Air conditioning - Any recommendations please?? - Part 2

marc2002

This materials for aircon installation good?

- 1/2 inch insulation Kflex, Class O
- SWG 22 Copper Pipe
- Keystone Wire
- 16mm Drainage Pipe
- Litaflex/Active Trunking

My pipng just installed, now awaiting the aircon unit to be installed. The drainage pipe is those pvc (toilet), compared to my last aircon, its those copper type. Which one is better actually?

armstrong

Actually im looking at LG Aircon for system 4 WIFI alpha Plus
Annual energy cost $681 energy consumption 2523kWh
the offer they giving is made in korea one

24 + 12 +9 +9 for $3800 what do you think ya ?

A4UQ26GFA2 + 09GJA0X2/12/25GDK

They give free upgrade and piping all amaflex Class 0 instead of thermaflex

Ark Law

My Mitsubishi System 3 compressor (MSYGE24VAR3) that's nearly 5 years old, control board is a bit faulty, causing one of the expansion valve to not fully close, so whenever I switch on my bedroom's aircon, the aircon in another bedroom is dripping water from the condensation (aircon gas continue to supply to the aircon unit despite it being switched off) and putting pails/towels under the water drips is not a long term solution and run risk of damaging the wooden floor.

Dripping water should be piping choke issue. Expansion valve close properly or not should not matter.

micgoh

Hi, my 2yr starmex system 4 suddenly not cold. The company that I bought from came and check and said the outdoor unit not running, the electrical board and fan spoilt need to be replaced and is not covered under warranty. The replacement is not cheap. Like to check with guru here if it is true

Oh this is worrying.

NoFearSg

Hi, my 2yr starmex system 4 suddenly not cold. The company that I bought from came and check and said the outdoor unit not running, the electrical board and fan spoilt need to be replaced and is not covered under warranty. The replacement is not cheap. Like to check with guru here if it is true

Not a guru but I will get 2nd opinion.

wongminmin

Oh this is worrying.

there is 1 problematic model GE that pcb+motor die within months or years.
WPRnjSn.png

Actually im looking at LG Aircon for system 4 WIFI alpha Plus
Annual energy cost $681 energy consumption 2523kWh
the offer they giving is made in korea one

24 + 12 +9 +9 for $3800 what do you think ya ?

A4UQ26GFA2 + 09GJA0X2/12/25GDK

They give free upgrade and piping all amaflex Class 0 instead of thermaflex

jp > kr in reliability.

i heard sales tend to push for kr products cause they offer more commissions.

armstrong

WPRnjSn.png

jp > kr in reliability.

True lah ..u scare me sia i tot there problematic issue with the PCB in model GE i see wrongly heng...what is that ah
but nowadays dont see japanese air con i know of.:s12:

wongminmin

Oh this is worrying.
i dig out some old posts for reference. if got time, i go gc see see look look. :)

Went to Gain City AMK to check it out as they have the warehouse sale on going. Daikin as usual being the most expensive and material upgrade need additional money, the unique about it is just it come with Wireless module build in for Smartphone control.

I told GC Sale that 12 years ago I am still using the Hitachi Inverter 4 Tick Aircon bought for you guys, he was like shock, still got people use aircon for 12 years and haven’t change, I say haven’t spoil but now planning to change as I think is time for decommission after such a long period. He also said nowadays these aircon compare to last time not as lasting, maybe can last 7-8 years very good already.

1. Panasonic XS System 3, Made in Malaysia: CU4XS34UBZ 36100 BTU Outdoor unit + CSMX9UKZ x2 9000 BTU IDU + CSMXS12UKZ 12000 BTU IDU + Free Material Upgrade to SWG 22 copper and 1/2 Insulation etc + $150 Outdoor bracket + Removal of old aircon + Installation + 1 year warranty = $3249

2. Mitsubishi Starmex System 3, Made in Malaysia: MXY4G33VA2 365000 BTU outdoor unit + MSXYFN10VE x2 9000BTU IDU + MSXYFN13VE x1 12000 BTU IDU + Free Material Upgrade to SWG 22 copper and 1/2 Insulation etc + $150 Outdoor bracket + Removal of old aircon + Installation + 1 year warranty = $3449

2. Daikin iSmile System 3, Made in Thailand: MKS80QVMG 36200 BTU Outdoor unit + CTKS25QVM x2 9000 BTU + CTKS35QVM x1 12000 BTU + $180 Material Upgrade to SWG22 copper + 1/2 Insulation etc + $150 Outdoor bracket + Removal of old aircon + Installation + 1 year warranty = $3689

Before I bought my current aircon in July this year to replace my old mitsubishi starmex non inverter sys 3. I really read up all the discussions over here from page 1 till the end. From the info here. I got to know Mitsubishi starmex FJ was really a problematic model that was swiftly replaced by the current FN model. Some aircon shops are still selling the FJ model.

