High Blood Pressure

BMWguy

Taking atenolol 50mg for high bp + (statin 10mg + fenofibrate 300mg) for high cholesterol every day

take atenolol ur heart rate goes down to below 60. Very calm feeling. Is this medicine a banned drug for sporting events? wow ... atenolol can make my heart beat very low and my hand dun shake.. If i dun take, my hand not so stable and not so calm one

kuti-kuti

Anybody currently on high blood pressure medication? Feel free to share here. My personal history

My height and weight is normal. 170 and 55kg

diagnosed with HBP about 6 months back. Been on medication since and about a month back additional medication was added as my bp hit 188/126 while I was working. Company doctor send me to A&E immediately after a couple of hours observation discharged from hospital.

I do not drink coffee at all since teenage days
u normal weight how come got hbp? what happened on the day it struck at office?

wickedpuppy

If I may , a true blue sinkie thread ... if a thread can be described as such....

Mecisteus

is this medicine a banned drug for sporting events?

Why would a fit athlete take this med ?

During a game, their heart has to pump faster to keep up with the demand from hard working muscles and organs.

BMWguy

Why would a fit athlete take this med ?

During a game, their heart has to pump faster to keep up with the demand from hard working muscles and organs.

for sports that require calmness lo

Beta-blockers are prohibited In-Competition only, in the following sports, and also prohibited Out-of-Competition where indicated (*).
  • Archery (WA)*
  • Automobile (FIA)
  • Billiards (all disciplines) (WCBS)
  • Darts (WDF)
  • Golf (IGF)
  • Mini-Golf (WMF)
  • Shooting (ISSF, IPC)*

Mecisteus

for sports that require calmness lo

Beta-blockers are prohibited In-Competition only, in the following sports, and also prohibited Out-of-Competition where indicated (*).
  • Archery (WA)*
  • Automobile (FIA)
  • Billiards (all disciplines) (WCBS)
  • Darts (WDF)
  • Golf (IGF)
  • Mini-Golf (WMF)
  • Shooting (ISSF, IPC)*
haha ok.

I don't consider them sports in my view.

They are like games to me.

ksapple

Taking atenolol 50mg for high bp + (statin 10mg + fenofibrate 300mg) for high cholesterol every day

take atenolol ur heart rate goes down to below 60. Very calm feeling. Is this medicine a banned drug for sporting events? wow ... atenolol can make my heart beat very low and my hand dun shake.. If i dun take, my hand not so stable and not so calm one
What is ur heart before taking medication? My heart beat is already at 55 now without eating medication tho my BP on avg still 132/89

AUTUMN&WINTER

Just a note

Those with HBP, pls check with your doc first IF u suitable to donate blood

Because if you are taking meds for HBP, and then you donate blood to someone (usually in ICU) and then those in ICU are at risk of low blood pressure, and if your blood contains the meds that will lower the blood pressure, wouldnt it put the someone in need at risk?

Just to share about this in case anyone is not aware. We want to help but we dont want to put people in danger too.
Thank you so much for sharing. I really didn't know about this.

Visor9999

3 highs common in sg these days after age 40. Need to take medication

Kanko San

For those taking hbp medicine.
What you all taking..

I taking exforge in the morning and simvastatin at night.

I early 50s... yong senior liao
Doctor said take Astrostarin 40 mg.
At 65...is it too much.
I change myself to 20 mg.
Cos my bp often 125/85 with Aspirin.

Nanduleg

I got take up an annual polyclinic plan (less than $10) to upload my hbp readings online.

Is the polyclinic meds are cheap.. care to share how to get cheap BP meds..
As this is a life long commitment...

yuri2

my bp was crazy high a few months at 190.
poly dr give me 2 kinds of medicine.
manage to control down to around 150.

when i started doing like exercise like walking, after a week, it drops to good level.
but must keep doing exercise.
once stopped, bp go up again.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.