The Intel LGA 2011 Owners & Users thread

bemylove

LGA2011 users what are your temps?
do list ambient temps

mine overclocked to 4.5ghz at 1.352v with 1600mhz ram and auto VTT & VCCSA.

ambient 30°c, with EIST and Speedstep on Noctua D14
average while serving HWZ : 35-48°c
while calculating/simulating : 35-72°c
gaming gw2 : 35-60°c

Gaminator

With my room AC set at 25C, my CPU @4.25ghz (default voltages) idles at 26C while surfing the net and such. Will be back with temps after gaming and such...still breaking in my replacement H100.

bemylove

linx with w7 sp1 avx enabled 8gb, 5 runs tested : 75-84°c! :eek:

btw new sandy & ivy no "default" vcore unlike bloomfield...sb/ib goes by VID which means the vcore will increase when you increase your multiplier

for ex. at default 32x, VID is about 1.22v
at 45x VID jumps to 1.36v! :eek:

Gaminator

linx with w7 sp1 avx enabled 8gb, 5 runs tested : 75-84°c! :eek:

btw new sandy & ivy no "default" vcore unlike bloomfield...sb/ib goes by VID which means the vcore will increase when you increase your multiplier

for ex. at default 32x, VID is about 1.22v
at 45x VID jumps to 1.36v! :eek:
Serious ar? Didn't know that, so if I have my OC'ed a little @4.25ghz, does that automatically mean the vcore went up as well? Just checked AI Suite II, temps still at 26C while I'd been surfing.

bemylove

yes that is how things roll for modern intel processors...affects only vcore though. not recommended to leave vcore at auto because asus boards will ram it up to max which is 1.4v.

set offset like mine, i set to -0.010v with medium llc. medium llc will overvolt also loh...the vcore these days a lot of auto happenings....sian 1/2.

i lucky my 3930k can tahan with no extra voltages to the vtt and vccsa but i also using normal 1600 ram nia. however cannot pass linx with max ram set. always crash after 2 runs. so i forget it since my daily use no problems.

so i consider got a "good" cpu at 4.5ghz... :D
gaming even with bf3 and sc3 wont hit pass 62°c on 30°c ambient..good enough also

MacClipper

Intel Desktop Roadmap: i7-3970K Coming in Q4, i7-4900 in Q3 2013 - Bright Side Of News*

INTC_DeskRdmp201213.jpg

INTC_DesktopRdmpIVBE.jpg

Intel Desktop Roadmap: i7-3970K Coming in Q4, i7-4900 in Q3 2013...

Do note that Intel will not offer any changes on the platform side of things - both Sandy Bridge-E (i7-39xx) and Ivy Bridge-E (i7-49xx) processors will connect to the Waimea Bay platform, more known as the X79 chipset. This also explains why motherboard vendors from the Far East are preparing not one, but two motherboard refreshes based on the X79. First refresh is scheduled to appear with the i7-3970K (from limited number of vendors), while the second refresh is scheduled for Computex Taipei 2013, with the arrival on market in September/October 2013 (with the launch of Core i7-4930, 4960, 4970 and the rumored 4990 part).

Just like its mainstream parts (which you can buy today) Ivy Bridge-E will be built on the 22nm process using the 3rd gen High-K+ Metal Gate. The quad-channel memory controller supports DDR3-1866 and that's about it.

Looks like x79 is a definite longer run 'investment' than Z77. :)

MacClipper

Alamak, now looking at the delidded i7-3820 photo again, just realised I have been applying TIM in the wrong direction all along. Had been doing it the same way as LGA1155 but the LGA2011 core is 90 degrees rotated instead.

OK note to self, follow the yellow brick road/arrows as follows ie. line from front to back of mobo.

dd6a6954.jpg

MacClipper

The Pesky Double POST phenomenon

Was informed that Asus had apparently solved this in a latter BIOS but earlier in their ROG forums, it was claimed...

Fake Boot Rampage IV Extreme

That is normal for the chipset when you cold boot. In other words if you power off completely the system will double boot.

Fortunately, it's completely untrue cos from my own testing, I have now found

1. Asrock X79 Extreme4 and Extreme9 - always does a single POST
2. GA-X79S-UP5 - single POST with Ripjaws Z quad kit but double POST with KVR unmatched modules

So it' has more to do with the BIOS, RAM compatibility and nothing to do it being a normal X79 feature.

bemylove

wow...lao...i7 HEDT is disappointing leh if still 6 cores...it even looks like 4960x is less worth it than its predecessor. the Turbo boost is only 400mhz instead of 600mhz.

it seems the hint is Haswell is not that powderful if Intel HE processors is only like that improved over SBe.

MacClipper

Ho ho ho... what's this? :D

X79 Extreme4 3.20 7/26/2013 Supports Intel IVB-E CPU.

To support Intel IVB-E CPU, corresponding BIOS, drivers and AXTU update are required.

Click here to download required AXTU
Click here to download required Intel ME
Click here to download required INF Driver

* After updating this BIOS, please flash newer versions only.

MacClipper

Intel i7 4960X – Ivy Bridge-E – CPU Review | Overclockers

a 4.6 GHz overclock, which is decent, and core temperatures below 70 DEGREES C ...

it ended up at 1.399 V for this overclock to be completely stable through all testing...

If you already have a 3960X or 3930K that you’re satisfied with, there’s no reason to upgrade to Ivy Bridge-E.

And that seems a good fair summary of Intel CPUs nowadays. :angel:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.