At his mother's behest, he married a 26-year-old Chinese national within weeks of being introduced. He was 53 and never intended to get married

Feeling down, anxious and need help? Mental Health Helpline: 6389-2222 (24 hours) More info

LoaGong12

Last chance to past down family name mah. Some still have traditional mindset

And if 50 years old want to have children, you will find 50 year old woman meh?
those with traditional mindset should live in past
go some village with no running water and electricity

LoaGong12

His mom must be thinking of getting his son a younger wife so that there will be someone to look after her son after she passes.
some ppl refuse to accept reality . dunno what era the mum living in
but then again am sure some desperate EDMW BBFAs will land up marrying women from developing countries looking for PR at least

LoaGong12

the more i read the more i dont feel sorry for him

1. he is the one who decided it is ok for him to marry someone almost 30 years his junior. at age 53

2. he is the one who thinks it is ok to raise a kid at age 55. is he expecting he can work till 75? does he have savings to have a kid? he never thinks about what happen if retrenched or unable to work due to health?

totally irresponsible and putting the reason why he marry was the result of his mother command.

if u read, u also realise he sacked his maid so he can put the blame of not working is because he need to take care of the child.
why are you attacking him ?
he was being filial to his mother

and the maid - it is likely the maid wasn’t caring enough for the kid

gravity_infinity

why are you attacking him ?
he was being filial to his mother

and the maid - it is likely the maid wasn’t caring enough for the kid
filial to his mother? more like pushing the blame to her for his plight. he is old enough to know what is call responsibility

getting a kid at age 55 without any financial means he is someone who makes poor decisions.

i dont believe all maids will be bad to his kid.

he makes a poor decision and end up his kid suffers.

LoaGong12

dont think the mum is ditching the son.

i think it is purely one sided story.

it just says he has custody of the child.

who knows? he may be the one preventing visitation
i think by default court give custody to female , if not joint
so woman would likely be irresponsible

gravity_infinity

i think by default court give custody to female , if not joint
so woman would likely be irresponsible
In Singapore, while it's common for mothers to be granted care and control of children, especially young children, custody is not automatically given to the mother. The court's primary focus is always on the child's best interests, and this principle guides all decisions related to custody, care, and access. Joint custody, where both parents share decision-making responsibilities, is the most frequent arrangement, though one parent is typically designated as the primary caregiver (care and control).

the entire article is his one sided story.

especially the part where is he commanded to get marry by the request of his mother. this alone tells me he feels its not his fault for marrying at age 53. purely because its his mother wishes.

gravity_infinity

Own self Lao Ti Ko still can push the blame to the mother. Who in the right frame of mind would even marry someone half their age. Lao Ti Ko deserves no pity. Karma sure bites hard. :rolleyes:
his poor decision ends up making the kid suffers. and if he ups lorry, the burden is transfered to the public

gravity_infinity

Own self Lao Ti Ko still can push the blame to the mother. Who in the right frame of mind would even marry someone half their age. Lao Ti Ko deserves no pity. Karma sure bites hard. :rolleyes:
marry is one thing. having a kid at age 55. especially he knows he is not rich. and he totally ignores the risk he might get retrenched or gets into poor health. all the more the wjfe is from China, likely unable to make a decent income for herself as well

trd_charlie

Med tech for down syndrome detection has been available for more than 20 yrs, can accurately detect during the first 3 months of pregnancy. How could they not have known? I wonder if they even did any test, or decided to proceed when they knew.

Capitalist

In my opinion, this is why you need both parents to be capable. Even the late LKY agrees with me. in Lee Kuan Yew: Hard Truths to Keep Singapore Going, he argues that IQ is inherited. In fact, he said: “So when the graduate man does not want to marry a graduate woman, I tell him he’s a fool—stupid. You marry a non-graduate, such as your personal assistant or subordinate, you’re going to have problems: some children bright, some not bright. You’ll be tearing your hair out.”

Although there may be occasional cases of high-IQ parents having low-IQ children, the numbers are not substantial enough to warrant concern.
Wouldn’t it be that YOU agree with the late LKY, and not the other way around? :s13:

Capitalist

filial to his mother? more like pushing the blame to her for his plight. he is old enough to know what is call responsibility

getting a kid at age 55 without any financial means he is someone who makes poor decisions.

i dont believe all maids will be bad to his kid.

he makes a poor decision and end up his kid suffers.
Mai end up crowdfunding hor

Be it self or MINDS.

SmokeBomb

Cannot understand how a mother can abandon her child.
It's not impossible, if the marriage was seen more as a transaction than one that comes from real affection / relationship.

These foreign brides from those match-making agency will deem it as a shot for a better life and maybe even for their family back home. So if things go south, the more astute one will run back lor... only a rare few will LLST to tide it through.

Capitalist

It's not impossible, if the marriage was seen more as a transaction than one that comes from real affection / relationship.

These foreign brides from those match-making agency will deem it as a shot for a better life and maybe even for their family back home. So if things go south, the more astute one will run back lor... only a rare few will LLST to tide it through.
She might return when the oldie uplorry … to claim her share of inheritance.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.