The Watch Thread - Part 3

gaoxing84

Come on man, don look me no up, the last runner in the race may not be the loser, lets just discuss watches here, pls dont personal attack. If i got to whack JLC then die gao gao later lor.. Got to trade my fiancee for the watch then :s13: hmm seriously speaking, by time i really whack JLC could be the year 2031 liao, hopefully the model still ard, ah bor hor by then maybe got even better designs liao.

JLC - My motivation to live.

Err yar i know Tissot PRC not perpetual, just saying it looks nice but dont think i will whack it anyday, or even so maybe just for causal wear because its chronograph. For dress watches, i only like Perpetual Calendar.

JLC is your motivation to live? :s22:

comon, you got to be better than that. i think your fiancee and career should be your motivation to live.

can't afford, don't force. no happiness. i rather you wear a tissot like me and enjoy life without debts! not saying i do have debts. lol got study loan to pay for but still!

gaoxing84

just wondering since we are on this....

how much are you willing to spend on a watch?

Personally my psychological hurdle is about 50% of my salary. As much as I like watches, I cannot bear to spend that much on one.

Btw I save 50% of my salary each month, so the other 50% is spending money for bills, food etc.

as long its within my reach, reasonable and i have more than enough to pay for the watch and still enjoying my life.

what's the point of having a expensive watch and yet not living the life. lol

i always look at my financial state before purchasing a watch.
currently my tag heuer is the most expensive purchase for me at the moment. bought it back when i am 21. 4 years later, i got another seiko and tissot with me. cheap and good stuff!

Chisel

anyone can recommend a diver style watch with GMT function that has an automatic movement, must be cheap, less than S$500, must be in stock...used or new doesn't matter

Try Orient GMT
CFE04001 to CFE04003

Seannie

JLC is your motivation to live? :s22:

comon, you got to be better than that. i think your fiancee and career should be your motivation to live.

can't afford, don't force. no happiness. i rather you wear a tissot like me and enjoy life without debts! not saying i do have debts. lol got study loan to pay for but still!

Yalor :o people like me really got not much motivation now, anyway too long story to explain, or shu shu here will whack me again for OT. :( Watch purists just cant tahan when people tok or grumble about life here.

Hmm if need to buy a JLC, i need to first raise my credit card limit first, then think of how to slowly pay for it. Minimum payment is $55 monthly mah right? The balance just pay interest lor. Still can hoot JLC what.. nowadays who have so much spare cash on hands? Most of us also living on credit. Be it houses, cars, study loans, etc.

You say enjoy life without debts? How to enjoy when i dont have JLC while others can hoot one every year?

yattokame

Yalor :o people like me really got not much motivation now, anyway too long story to explain, or shu shu here will whack me again for OT. :( Watch purists just cant tahan when people tok or grumble about life here.

Hmm if need to buy a JLC, i need to first raise my credit card limit first, then think of how to slowly pay for it. Minimum payment is $55 monthly mah right? The balance just pay interest lor. Still can hoot JLC what.. nowadays who have so much spare cash on hands? Most of us also living on credit. Be it houses, cars, study loans, etc.
You say enjoy life without debts? How to enjoy when i dont have JLC while others can hoot one every year?

fren.... I hope you are kidding here. NEVER EVER just pay the minimum payment. Clear all your card bills on time. The interest is compounded and can go out of control easily. Before you know it, the outstanding amount can land you another JLC.

Living on credit is one thing - effectively using it is another.

A lot of people will say don't buy watces on instalments - I do that where possible. FIrst I ensure I have the full sum for the watch, then I put it into an investment which earns me some interest. Then for the watch I pay interest free instalments with my credit card. troublesome, but at least it works for me. I do the same thing with my car and house.

Don't have then so be it. Having a JLC or PP or whatever doesn't make you a higher order. No human is better than the other. Most importantly is spend time with your family. I was about to buy another Rolex recently then I considered what else can I do with this money - and a long family vacation came to mind, with my parents and in-laws - and I put the watch back.

There are many things more important than a watch. Take care of those things first.

it seems to me you are still young, maybe fresh grad or something. Do not be deluded by what you see - who have this who have that - just look at what you have and not the have-nots. If you have-not, then work hard for it if thats what you really want. If not, living a simple life is happiness in itself. Until a couple of years ago I was still working two jobs just to bring in the dough. Having kids means I just had to stop the insane hours. But I am happier now.

Whatever you do, I hope you find joy, just do not neglect what is truly important in your life.

patryn33

Credit limit is how many times a person? 4x monthly income so for usd$20k u are plan on making sgd$6k+ a mth today. Another other way to raise that?

I only have home mortgage no vehicle loan or other loan for now.

Seannie

Credit limit is how many times a person? 4x monthly income so for usd$20k u are plan on making sgd$6k+ a mth today. Another other way to raise that?

I only have home mortgage no vehicle loan or other loan for now.

Yes, you are right, another way is to raise cash by gambling. But so far, no luck yet. I am living on Hope.

patryn33

fren.... I hope you are kidding here. NEVER EVER just pay the minimum payment. Clear all your card bills on time. The interest is compounded and can go out of control easily. Before you know it, the outstanding amount can land you another JLC.

Interest at 24% I hope he done the math pay min takes how long to pay up.
Otherwise use below looks like maybe over 400 mths to clear and interest alone is over $40k
http://www.bankrate.com/calculators/managing-debt/minimum-payment-calculator.aspx

yattokame

Yes, you are right, another way is to raise cash by gambling. But so far, no luck yet. I am living on Hope.

ten gamble nine losses leh.
what comes quick, goes quickly too. people who usually make a windfall from gambling usually spend it very quickly as well.

hard work is more important. makes one realizes the value of money.

patryn33

I only buy $3 lottery once a while to buy 'hope'. Lol
Gamble big time to find hope silly silly. Some ppl love to role play.

thedarkside

Hi, how about damasko? Sinn like design.. but slightly out of your budget.. but I think you could stretch a little bit and get something u really like

Google damasko singapore

just wondering since we are on this....

how much are you willing to spend on a watch?

Personally my psychological hurdle is about 50% of my salary. As much as I like watches, I cannot bear to spend that much on one.

Yes, that's my guideline too. The feeling that one is being ripped off just gets too strong beyond that point.

gaoxing84

not sure trolling or what. :s22:

Have JLC = enjoy life ah?

you need a better direction in life. :s22:

Seannie

not sure trolling or what. :s22:

Have JLC = enjoy life ah?

you need a better direction in life. :s22:

you see, i kena whacked again.. say little bit also kena. i didnt even started on this topic in the first place. Just leave it at that. Lets just discuss watches okie, JLC to be specific. Never mind whether i can afford it or not.

yattokame

Yes, that's my guideline too. The feeling that one is being ripped off just gets too strong beyond that point.

Maybe not ripped off but.....can use the money for other things lor. Like family feast or trip.
Watch only yourself enjoy. Spend on family more ppl enjoy mah.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.