Everyone should know basic electricity stuff..... its common sense....

drkcynic

yes Tesla. never owned one before, but my buddies who drive them in the us did share that they have many fast chargers all over cali. so dont really need to invest in an expensive charge at home.
Ang mos are more practical, they usually won't install.

Sinkies on the other hand, if they stay landed they will always want a point for their own. That's part of the reason why they bought the EV right? They don't want to mix with the peasants queueing at petrol kiosk anymore?

Lol.

DragonFire

haha.. I don't have the answers.. unfortunately I haven't kept up with these stuff. If L3 can draw up to 63A, then wouldn't your 20A overcurrent protection fail?
Is a strange design yes? This is APC/Schneider btw.

The manufacturer recommendation was to use a 63A 3ph breaker on the connection.

This means that if the 3ph inverter rated for 20A starts pulling unusually big numbers, the breaker won't go off.

Fortunately there was an option by flipping a jumper to have the bypass load shunted to a separate dedicated single phase outlet. Ended up installing a 20A 3ph breaker and separate 63A 1ph.

keenklee

Agree. I will usually leave the job to the professionals. I will try to read up, i will only do it if I am 90% confident and the costs of "screwing" it up is imo, manageable. Eg, no point saving $200 and end up damaging $2000 worth of items due to a failed DIY.

If i find a good yt step by step or a good writeup which is 90% similar to my issue then I will try. Otherwise suck thumb and pay up.
IMHO.
You give people a job, and in turn, other give you a job. :cool:

Sometimes, let's say for a certain topic, I can be reading and watching online. For online videos, I would say one sometimes has to watch at least 30 to get a few minutes of crucial information and also try to sieve out the incorrect information.

I agree if good write-up and not too critical, just follow.

aspenco

Sinkies on the other hand, if they stay landed they will always want a point for their own. That's part of the reason why they bought the EV right? They don't want to mix with the peasants queueing at petrol kiosk anymore?

Lol.
quite true, but its more for the convenience... :(

MatrixFanatic

Everyone should know basic electricity stuff..... At least know basic things like fuse, 3 colour coded wires, ampere, circuit breaker, types of plugs etc.....

This is not rocket science and super duper easy one leh.... Can save your life one day.

Me surprised that so many in this forum don't even know basic things like what is earth wire for, why water heaters should not use a standard 13A 3pin plug and why need different wire, why aircon plug is different from the usual one.

Sinkies can’t even return trays, or use less plastics, you want them to know basic electronics?

ahnyaahnya

eh you don't say like that. I have reletive, change light tube also ask shop people to change for him. its a fluorescent tube, those T8 type. $40 for that, downstairs hardware shop... tube different charges ok...
My helper used to change the tube. I switch off the ** first.
But nowadays my tenants change them for me..... That's why I like to have male tenants.
πŸ˜‰
But not all of them can DIY

KnyghtRyder

yes Tesla. never owned one before, but my buddies who drive them in the us did share that they have many fast chargers all over cali. so dont really need to invest in an expensive charge at home.
then not much choice. Tesla need a proper installed wall charger. You won't get anywhere trying to charge using a wall socket. Not unless you only drive like 1 or 2 days a week.

archon75@

Everyone should know basic electricity stuff..... At least know basic things like fuse, 3 colour coded wires, ampere, circuit breaker, types of plugs etc.....

This is not rocket science and super duper easy one leh.... Can save your life one day.

Me surprised that so many in this forum don't even know basic things like what is earth wire for, why water heaters should not use a standard 13A 3pin plug and why need different wire, why aircon plug is different from the usual one.
Many did not study physics.. Dun know Kichhoff Law.. Only know Kym De woh

whysoserioushuh

My helper used to change the tube. I switch off the ** first.
But nowadays my tenants change them for me..... That's why I like to have male tenants.
πŸ˜‰
Don't need to off the ** to change light la. Just off the switch, your incoming supply stops at the switch.

KnyghtRyder

Lol.
to be fair, the tesla super chargers can charge the car fully in less than an hour. So in that case, why plug it in overnight so long as you have a nearby / convenient charging point. ?

drkcynic

IMHO.
You give people a job, and in turn, other give you a job. :cool:

Sometimes, let's say for a certain topic, I can be reading and watching online. For online videos, I would say one sometimes has to watch at least 30 to get a few minutes of crucial information and also try to sieve out the incorrect information.

I agree if good write-up and not too critical, just follow.
I took it as a personal "skills training". Yeah you usually need to run through many many yt videos or read-ups before you can find anything useful, then try to piece them together and evaluate whether you can do it or not.

I'm glad I learnt to change my switches, it's not that complicating after all.

Next challenge on my plate is learn how to change my light fixtures, some burnt out already.

KnyghtRyder

Is a strange design yes? This is APC/Schneider btw.

The manufacturer recommendation was to use a 63A 3ph breaker on the connection.

This means that if the 3ph inverter rated for 20A starts pulling unusually big numbers, the breaker won't go off.

Fortunately there was an option by flipping a jumper to have the bypass load shunted to a separate dedicated single phase outlet. Ended up installing a 20A 3ph breaker and separate 63A 1ph.
that sounds sensible.
I can understand the recommendation to go with a 63A breaker. The 3ph inverter won't just pull more than 20A on its own. It's not designed to do so. Like plugging in a tiny usb charger into the socket.. it draws only milli amps, it won't start pulling 13A just because it is plugged into a 13A socket.

ahnyaahnya

Don't need to off the ** to change light la. Just off the switch, your incoming supply stops at the switch.
I super cautious. Especially since that particular light has double switches.
So I'm scared that it might be on when I think it's off

drkcynic

to be fair, the tesla super chargers can charge the car fully in less than an hour. So in that case, why plug it in overnight so long as you have a nearby / convenient charging point. ?
I totally agree. And it's not like you are running on empty all the time. 15 mins can give you 100-200km of milege sufficient for days.

But one of the attractiveness of the EVs currently is that you can charge at home and not squeeze with people. If they can afford it they will do it. Even if the super chargers become very common in future, you know they will still want it in their homes.

Bragging rights? Selfish? Or maybe just very environmentally friendly? I don't know but it's up to them.

DragonFire

S
yes. not sure how true but we were told that it will easily cost at least 10k just to have additional access to 3 phase or something. :(
Smells like a chop carrot to me.

Assuming you already have 3 phase incoming, and the incoming DB has sufficient capacity...

A 3ph 32 isolator (cheap) and MCB+ELCB will cost at most $1k total if you use branded parts. You may also need MOV surge protection if the installation is outdoor.

The most expensive part is probably the 4.0mm2 5core cable if the distance run is long.

The rest is their labour and trivial materials like trunking. You should get a few ITEMIZED quotations before deciding on a provider.

Edit: Took out "RCBO" as it does not make sense putting an expensive RCBO on a single drop.

some shop sell subpar wire grade. the last time I fix my water heater, the wire burn

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.