StarHub MaxInfinity Fiber Optic - Experience

pei sey pei sey.. but i was told that the recent upgrade of the firmware to SH_1.00B046 was for security reason by SH. So not sure if u had the issue before or after the firmware upgrade or even if related at all..
i was given dlink router wif B46 firmware...

MarkChenTW

pei sey pei sey.. but i was told that the recent upgrade of the firmware to SH_1.00B046 was for security reason by SH. So not sure if u had the issue before or after the firmware upgrade or even if related at all..

... not what I was told... but who knows..

lowem

Yes, I'm finally on board the fiber bandwagon :)

1862571244.png

Not too bad, considering I'm putting my Linksys downstream from the D-Link.

MarkChenTW

was what i was told this morn/noon. as the older firmware with certain setting seems al-right with me but not really the new firmware.. what were you told?

it was make to fix some issue related to svc that is provided by SH (which sounds odd) and some other tweaks. but who know you might be right and i was smoked.

there was a log that was provided for B45 that was leak somewhere in the thread.

stilnox

it was make to fix some issue related to svc that is provided by SH (which sounds odd) and some other tweaks. but who know you might be right and i was smoked.

there was a log that was provided for B45 that was leak somewhere in the thread.

haiz.. really dun know what to do.. today they are coming again to replace. and the best part was after i put down the phone with SH, i dun have any issue so far "touch wood".. crap lor...

MarkChenTW

haiz.. really dun know what to do.. today they are coming again to replace. and the best part was after i put down the phone with SH, i dun have any issue so far "touch wood".. crap lor...

their phone got magic lol... no lah.. last time i also thought like that but when i ask them they say they did nth.

stilnox

their phone got magic lol... no lah.. last time i also thought like that but when i ask them they say they did nth.

i ask them dun replace the 3rd set aleady.. i wait for both the new notebook to arrive to eliminate that is it computer and user problem.. than see how..

Maybe later go buy that asus try.. friend staying in 3level house cannot tahan the Huawei anymore.. he only have internet on the 1st level and homeplug to 3rd level.. 2nd level all bo internet..

any body have exp with that Asus N56u on a 3rd storey house mah?

MarkChenTW

i ask them dun replace the 3rd set aleady.. i wait for both the new notebook to arrive to eliminate that is it computer and user problem.. than see how..

Maybe later go buy that asus try.. friend staying in 3level house cannot tahan the Huawei anymore.. he only have internet on the 1st level and homeplug to 3rd level.. 2nd level all bo internet..

any body have exp with that Asus N56u on a 3rd storey house mah?

heavily depend on the type of wall and how your house support is made...

stilnox

heavily depend on the type of wall and how your house support is made...

yup aware of that.. just wanna gather some info.. i buy the Asus N56U already.. 66U they say next week.. now testing out... cross finger

edit* can leh. i follow bigwoof that setting.. suddenly can.. now very high (i mountain tortise).. checking out.. that was easy.. not so scary.. next have to figure out the homeline..

edit** still working.. thank you everyone

CoolSilverRider

Got mine installed 100Mbps on 30-Mar, by so called Starhub Troopers!!! (sucks)

Guess what my speed?...Is only 50+Mbps from both speedtest.net and speedtest.com.sg!

I asked the so-called "Hub Troopers": Oh, you have to call "1633"...(what the hell!!!)...thought they are the experts?!?!
Then i ask another questions again, can i connect D-Link router to my personnal router wireless...he say can!....but did not mentioned how, can ask to call "1633" again!!!

Called "1633", ask
Me: can connect my 2 wireless routers wireless?
CSO: NO!!!!
Me: Then just now your so called "Troopers" said CAN!
CSO: ehhh...is it?...let me check....
CSO: i think can
Me: ok then how?
CSO: not so sure
Me:...*silent with anger*...nevermind...
Me: then what about my speed not getting as said at around 100Mbps on fibre?
CSO:...have you tried our starhubbroadband speed tested?...blah blah....

Therefore, i on the phone with that CSO for 1 hr plus....and i insist that i cannot get get around 100Mbps on both speedtest.net and .com.sg...i don't want to know about their starhub broadband test website! Send those screenshots to them liao...until now...no reply!!!!
ANGRY!!!!

CoolSilverRider

Some ppl will ask, why not use starhub broadband speed test?

To me, is just a connection between ONT to their distribution server...they can tune to 200Mbps or even more they want, and is not an actual 100Mbps speed even within Singapore!

If they cannot provide speed at around 100Mbps around Singapore...what for i need pay for 100Mbps for it and only get 50Mbps.

Qubicfactor

It all comes down to the SH Dlink modem they provided. Its not a gigabit modem, thus unable to support 100mbps wirelessly unless via ethernet cable. it sucks that they only provide that SH crappy modem. but u can purchase additional dual band wireless router to link up with that crappy SH drink modem

There are a few factual errors in your post that I cant help but comment on.

-The D-Link device that SH provides is a residential gateway, not a modem

-It supports gigabit speeds

-Gigabit has nothing to do with wireless speeds

-Currently few, if any wireless routers out there can do 100Mbps in real world throughput, less 3T3R ones or those on 5Ghz

Go ahead and rant about poor speeds or service, but please don't make factual errors like the above.

habsters

It all comes down to the SH Dlink modem they provided. Its not a gigabit modem, thus unable to support 100mbps wirelessly unless via ethernet cable. it sucks that they only provide that SH crappy modem. but u can purchase additional dual band wireless router to link up with that crappy SH drink modem

They do offer the Huawei RG as well, upon request if I'm not wrong

S1ry2Y

There are a few factual errors in your post that I cant help but comment on.

-The D-Link device that SH provides is a residential gateway, not a modem

-It supports gigabit speeds

-Gigabit has nothing to do with wireless speeds

-Currently few, if any wireless routers out there can do 100Mbps in real world throughput, less 3T3R ones or those on 5Ghz

Go ahead and rant about poor speeds or service, but please don't make factual errors like the above.

thanks for the correction!

LemonT

Some ppl will ask, why not use starhub broadband speed test?

To me, is just a connection between ONT to their distribution server...they can tune to 200Mbps or even more they want, and is not an actual 100Mbps speed even within Singapore!

If they cannot provide speed at around 100Mbps around Singapore...what for i need pay for 100Mbps for it and only get 50Mbps.

ISP provides subscribed speed within the network, anything outside their network be it local or overseas are on best effort.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.