avoid that being sold (possibly OOS situation) ...

some other shops might have allowed you to return a merchandise like the one i faced, but i am pretty sure it would have been any smoother than what i went thru ...

enenyi

the board's mistake could be down to the distro ...

they deserve complement for the way they handled it ...
no fuzz, no suspicion on their part, and best of all ... Yazid just told me to come back anytime ...
other shops might have insisted i returned to them immediately for fear of customer playing punk (go back swap boards etc)
had that been the case, i'd be in a real predicament as i was rushing back to fetch my son from school ...
i didn't even had to explain to them why i cant return to their shop right away ...

when i returned, Yazid had already reserved a set for me with a sticker notepad on it so as to avoid that being sold (possibly OOS situation) ...

some other shops might have allowed you to return a merchandise like the one i faced, but i am pretty sure it would have been any smoother than what i went thru ...
Very true. PCThemes values customer confidence more than profit margin. To the extent that they are willing to recommend u other shops that u can get the same product at the cheaper price that they cant afford to give (prob due to tight distro control). They are not afraid to lose business, so long as they are able to gain your confidence in them, they know u will come back to their shop for more DIY parts in future. So their strategy is 'investing' in consumers' future preference for DIY shops. This is in high contrast to the trend in SLS, where shopkeepers are more concerned about their profit margin per product sold than consumer welfare. They treat every customer patronising their shop or buying from them as a number, rather than as a human. At the end of the day, human-to-human relationships dun matter to them more than their receipts tallying. If u turn down their offer of a good 'bargain', they show black/long face to you coz they wasted an opportunity to squeeze a deal out of you. This is evident in their dealings with customers, if u observe the way the speak and the approach they use to sell their stuff. The next time u go SLS, observe carefully, and u will notice that there are only a handful of shops like PCThemes that stand out from the others in terms of business dealings and gaining customer confidence. And sadly mostly these are the back-end shops.

mgbymgbymgby

Well my previous two diy rigs' from simlim, but ish randomly go to some shop(can't rmb the name anymore) and give them a budget and they just quote me and I just take it, they ask if i want this or that, I just gehsiao say that, 1st time went to chinese shop, can't rmb how was the rig, think i got rip-off for what i've paid, 2nd time went to some indian shop, very cheap but got a feeling the items' second hand.

Current rig(indian shop) was build like almost 5 years ago, harddisc and ram went dead after two years, went to some shop at Kovan(introduced by friend) to get new ones. Considering getting a new rig now, most probably with PCT judging from the comments. Qn is, when will it be most worth it to get a rig? When IT FAIR? So I can quote them the prices from it fair, or during end of year? Do they have a christmas sale or something like that?

& how much roughly does those rig with all those red line and awesome looking pipes cost?

edit: Also, anyone got their rig from the hwz user "Fortran" before? Heard many many reviews he's very good and home delivery and set-up

Jas007

Well my previous two diy rigs' from simlim, but ish randomly go to some shop(can't rmb the name anymore) and give them a budget and they just quote me and I just take it, they ask if i want this or that, I just gehsiao say that, 1st time went to chinese shop, can't rmb how was the rig, think i got rip-off for what i've paid, 2nd time went to some indian shop, very cheap but got a feeling the items' second hand.

Current rig(indian shop) was build like almost 5 years ago, harddisc and ram went dead after two years, went to some shop at Kovan(introduced by friend) to get new ones. Considering getting a new rig now, most probably with PCT judging from the comments. Qn is, when will it be most worth it to get a rig? When IT FAIR? So I can quote them the prices from it fair, or during end of year? Do they have a christmas sale or something like that?

& how much roughly does those rig with all those red line and awesome looking pipes cost?

edit: Also, anyone got their rig from the hwz user "Fortran" before? Heard many many reviews he's very good and home delivery and set-up

1) never give any SLS shop (apart from PCT, perhaps Fuwell (thk depends on who is serving you) ... last time Bell (but NA anymore now) a budget to be at their disposal for your system.
2) there is never a good time to build any system ... the best time is when u really really in need of one ... else wait. why ? u won't get much cheaper, just that for that same budget u get something better ... bcos of progress of technology.
know the saying, dun need dun buy ... else buy never fully utilize ... by the time you do, u get something better for the same buck.
same for TVs, and to a lesser extend other home appliances ...
3) you won't save much (if any) from fairs !
if anything, it's more of a hassle cos :
i) you have to jostle with other fairgoers
ii) they dun have all the parts u require
iii) they dun have the manpower to assemble your build
iv) you dun have the time to think, assess what u buying ... nor do i believe u can check your purchases for a rig in peace
4) the only items imho that u should worry about are : HDDs, RAMs ... prices may hike if there is a supply shortage due to natural disasters (eg Thailand flooding) ... or rarely these days of demand exceeding supply (several years back still yes, these days ... less likely cos customers have more options ... Mac, Macbook, iPad, Tablets, Notebooks, Laptops, etc ... think u get the drift)

Maeda_Toshiie

You can get recommendations here on the forum first before heading down. You will get more time on the forums here to hammer out the details first. Even in the case of PCT, deciding on the configuration on the spot may not be optimal (though you won't get chopped in PCT).

Fortran has a sterling reputation within this forum, that's all I know.

mgbymgbymgby

Seems like I was a carrot head back then but luckily din get chopped too jialat, rig manged to last almost 5years, tho the HD did died on me(cfm is a used one)

Guess I'll get recommendation for rig with a budget here on forum and then head down to PCT if I wanna assemble a rig in the near future.

Any shop recommendation if I wanna get speaker/keyboard/hdd?

MoneyFace =p

There is never a good time to build any system ... the best time is when u really really in need of one ... else wait. why ? u won't get much cheaper, just that for that same budget u get something better ... bcos of progress of technology.

Not so true..

In 2010, 1 piece of Kingston ValueRAM DDR3-1333 2GB cost $60. Now only $11.

In 2011 Crucial m4 128GB cost $339. Now only $149.

Just earlier this year, HD 7970 cost $800. Now only $520.

All of those are using same old technology from the very beginning.

For sure, new and more powerful technologies that are constantly being churned out to replace older, weaker ones at same price point. Powerful technologies will seem cheaper over time. But i strongly believe that there are definitely best times where multiple of IT parts get very affordable just as right now. Key is to find out the pattern and do read some of the economics news.

human1969

Is PCT pricing used to be among the lowest.
But base on their current pricelist, doesnt look like PCT is among the lowest.

For example,
Asus P9Z77-M + IV, PCT pricing are almost the same as most establish shops.
Only TP & some Best xxx shops offer slightly better price.

Or the rest of the shops catch up in term of low pricing or there is distro control ?

nipp0n

Is PCT pricing used to be among the lowest.
But base on their current pricelist, doesnt look like PCT is among the lowest.

For example,
Asus P9Z77-M + IV, PCT pricing are almost the same as most establish shops.
Only TP & some Best xxx shops offer slightly better price.

Or the rest of the shops catch up in term of low pricing or there is distro control ?

PCT doesn't offer the cheapest price. Best buy and Tradepac offer the cheapest price.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.