Then I also get to know the current 5 ticks FN model are more energy efficient and ended up it might take a longer time to cool the room. Ended up I choose the GE model although it is a 2 ticks model. For those who want to get mitsubishi starmex. Best to get the GE series.

I interviewed the GC technician.

Which brands are the most problematic. He said Samsung, Midea and Panasonic.

Which brand is recommended in terms of repair and servicing. He said Mitsubishi Electric.
Nah I don’t think Panasonic should be in there. GC sales also told me that ME lots of problem and complains, becos a lot of people buy. Up to you how interpret it.

The air-con guy kept saying FN series problematic and said he does not suggest to go for FN series. He suggested to go for GE series. Any comments from users here?

I will PM you the actual price but PM has 2000 words limits, so you can check what I have to say on the contractors.

Here are some of the Daikin iSmile System 4 quotes (MKS80TVMG, x3 CTKS25TVMG, x1 CTKS35TVMG) I got from these contractors who came for site visit at my place:

LetsCool: $4XXX
Their usual is $3XXX, but my house is troublesome to lay the trunking, hence the added $250 to accommodate that. This was my choice at first but I didn’t went with them as they were affected by the circuit breaker and couldn’t give me a schedule to start work. Their Google reviews might have negative reviews but from people I suggested using them has shown positive results in terms of workmanship. My Person-in-Charge was Jackie.

Cold Max: $4XXX
This is my choice, they suggested me a better route which minimise the need to touch the false ceiling, which in return, I saved a lot already. They are a Chinese company. When they do site visit, you can tell they are very professional, they don’t “yes” to everything like other contractors which are over promising. They will assess the route path you suggest before agreeing to it. Most importantly, they won’t hard sell you anything.

GenesisCool: $4XXX
This was my 3rd choice, but I won’t recommend you unless you are using them for BTO. They are more specialise in BTO in the way when he comes for site visit, the suggested route path requires a lot of renovation works as if I am renovating my house. Hence, I didn’t choose them in the end. Recently they have a very bad FB review by Eden Koh on resale installation, they trunking is like pooping brown substance. So use them at your risk.

JK Aircon: $3XXX
Well reputable company, but they don’t offer site visit unless you pay deposit of $800. As my house is troublesome to lay the trunking, I don’t feel confident placing a deposit without a site visit assurance.

LK Brothers Aircon Engineering: $4XXX
Same as JK Aircon, well reputable company, but they don’t offer site visit unless you confirm them with 50% deposit. Also, they are so reputable that they have been installing aircon every single day. When asked for schedule, they brushed me off saying schedule will be given only when job is confirmed. So it is kind of skeptic to me.

VS Aircon: $4XXX
DO NOT ENGAGE THEM! I was attended by Raven but it was very unprofessional. I requested for a site visit, he mentioned that he will be down to do the site visit but ended up creating a drama. An Indian guy came knocking my door with ladder and vacuum machine and insisted that I called for aircon cleaning. To wash a spoiled aircon?! I had to spend time to explain that I asked for site visit as he don’t understand English well. Ended another Indian guy came who Raven said he is the “Supervisor” to do the site visit. They have a very serious communication issue, Raven had to texted me to ask his man to call him... I believe VS Aircon outsourced their installation or cleaning. With this, I don’t even consider them at all, it is such a joke.

I would recommend you either LetsCool or Cold Max, sometime saving money is not the way as you might ended up a bad contractor or bad workmanship. A few hundreds won’t bite as you already paid thousands.

My 2 year old inverter outdoor unit circuit board is faulty. Pcb warranty is only 1 year and they have quoted me a very "nice" amount for new board replacement. Prior to that it also had issues of shutting down by itself intermittently.

I also have non inverter units which are 10-15 years old and never given me a single problem.

I hardly use the aircon, probably less than 20 hours a month. Even under such light usage if the appliance can spoil, then I'd rather go back to old technology than waste time and money fixing or buying a new model system with similar pcb technology.

I also thinking of getting midea, also moving out in 3 years time.. Current midea used for 6 years. One down already. Thinking eventually it would spoil might as well change now. Enjoy a new air con for 3 years and pass it next owner..

Seems like everyone here recommends Daikin or Mitsubishi.. What about Samsung, LG, Toshiba etc.?

