Starhub 1Gbps Fibre Review

zheng

Arch-Supremacy Member
Joined
Dec 20, 2001
Messages
23,119
Reaction score
173
Wah liao eh... starhub 1Gbps fiber Online Flash Sale... FREE 3 Months..... signed first month only kena slap with the bill liao... callup csv... telling me is free 3 mths of Hotstar ahbunehneh channel.... sibei misleading!!! :vijayadmin: :vijayadmin: :mad::mad::mad::mad:


 
Last edited:

zheng

Arch-Supremacy Member
Joined
Dec 20, 2001
Messages
23,119
Reaction score
173
Starhub 1Gbps offer me 4 months free for 24 months contract.

Effective $35.75.

Don't seem very attractive to me. Currently I paying $19.90
how come you got 4 mths free for 24mths contract
website stated 3mths free but csv telling me is free 3mth hotstar channel.... :mad: :vijayadmin: :mad: :vijayadmin: :mad:
 

watzup_ken

Arch-Supremacy Member
Joined
Nov 21, 2003
Messages
23,379
Reaction score
453
Wah liao eh... starhub 1Gbps fiber Online Flash Sale... FREE 3 Months..... signed first month only kena slap with the bill liao... callup csv... telling me is free 3 mths of Hotstar ahbunehneh channel.... sibei misleading!!! :vijayadmin: :vijayadmin: :mad::mad::mad::mad:


That's quite odd. Nowhere on the image you shared mentioned 3 months Hotstar subscription. If you look at the way they market the free 12 months Disney+ vs the "Free 3 months", I will certainly dispute what the CS mentioned. In fact if you look at the Starhub OCBC promotion page, the 2 Gbps offer also mentioned "Free 3 months" and I did get my free subscription, at least I've not been ask to pay anything for the first bill that I just received. Unless of course, it was clearly mentioned during the process of signing up. You sure you did not sign up for a different offer?
 

zheng

Arch-Supremacy Member
Joined
Dec 20, 2001
Messages
23,119
Reaction score
173
That's quite odd. Nowhere on the image you shared mentioned 3 months Hotstar subscription. If you look at the way they market the free 12 months Disney+ vs the "Free 3 months", I will certainly dispute what the CS mentioned. In fact if you look at the Starhub OCBC promotion page, the 2 Gbps offer also mentioned "Free 3 months" and I did get my free subscription, at least I've not been ask to pay anything for the first bill that I just received. Unless of course, it was clearly mentioned during the process of signing up. You sure you did not sign up for a different offer?

if i know is the hindi channel i wont sign up already
I rather get the 1Gbps with a few more dollar for the Disney+ at 45.90 for 12mth...

anyway starhub csv said would call back in 5 days.... will see how
 

watzup_ken

Arch-Supremacy Member
Joined
Nov 21, 2003
Messages
23,379
Reaction score
453
if i know is the hindi channel i wont sign up already
I rather get the 1Gbps with a few more dollar for the Disney+ at 45.90 for 12mth...

anyway starhub csv said would call back in 5 days.... will see how
I recommend you dispute this case if it wasn't clear that its 3 months of something else. 3 months free is consistent with the language where they offer 3 months broadband subscription free, and not some value added service.
 

zheng

Arch-Supremacy Member
Joined
Dec 20, 2001
Messages
23,119
Reaction score
173
I recommend you dispute this case if it wasn't clear that its 3 months of something else. 3 months free is consistent with the language where they offer 3 months broadband subscription free, and not some value added service.

starhub csv bo callback :s15::s15::s15:
 

watzup_ken

Arch-Supremacy Member
Joined
Nov 21, 2003
Messages
23,379
Reaction score
453
starhub csv bo callback :s15::s15::s15:
If it matters to you, then the unfortunate fact is that you will need to actively reach out to them until the issue is resolved. Its annoying, but I would have actively followed up with them.
 

vofzxy

Supremacy Member
Joined
May 15, 2006
Messages
6,088
Reaction score
249
For those who need a dual 1Gbps plan, the offer from Starhub is pretty good.


Enjoy 12 months of Disney+ on us!

