(100% serious moral question, no jokes and sarcasm pls) - is it wrong to (even think about dating) or date if I have had cancer

Is dating having had cancer a sin/morally deplorable?

• Total voters

TitanSmall

first, i am here to wish you the very best of heath going forward.. fk cancer..

2nd... be honest... tell ur potential partner your condition... there is nothing to hide or asahme of..

lastly.. u, like everyone else, deserve happines...

lol pls, i bet she got more things to hide than you
no one is 100% truthful on the first date or first few dates
everyone lie or hide something bout themselves on their first date or so
nothing wrong with hiding, its self protection anyway

when she accuse you, tell her that you dun know her that well to share something this personal.
but now after the 3-4 dates you been together, you are comfortable to share this with her.
ask her to share with you her cup size
something that major also share with her le, she dun even want to share something minor?
no heart lah
That one become tikopek interview session liao. But fr I don't that's that's ever to be shared. I don't think even ladies talk about it amongst themselves

Cancer is very common…. Unfortunately :confused:

I’m not the generation of finding dates online which probably more shallow/instant. otherwise nothing wrong developing friendship / relationship from existing social circles. I guess most partners want to look forward to some future. So it’s important to be looking forward with plans and not letting sickness be an obstacle unless it has become a phyisca reality.
How old are U btw If you don't mind sharing

ZETMAN

i think it is impt to be upfront rather than letting things progress then finally the cat outta the bag. cause same as any other chronic illness, the other party must be mentally prep and ready to handle it if things progress to then so if they arent mentally prep, u shldnt hide it and ambush them later

LoneTraveller

Hi everyone,this is a question that has been bugging and unsettling me for quite some time now.

I am 27, male, straight and a former recent cancer survivor. is it morally wrong/ " chek arkh" / "hei1 xin1 as a cancer survivor to entertain the thought of dating let alone dating itself?

My perception is that dating is and should be a blissful union of 2 members , to enjoy each others company, or in other words , cliche and Tumblr-like as it may sound , to live, laugh and love together (as one)

However from my POV ; (in the context of online dating) it has been pretty bad. I am average looking at best on a good day.

I do get occasional matches from time to time and have had rare success (read not being ignored 😅) of sliding into DMs of girls who put their Instagram tag on their tinder.

My principal is that with something like my cancer, I can hide it initially for a while since it's not immediately physically evident ; but sooner or later down the road , especially if things progress to a more serious stage in a relationship, it will reveal itself - hence Ive decided to reveal or talk about it as soon as possible, rather sooner now than later, otherwise I wouldn't be able to live with myself and losing sleep hiding a secret like that.

Owing to that , I've tried different approaches, mentioning it on my bio, telling them when we match and after messaging for a while.

However none of them have had any positive outcomes so far. Each and everyone of them has unmatched or rejected me in some form or another when learning about my condition.

Even the few and far between angmoh girls (almost even went out with 1,but got cancelled on last minute when I mentioned my cancer) whom I thought ,coming from a more open and liberal culture , would be accepting, have done so too.

So back to the main question - is it wrong to (even think about dating) or date if I have had cancer

++PS those of you who are in a relationship , especially in a long term on or even better yet, married, I would be highly thankful and appreciate it if you can show your girlfriends or wifes this post and ask what she thinks
Go date other cancer survivor lor if u feel that u are being discriminated against. But u have to be aware of the risks to ur next generation if u wants to marry and give birth.

Lemonpeach

Dating is different from marriage. Upfront declare you are dating to make friends, chit-chat. Not for marriage. If questioned further, explain the illness

XiaoChilli

I dated when I had depression, but told him upfront. Fast forward to now married for several years already.

I think its not wrong to date when you hv illness but be upfront abt it.

RichardXyn

Hi everyone,this is a question that has been bugging and unsettling me for quite some time now.

I am 27, male, straight and a former recent cancer survivor. is it morally wrong/ " chek arkh" / "hei1 xin1 as a cancer survivor to entertain the thought of dating let alone dating itself?

My perception is that dating is and should be a blissful union of 2 members , to enjoy each others company, or in other words , cliche and Tumblr-like as it may sound , to live, laugh and love together (as one)

However from my POV ; (in the context of online dating) it has been pretty bad. I am average looking at best on a good day.

I do get occasional matches from time to time and have had rare success (read not being ignored 😅) of sliding into DMs of girls who put their Instagram tag on their tinder.

My principal is that with something like my cancer, I can hide it initially for a while since it's not immediately physically evident ; but sooner or later down the road , especially if things progress to a more serious stage in a relationship, it will reveal itself - hence Ive decided to reveal or talk about it as soon as possible, rather sooner now than later, otherwise I wouldn't be able to live with myself and losing sleep hiding a secret like that.

Owing to that , I've tried different approaches, mentioning it on my bio, telling them when we match and after messaging for a while.

However none of them have had any positive outcomes so far. Each and everyone of them has unmatched or rejected me in some form or another when learning about my condition.

Even the few and far between angmoh girls (almost even went out with 1,but got cancelled on last minute when I mentioned my cancer) whom I thought ,coming from a more open and liberal culture , would be accepting, have done so too.

So back to the main question - is it wrong to (even think about dating) or date if I have had cancer

++PS those of you who are in a relationship , especially in a long term on or even better yet, married, I would be highly thankful and appreciate it if you can show your girlfriends or wifes this post and ask what she thinks
I understand your predicament. You do not need to disclose your condition right from the outset. Just treat it like a casual date and see how things developed. It is only when you have the intention to take the relationship a step further that you then have to disclose your condition. By that time, the other person will know you and able to appreciate you and may disregard your condition.

Hope this helps. Pray that you will meet someone you like and willing to accept you for what you are.

Jude Raphael

Hmmm, well, have you considered to remove this info from your bio then? You will know if the matches had chose to reject you based on the condition or for other reasons.
Well, one way to consider is this. Illness may hit any one at any age and at any time. What if someone were to fall ill before or after the marriage? Should the spouse then leave him/her since there is a chance of a recurrence?My point is this, unless your condition affects you in the way of having a normal relationship, I do not see why this should prevent you from taking the first step to find a partner.

Of course, I understand your concern. By choosing not to tell beforehand, it would feel like you have not been upfront. I admire you for wanting to be upfront with your future partner and you would like to give her a chance to make an informed choice beforehand.

eflash

It is true ah...
It's not terminal... Even if it is terminal...
Dating only ma...
No need to be so discriminatory on yourself...

Just have to be upfront... if the person makes you comfortable enough to share your information...

Plus dating doesn't always lead to marriage... Nor kids... So no harm continuing dating...

But oral cancer the diagnosed age (from Google) is on average 63... So either you are very old or do you smoke? Alcoholic? Or erhm with someone that has HPV? I guess it's these other factors that make them go... "Hmm"

*Oh 27... Sorry I must have missed it.

I mean for some when wait till relationship serious then reveal... It's a see if still can accept moment...

Like I dated for quite a while... Then bf has high myopia (this one can see how thick his glasses were), somewhat bad scoliosis (I didn't know before dating), sensitive to egg (I didn't know before dating) and then his brother had clinical depression... So many issues... In the end still married... Fear that certain things could be hereditary but then just take things as it goes...

When you meet the one you really like, has good chemistry... Sickness and death are part and parcel of life...

reiser

It’s not wrong to want to date while having cancer but for girls who rejected you after learning about it, they probably don’t want to risk becoming emotionally attached to you and having difficulty dealing with the cancer-related matters if your cancer deteriorates.

I am sure they appreciate you being upfront about it though.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.