[GE2025] The Workers' Party (WP) Discussion Thread

Cmonster

Removal of retirement age would mean that employers are bound by statutory law to prevent them asking their elderly staff to leave or convert to contract headcount once the retirement age is reached. Or lowball them with a lower salary.

It doesn’t mean you have to work till you die. The option is there for you to still retire if one day you feel like doing so.
Isn’t that what the PAP has encouraged.? But so many crying they want us to work till die?

Cmonster

Retirement age for employment is difference from getting your money back for cpf….
Nobody except those with bad financial planning is asking for their CPf back, even opposition voters know CPF Life is a good program

qhong61

Next time even office u will see all the grandfathers and grandmothers still working.
And outside great grandparents washing and cleaning.
And selling food.

Cmonster

U dont stupid can or not? Retitenent age is not the age u r mandated to work till. U r free to retire at 40 today even tho retirment age is 60+. So no retirement age doesn't mean u need to keep working, it means companies cannot use retirement age as the reason for terminating u.
You need to tell that to those posting every day that PAP wants them to work till they die

only if they vote wisely then no need work till die :ROFLMAO:

now when opposition comes out and say this, they don’t know what to do liao :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO:

EdenHazard

The retirement thing is messed up. Those in 30s will know. Those lao bu si will continue to stay in the organisation and make others cannot promote.

Lousy and out of touch policy proposal.

Mephist0pheLes

You need to tell that to those posting every day that PAP wants them to work till they die

only if they vote wisely then no need work till die :ROFLMAO:

now when opposition comes out and say this, they don’t know what to do liao :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO:

PAP want ppl to work longer and gaslight ppl to think they everyone is happy to work longer (which survey showed that 96% dont)

removing of retirment age is to give the option for that want to continue working to be able to do so.

these 2 also cant differentiate, pap ib quality so low these days?

cpuer

its a significant vote buyer and basically cost nothing to say since wun happen until they sort out the mess there.....not anytime soon. if u say otherwise u kenna like donkey and dun need to run le.......
They better have an escape route, this gate to "Free Palestine" once opened, its hard to close.

Mephist0pheLes

The retirement thing is messed up. Those in 30s will know. Those lao bu si will continue to stay in the organisation and make others cannot promote.

Lousy and out of touch policy proposal.
now got retirement age, all the lao bu si in high position still there hording the top positions wad.

the retirement age dosnt apply to those in managerial roles, it only applies to those lower end workers.

tanbrave

Higher allowances for full-time NSmen, stronger food security

As he moves on to the last section of the manifesto, incumbent Aljunied GRC MP Gerald Giam touches on issues relating to security and geopolitics in the manifesto.

He says that national defence is the core responsibility of any government and underpins our national resilience. He adds that WP supports maintaining and building up a strong military to protect Singapore’s sovereignty and security.

Among the suggestions that the party has put forward are stronger countermeasures against grey zone tactics and raising the median allowances for full-time national servicemen to a median wage of $1,600 per month to “better reflect the contributions and sacrifices that our young men make”.

Mr Giam also highlights the need for Singapore to strengthen its food security.

Among the proposals is an increase in local farm uptake of locally produced food by major institutional buyers, which will promote the market viability of local farmers and enhance national food security.
I support higher pay for NS men.Why pay so low. In war time,what incentive to defend when your house 🏠 is not GCB ? Worth dyeing for ? Ukraine proves a lot .All try to Siam, rather than be BCM meat.Many will escape to bali , Phuket,etc where there's no NS,

Cmonster

PAP want ppl to work longer and gaslight ppl to think they everyone is happy to work longer (which survey showed that 96% dont)

removing of retirment age is to give the option for that want to continue working to be able to do so.

Try harder 🤓

haha you are like those MAGA trumpers on tik tok now

when PAP says it, it is BAD

when Opposition says it, it is a good thing

NOBODY needs to tell you when to retire, you are responsible for your own life

now WP agrees with the PAP that we should have policies to allow older workers to continue working

PAP wants to do this by extending the retirement age, each time they raise is by 1 to 2 years, the opposition voters cry mother cry father

WP now suggests let the old folks literally work till they die if they want to, and people are happy 😆

xdivider

They better have an escape route, this gate to "Free Palestine" once opened, its hard to close.
dun worry, i have my faith in that area not being civilized for another lifetime. anyway we always sided with the 2 state thing since 1960s so its juz a formality anyway......

Mephist0pheLes

Try harder 🤓

haha you are like those MAGA trumpers on tik tok now

when PAP says it, it is BAD

when Opposition says it, it is a good thing

NOBODY needs to tell you when to retire, you are responsible for your own life

now WP agrees with the PAP that we should have policies to allow older workers to continue working

PAP wants to do this by extending the retirement age, each time they raise is by 1 to 2 years, the opposition voters cry mother cry father

WP now suggests let the old folks literally work till they die if they want to, and people are happy 😆
u still dont understand the difference? sld have studied harder when u were young

EdenHazard

now got retirement age, all the lao bu si in high position still there hording the top positions wad.

the retirement age dosnt apply to those in managerial roles, it only applies to those lower end workers.
Then caveat and say only for lower end workers. And not blanket application across the board

Cmonster

u still dont understand the difference? sld have studied harder when u were young
You think got difference can liao Mr MAGA :ROFLMAO:

ultimately both parties encourage people to continue working in their old age

just the mechanism is different

oh no! Everyone wants Singaporeans to work till they die :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO:

Cmonster

Then caveat and say only for lower end workers. And not blanket application across the board
Why you discriminate?

if an old person in Accounts or Finance wants to continue working in old age because they enjoy working?

krikering

Precisely, nowadays there are families. having children at a later ages e.g in their 40s (maybe wife is younger thus can still give birth)

Or there are people with old age parents who are taking a huge financial burden on their children e.g my grandmother has dialysis + has a maid. Really not cheap all these expenses.
Alot of people are living till 90+ or even past 100 years old now.

Let's face it, our social safety net is severely lacking. Our healthcare costs, etc. are very expensive, and waiting time at public hospitals are simply horrendous. Insurance and education costs still keep continue to rise.

If there are some people that still want to continue working, let them do so without the feat of being terminated due to old age.

CPF is a separate issue, hope people don't tie them up together. Let people who wish to continue working whilst continue to receive their CPF in full amount at 65 years old.

As far as I know, WP is not combining both of the 2 aspects (Retirement age and CPF withdraw age) together.

I wish to keep continue when I am old too, but albeit I will perhaps switch to a less stressful setting (where not worried about promotion, etc.). Cann give it to those in their 30s and 40s/50s and still willing to chiong.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.