2Gbps Broadband at a special offer price of $54.90/mth! Save over $192 with this limited-time offer. Plus, FREE StarHub Smart WiFi Pro worth $399!
Actually this discount is quite similar to the SHSWITCH code where you get first 3 months free. In my opinion, the 1+1Gbps deal from Starhub is really quite attractive, especially if one can sell off the mesh router for a reasonable sum, then can cover back even more $$ per month.

hi hi, can i ask please...

the 2gbps seems attractive atm, but it is 2 x 1GBPS right?
i dunno how to setup to utilise the 2gbps pipe....
also, i can still keep my asus lyra trio right or its time to change liao?

i got the lyra trio from my current 1gbps m1 contract
 

watzup_ken

Arch-Supremacy Member
Joined
Nov 21, 2003
Messages
23,379
Reaction score
453
hi hi, can i ask please...

the 2gbps seems attractive atm, but it is 2 x 1GBPS right?
i dunno how to setup to utilise the 2gbps pipe....
also, i can still keep my asus lyra trio right or its time to change liao?

i got the lyra trio from my current 1gbps m1 contract
That is correct, its 1+1, not a single 2Gbps. I believe none of the ISPs offer a true 2Gbps currently. The sad fact is, most routers/ mesh can't fully utilise the 1+1Gbps. There are routers that can take in 1+1Gbps WAN, but the result is definitely not the same as a single 2Gbps. So In my case, I just have a single 1Gbps connected to my router, and other point direct to my main computer which will help alleviate congestion on the router when I am downloading games or big files. Its also good in a sense if something is wrong with the router, it doesn't affect my connection to my main PC since its not connected to the router. So 1 less point for failure.
 

vofzxy

Supremacy Member
Joined
May 15, 2006
Messages
6,088
Reaction score
249
That is correct, its 1+1, not a single 2Gbps. I believe none of the ISPs offer a true 2Gbps currently. The sad fact is, most routers/ mesh can't fully utilise the 1+1Gbps. There are routers that can take in 1+1Gbps WAN, but the result is definitely not the same as a single 2Gbps. So In my case, I just have a single 1Gbps connected to my router, and other point direct to my main computer which will help alleviate congestion on the router when I am downloading games or big files. Its also good in a sense if something is wrong with the router, it doesn't affect my connection to my main PC since its not connected to the router. So 1 less point for failure.
gam sia for your advice
 

qrcode

Member
Joined
Nov 9, 2019
Messages
208
Reaction score
3
That is correct, its 1+1, not a single 2Gbps. I believe none of the ISPs offer a true 2Gbps currently. The sad fact is, most routers/ mesh can't fully utilise the 1+1Gbps. There are routers that can take in 1+1Gbps WAN, but the result is definitely not the same as a single 2Gbps. So In my case, I just have a single 1Gbps connected to my router, and other point direct to my main computer which will help alleviate congestion on the router when I am downloading games or big files. Its also good in a sense if something is wrong with the router, it doesn't affect my connection to my main PC since its not connected to the router. So 1 less point for failure.


Is your main PC put near the ONT or you have a long network cable?


Sent from EDMWER app!
 

vofzxy

Supremacy Member
Joined
May 15, 2006
Messages
6,088
Reaction score
249
That is correct, its 1+1, not a single 2Gbps. I believe none of the ISPs offer a true 2Gbps currently. The sad fact is, most routers/ mesh can't fully utilise the 1+1Gbps. There are routers that can take in 1+1Gbps WAN, but the result is definitely not the same as a single 2Gbps. So In my case, I just have a single 1Gbps connected to my router, and other point direct to my main computer which will help alleviate congestion on the router when I am downloading games or big files. Its also good in a sense if something is wrong with the router, it doesn't affect my connection to my main PC since its not connected to the router. So 1 less point for failure.
is this from the same ONT ?
i dont think they give you 2 seprate ONTs right?

not that i have "seen" a 2 gbps setup before
 

PinkGlory

Member
Joined
Oct 2, 2013
Messages
141
Reaction score
0
I have planned to switch to m1 (from Singtel) as I heard the router given is better as compared to the one given by Starhub. But the current ocbc promotion that Starhub has with OCBC makes it quite attractive for me now. Disney Plus instead of free mobile data from m1.

I saw many of you are not really using the free router provided by Starhub? Is it really quite a bad router? What's the difference between this and the Smart Wifi Pro ? Also, if I live in a 5 room flat, does it mean I need additional 2 units as recommended in their website for better coverage? In this case, I would have to pay $6 more per month.

