An ICE enthusiast thread

CCCustom

i was thinking a sgsoundsystem facebook group will help leh, to gather all those old birds again.

:o
Oh God please no. Facebook groups are the worst. I joined some car clubs on Facebook recently ... they are annoying as hell, especially when shops start trying to advertise their $#!t.

hwaa

Oh God please no. Facebook groups are the worst. I joined some car clubs on Facebook recently ... they are annoying as hell, especially when shops start trying to advertise their $#!t.

of cos the admins have to do their job lah. the forum back then also have advertising $#!t mah.

fb group will help especially for reselling. now really not much avenue for reselling except individual ride fb grp.

no common interest.

liquidh

How to hear it yourself?

Am not really an audiophile. But I can tell poor music from good. Maybe not good from great.

Srsly. Suggestions from people in a forum is 1 thing, most importantly is to hear yourself before you buy. Now not like last time got car audio community like sgsoundsystem with a healthy buy / sell environment, no more of that "start with entry level then upgrade later on if not enough for your needs" because it is next to impossible to offload your old stuff these days. So best you do it once do it right.

snipfer

How to hear it yourself?

Am not really an audiophile. But I can tell poor music from good. Maybe not good from great.

good from great? :s13::s13::s13:

in the real world - someone with a pair of $200k puppy speakers, who dares to say his speakers no good? Or McIntosh car amps powering focal ultima, who dare says music lousy?

Just be happy with your own setup can liao.... pionner/sony also can sound great lah.

CCCustom

How to hear it yourself?

Good audio shops got sound board with a few models of speakers mounted to let you audition, some have them in an enclosed room. Look out for those.

liquidh

Bro, I’m so uninitiated in this area that I haven’t even heard of these brands! Pioneer/Sony good enough for me!

good from great? :s13::s13::s13:

in the real world - someone with a pair of $200k puppy speakers, who dares to say his speakers no good? Or McIntosh car amps powering focal ultima, who dare says music lousy?

Just be happy with your own setup can liao.... pionner/sony also can sound great lah.

liquidh

Oh I see. Thanks. I think I’ll just live with the sub-woofer and the stock speakers for now. A step at a time.

Good audio shops got sound board with a few models of speakers mounted to let you audition, some have them in an enclosed room. Look out for those.

hwaa

not all good audio shops have leh. i went to 2 recently, 2 also dont have. :o

but i know the quite popular one in ubi have.

hwaa

Bro, I’m so uninitiated in this area that I haven’t even heard of these brands! Pioneer/Sony good enough for me!

but really i rather u go hertz, way within your budget also.

hwaa

say first hor, not advertising. just randomly share. anyway can just google hertz promo, a few audio shops is doing.

HnAvdNB.png

HnAvOGv.png

HnAwsn3.png

CCCustom

of cos the admins have to do their job lah. the forum back then also have advertising $#!t mah.

fb group will help especially for reselling. now really not much avenue for reselling except individual ride fb grp.

no common interest.
With forum, got advertiser also like that ... people have to click / tap to read what they are selling. Don't count things like hijack thread to sell products, of course.

But with Facebook you are force fed all of it whether you like it or not. It's too much of a hassle for group admin to monitor all the time until you see most car clubs end up saying they allow advertising but must follow some rules (which don't really get enforced much anyways).

No one wants to run a forum anymore though. I told Uncle Bob I'd pay for the hosting and I have an owned vBulletin licence that I am not using and can use for a forum ... he's not interested.

The sgsoundsystem.com domain name has been taken by a domain squatter btw, asking $2k+ for it :s22: I'm like ... yeah good luck with that :s13:

hwaa

just make a few people admin and help to run the show but true that no one wants to run the show one unless there's profits.

very time consuming.

snipfer

ICE is no longer as pop as before, cos nowadays car price so high, most owners left with little allowances after paying instalments.

Which goondu willing to pay $2k for the dead domain name...

Sent from Xiaomi MI MAX 2 using GAGT

hwaa

ICE is no longer as pop as before, cos nowadays car price so high, most owners left with little allowances after paying instalments.

Which goondu willing to pay $2k for the dead domain name...

Sent from Xiaomi MI MAX 2 using GAGT

there's still a small community, just need to know where they are hiding. i think there's still some interest in ice among car goers just apparently maybe not as much as asthetic and performance mods.

hwaa

like CCCustom, pity to let the knowledge of his ice goes to waste....

CCCustom

like CCCustom, pity to let the knowledge of his ice goes to waste....
:s13: Me ar ... I just want a decent buy / sell place where I can offload my stuff. My Brax Graphic Edition amps each the SRP can already pay for an entire mid-level setup, HU speakers amps and all :o My Z-series just the tweeters 1 pair can buy most mid-level full set of speakers :s22: Can offload I can free up a good amount of cash :(

Quite honestly it hasn't been the same since they stopped holding IASCA competitions. EMMA doesn't draw the same kind of fanfare, even though some audio shops still send cars to compete ... you see the trophies in the shops you're also like ... meh :s8:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.