Water heater

koohansen

Trying to decide between Joven JH-35 35L and 707 Kensington Storage Water Heater 35L.

https://joven-electric.com/product/storage-water-heater/jh-series/jh35
https://707.com.sg/product/storage-water-heater-kensington-35/

I am leaning towards Kensington and would appreciate if anyone can advise based on your experience/knowledge:
  1. Both have 10-year warranty - Is there anything else that I need to be aware of?
  2. Joven mentions that it can retain the heat up to 20 hours or longer - Does anyone knows if that is the same/similar for Kensington?
  3. Buying two storage heaters (master toilet and common toilet) as the two toilets are located far away within the HDB. There is a total of 2 users in the household (1 user for each toilet) and each toilet is installed with rainshower - Is storage capacity of 25L sufficient for each toilet or should I go for a higher storage capacity of 35L?

Thank you!!
Your existing HDB piping, have to ensure it's run separately if you want to have 2 storage heaters.

I'm using Joven JH35 for 5th year running, so far ok. Morning turn on, evening still warm.

zendude

I tot I once read that storage is safer than instant but don't see much of that sentiment anywhere

So theres no diff? I need to replace, would rather use instant sua, cheap and no frills

TrueBeliever_jh

Trying to decide between Joven JH-35 35L and 707 Kensington Storage Water Heater 35L.

https://joven-electric.com/product/storage-water-heater/jh-series/jh35
https://707.com.sg/product/storage-water-heater-kensington-35/

I am leaning towards Kensington and would appreciate if anyone can advise based on your experience/knowledge:
  1. Both have 10-year warranty - Is there anything else that I need to be aware of?
  2. Joven mentions that it can retain the heat up to 20 hours or longer - Does anyone knows if that is the same/similar for Kensington?
  3. Buying two storage heaters (master toilet and common toilet) as the two toilets are located far away within the HDB. There is a total of 2 users in the household (1 user for each toilet) and each toilet is installed with rainshower - Is storage capacity of 25L sufficient for each toilet or should I go for a higher storage capacity of 35L?

Thank you!!
Do you currently have an existing one~?

I got Joven 35L left by the previous owner.. it shorted last week~ :ROFLMAO:

Electrician checked and said there were leaks... so recommended to change.. i wonder can just switch brands or should I stick back.. the pipings should be standard~?

ichinisan

Anyone using a Toshiba DSK33ES5SW with rain shower?

Is the water pressure strong?

202008061159220GW8I1KRTS7AG_700.jpg

TanKianW

Been using the Joven storage water heater for the longest time, no leaks at all.

Make sure you don't install the storage heater, inside the toilet which is subjected to a lot of moisture, resulting in rust. Divert it to the service yard.

To save power, I set automation to turn it on (advance heating) when I am about to reach home (Geo-fencing), and shut it off after 15min. So I get to enjoy hot shower when I reached home and it switches off when I about to finish my shower.​

Rnakee

I just brought a panasonic heater but the shower hose is too short, and the end of the hose at the shower head doesn't sit into the holding rod which i brought separately.

Wanted to replace the hose and went to a hardware shop to buy a standard hose but the size seems smaller then the outlet thus unable to screw in.

Any advice where to get a compatible hose ?
Emailed service center, they just ask me to use the original hose.

blow360

Been using the Joven storage water heater for the longest time, no leaks at all.

Make sure you don't install the storage heater, inside the toilet which is subjected to a lot of moisture, resulting in rust. Divert it to the service yard.

To save power, I set automation to turn it on (advance heating) when I am about to reach home (Geo-fencing), and shut it off after 15min. So I get to enjoy hot shower when I reached home and it switches off when I about to finish my shower.​
can I ask what type of automation u run for your water heater?
As in specific type of switch, hub (what brand), etc?

I am thinking of running automation just for my storage water heater (looking at rheem) as I want heating to be within a few mins type of situation.

But no idea how to go about it.

TanKianW

I am thinking of running automation just for my storage water heater (looking at rheem) as I want heating to be within a few mins type of situation.