Actually Singtel has also offered me $39.90 for recontract with new router. I am hesitant as I haven't been able to resolve the poor reception issues in my rooms even after getting mesh routers like more than 2 years ago. I am bad at understanding the technicalities therefore I didn't do anything thus far. Unable to troubleshoot. The only solution that I think may help is to lay cables to the room.

Any advise?
 

hereiam7788

Master Member
Joined
Dec 10, 2015
Messages
2,763
Reaction score
8
I have planned to switch to m1 (from Singtel) as I heard the router given is better as compared to the one given by Starhub. But the current ocbc promotion that Starhub has with OCBC makes it quite attractive for me now. Disney Plus instead of free mobile data from m1.

I saw many of you are not really using the free router provided by Starhub? Is it really quite a bad router? What's the difference between this and the Smart Wifi Pro ? Also, if I live in a 5 room flat, does it mean I need additional 2 units as recommended in their website for better coverage? In this case, I would have to pay $6 more per month.

Actually Singtel has also offered me $39.90 for recontract with new router. I am hesitant as I haven't been able to resolve the poor reception issues in my rooms even after getting mesh routers like more than 2 years ago. I am bad at understanding the technicalities therefore I didn't do anything thus far. Unable to troubleshoot. The only solution that I think may help is to lay cables to the room.

Any advise?

i have been using starhub home broadband since last year october, signed one year contract 1Gbps plan at $49.90. first time using starhub so dare not to sign two years contracts becos if it is bad, will be stuck for two years.

that time starhub + ocbc promo price is only $34.90 now the so called "promo price" is a joke.
although i did not go for this offer becos it is two years contract.

to be fair, starhub broadband is quite stable. i only encountered 2 to 3 times ONT has no signal during midnight around 1am++ kind of time and it was down for 2 hours at least before it recovered. but somehow find that the speed for torrent etc. is not impressive, maybe due to the throtlling. so wanted to try myrepublic after my contract is over. this is the reason of not going for long contract too.

the nokia beacon given is a trash. minimum configurations can do. signal is so so too. i sold it at $30++ and also bought another brand new EA7500-AH v2 MAX-STREAM AC1900+ at similar price to replace it. much better, although the signal is also not strong but better than nokia beacon, however, also cannot penetrate my room's thick walls. technically go out of my room the wifi signal is crap. (i had the fibre termination point installed in my room so that i can use wired connection for my mac mini).

 

zhihe1996

Junior Member
Joined
Aug 20, 2010
Messages
91
Reaction score
11
Recontract at $39.90 with 3 months free and 1 free Nokia Beacon. Sold the Beacon on Carousell for $50 so essentially come down to $32.8 per month.
 

Bardiel

Arch-Supremacy Member
Joined
Jul 9, 2006
Messages
23,046
Reaction score
441
i just called in. coming from home hub, and wanna move to broadband only, they tell me same price as per website =/
 

watzup_ken

Arch-Supremacy Member
Joined
Nov 21, 2003
Messages
23,379
Reaction score
453
is this from the same ONT ?
i dont think they give you 2 seprate ONTs right?

not that i have "seen" a 2 gbps setup before
Same ONT. So one is wired to my router, and other port to my desktop.
 

goofy123

Junior Member
Joined
Dec 29, 2003
Messages
88
Reaction score
4
not sure if this is the right place to ask noob question?

got the SH broadband with TV+ about 8mth ago, n it comes with 2 Nokia beacons.
During the installation, Starhub guy saw i have a LAN line going into study room for the desktop there, so he setup the network like this:
- Beacon 1 in living room, next to ONT, Beacon 2 in study room
- ONT to Beacon 1, using a lan cable.
- Used the lan cable to connect from beacon 1 to beacon 2.
- Used the Lan cable from beacon 2 to connect to desktop
- Setup tv+ to connect using WIFI.

was thinking it is possibly better to connect TV+ box using LAN cable, but there isn't any LAN port to use as the beacon 1 only has one port and thats's connected to Beacon 2.

can i get a router/switch that i can plug into LAN port of Beacon 1, then that will let me have more LAN ports to use? then i can use a LAN cable to connect to TV+ box.

thanks in advance.
 
Important Forum Advisory Note
This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.

Please refer to our Terms of Service for more information.
Top