Edit: I was looking and noticed a consistent trend that correlates PCB board failure and Mitsubishi Electric aircon :/

wongminmin

@wongminmin

Does aircon really got promotion one? I see the price like stable through the years except sometime throw some vouchers la, extended warranty la like that. Price hardly go down. Oh having said that it's mostly for Daikin. Starmex I never see them do such promotion

maybe camp for this kind of sale.

dIYhTIa.png

azx3Fno.png

armstrong

i dig out some old posts for reference. if got time, i go gc see see look look. :)

Thank for all the headup
Despite so much marketing from starmex and the flimsy quality
I decide to go for LG to save cost and due to the durabiity as well as everything is made in korea

Daikin consider the most expensive but still the best nevertheless.

wongminmin

Thank for all the headup
Despite so much marketing from starmex and the flimsy quality
I decide to go for LG to save cost and due to the durabiity as well as everything is made in korea

Daikin consider the most expensive but still the best nevertheless.

must see luck 1.....and ratio......starmex is the best selling aircon in sg.....not really through advertisements but known for reliability.

my current starmex still working after 15 years.... just that take sometimes to cool the room. :s13:

I would Not recommend the FJ series.
Would be better to go for the FN or GE series if you do not mind the 2 ticks model if selecting Starmex.

IMHO, the more features the more parts and the more things to breakdown so sometimes simplicity is a beauty within itself.

For starmex might want to check with your appointed installer again as some stocks might not be available right now.
I asked a salesman of the aircon company many years ago of LG aircons. He said the circuit boards of aircons always give users many problems. Don't know if this is still valid statement as of now.

Thinking of buying standing electric fans, I recommend ME brand for its reliable continuous operation 24/7. Brand new at $125 only. Used them to support aircons now.
Many people will say not advisable to use LG.

But I installed LG - FCU - AMNC09GDBA2 - 9k BTU x 3 no & AMNC12GDBA2 - 12k BTU x 1 no (All Made in Korea)*& ACU - A4UQ30GFA0 (max 40 btu).

All 4 FCU on every night @ 8 hr average @ 22°c. Used 1 year and so far so good. Maintain every 3 months. Low monthly electricity consumption about $75 to $100 more.

The main reason why I used LG is because it is not costly. I paid about $3800 with 12 months free interest instalment.

If your ACU is high capacity 30 and not 24, then I think $4009 is very good price.

But my other premises (my office), I just recently installed Daikin smile systems 3 & 2. Office meh. Wan sak place. Cannot play play. Must get a reliable aircon.

Buy LG air con better to buy a fan.......Korea air con many problem .

martintylor

Mine should be FN right?(MXY4G33VA2,MSXYFN10VE)
Was quoted replacement for 800-1400 depending which PCB. The price I can almost change the whole Aircon system. Any advice?
WPRnjSn.png

jp > kr in reliability.

Jackintheboxx

Was quoted replacement for 800-1400 depending which PCB. The price I can almost change the whole Aircon system. Any advice?

I'm in a similar situation with same model. I'm currently looking for a 2nd hand outdoor unit. If can't a suitable one in a couple of months then I'm changing the whole aircon to midea or Panasonic. No more starmex or expensive brands for me. Was quoted around 1.2k for repair. Replacement midea sys 3 less than 2k

martintylor

How many years is your system? Where you going to source 2nd hand?
I'm in a similar situation with same model. I'm currently looking for a 2nd hand outdoor unit. If can't a suitable one in a couple of months then I'm changing the whole aircon to midea or Panasonic. No more starmex or expensive brands for me. Was quoted around 1.2k for repair. Replacement midea sys 3 less than 2k

eight8

Inverter compressor is always running when one unit is turned ON. So when two unit is turned ON, compressor is having more load thus it need more controlling and a little more electricity.

My question i would like to know is how much more electricity is used comparing turning on 1 unit vs 2 unit or even 3 unit? Eg. Does the unit 1 consume 50% compressor load, while turning on another unit consume another 10% more and so on? Any expert can advise?

Sorry to bump this up. Do anyone know?

Jackintheboxx

How many years is your system? Where you going to source 2nd hand?

2 years. But it has been dead for a few months, think it only lasted me around 18 months.

I'm just asking around from those 2nd hand aircon seller on carousell or online. So far no one has since FN series is relatively new.

martintylor

U must be light user, can live without Aircon for so long. I have to quickly settle this. Yes FN very new. Hard to find 2nd hand
2 years. But it has been dead for a few months, think it only lasted me around 18 months.

I'm just asking around from those 2nd hand aircon seller on carousell or online. So far no one has since FN series is relatively new.

wongminmin

erm i was aiming this set too. :s13:

yeah around there if include their labor costs. That time i was quote nearly 2k....lol.

Change the whole system only,
1. gas leak
2. compressor spoilt, not worth the repair.

But your system is relative new, maybe u seek advise from the professional.

FN released on 2017, so the system is relative new....not much second hand for parts scraping. If they get directly from mitsubishi or agents, the parts are expensive.

i got 2 contact if u need, average market price but that guy is very honest in dealing business. Another 1 freelance, he may get u cheaper solution.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.