I am using Home Assistant with a custom mini-pc to drive my home automation. I use location service to activate my heater to be turned on before I reached home. Then after turning on for 20min, it auto switch off.​

Learn more. check out here:
https://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/threads/starting-home-assistant-ha-for-new-users.6751695/

HA server running on custom mini-pc with ZigBee dongle:
aNpsW0L.jpg

As for ZigBee heater switch, I am using Near.sg
3ST8FYq.jpg

batniss

get a 20A Tuya WiFi Switch. less than $20/pc.

u can do scheduling, timer, 2 way switch etc. Extremely convenient. No need overzealous setup and any dumb heater can be smart.

example: Tuya 20A Water Heater Switch

you can shop for the rest if need be (if you prefer rocker over touch etc etc)

King.Koopa

wtf almost got burn by my water heater. Not even 2 years spoil liao. By right suppose to turn off by itself when you off the water but the water heater kept heating. End up when on almost got burned lucky I always use hand test first.

One user told me cornell no good really sia. But funny is bought the same model yet the previous model lasted more than 10 years. The exact same model now so lousy.

edmwing

wtf almost got burn by my water heater. Not even 2 years spoil liao. By right suppose to turn off by itself when you off the water but the water heater kept heating. End up when on almost got burned lucky I always use hand test first.

One user told me cornell no good really sia. But funny is bought the same model yet the previous model lasted more than 10 years. The exact same model now so lousy.
Lol I thought I was the only one due to my old house piping or tap issue.. Cornell heater too.

edmwing

:eek: :eek: you also face the same issue?
Ya.. the heater didn't turn off after I offed the tap so it boils the water within until overheat and safety measure kicks in to switch off the heater. The next time I turn on the tap.. the water coming out initially will be almost boiling temperature. I moved house and no longer using instant heater but that time was wondering if it's heater or my tap or water pressure issue since could not find any similar experience online... Lol

blow360

Hi all, Im interesting in automating my water heater switch to on at a certain time every day.

I dont really need automation anywhere else, though I have philips hub for all my lights which are 90% from philips.

So.. just focusing on the water heater switch, my question is what is the easiest way to automate to have the ability to on and off at pre-determined time everyday. Having the ability to control the switch from outside of home (i.e. outside of wifi network) e.g. coming home from outside is a bonus as well.

I was initially thinking of keeping things simple (cos I am no expert in this area and just want to automate e water heater) and use switchbot to toggle a normal heater switch.

Are there other options? What do u use?

I would prefer it if I can very simply control it using my Iphone through Homekit or google home?

Any thoughts? or anyone done something similar and can share?

stanlawj

I am using Home Assistant with a custom mini-pc to drive my home automation. I use location service to activate my heater to be turned on before I reached home. Then after turning on for 20min, it auto switch off.​

Learn more. check out here:
https://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/threads/starting-home-assistant-ha-for-new-users.6751695/

HA server running on custom mini-pc with ZigBee dongle:

Hi all, Im interesting in automating my water heater switch to on at a certain time every day.

I dont really need automation anywhere else, though I have philips hub for all my lights which are 90% from philips.

So.. just focusing on the water heater switch, my question is what is the easiest way to automate to have the ability to on and off at pre-determined time everyday. Having the ability to control the switch from outside of home (i.e. outside of wifi network) e.g. coming home from outside is a bonus as well.

I was initially thinking of keeping things simple (cos I am no expert in this area and just want to automate e water heater) and use switchbot to toggle a normal heater switch.

Are there other options? What do u use?

I would prefer it if I can very simply control it using my Iphone through Homekit or google home?

Any thoughts? or anyone done something similar and can share?
Those of you who want to automate turning off the storage water heater, is it because the electricity consumption is too high?

daniel_83

been using Joven storage heater for the past 10years in my 4rm BTO

recently spoilt and bought an exact same model to replace

but i'm going to move soon and i will not be installing storage heater again

takes 5-10mins for water to be very hot and hot water only last awhile (25L)
very sian

i'm the type that likes to take a very hot shower for a long while, it's very relaxing :)

stanlawj

been using Joven storage heater for the past 10years in my 4rm BTO

recently spoilt and bought an exact same model to replace

but i'm going to move soon and i will not be installing storage heater again

takes 5-10mins for water to be very hot and hot water only last awhile (25L)
very sian

i'm the type that likes to take a very hot shower for a long while, it's very relaxing :)
how long is your hot shower time? I'm trying to gauge the hot shower time with a 25L tank.

daniel_83

how long is your hot shower time? I'm trying to gauge the hot shower time with a 25L tank.
With rain shower, maybe just 2 mins

if i make the water come down much slower, maybe 4 mins

I only can enjoy long hot showers when i go stay in hotels

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.