High Blood Pressure

mskate88

So now you still drinking everyday? It brought your BP from how high to how low? In the oden days, the elders always consider coconut water as very liang, you take so much your body can take it?
I should continue but budget concerns 🙃. Previously was 140++ then after drinking coconut water regularly, reduced to 114-120 range. Now elevated again cause bui bui & limited budget to buy real coconut water (the box type doesn't work, forget it)

winningeleven

Your HBP is not really genetics.

People with the bad genes die die must take meds.

Most people in developed countries have chronic diseases due to availability of fast foods, bad diet, stress environment, etc.

So it's not uncommon for our parents and relatives have the chronic diseases.
Yeah. Me and my brothers all got it from my mother. Even I run regularly and don't anyhow eat also going to hit 125-130 sometime..

bakuten

Yep take every meal in moderation. That's the key words
I told my mom not to give my dad too much water, she insist everyday 8 full cup. In the end my dad ended up in ICU cos bloated. Then doc say cannot take too much water cos his kidney is not functioning well. That time still not on dialysis. 🙁
Every volume muz be even lesser now as my dad now on dialysis
what is moderation tho?

HSA has been "moderating" sinkies' diet for decades, yet ppl are getting sicker and fatter.
or has the overton window of what is considered "moderate" has been so skewed to the wrong side all these while?

bakuten

Your HBP is not really genetics.

People with the bad genes die die must take meds.

Most people in developed countries have chronic diseases due to availability of fast foods, bad diet, stress environment, etc.

So it's not uncommon for our parents and relatives have the chronic diseases.
Heard the below from a good Taiwanese doctor:
"old lousy doctors tend to use the excuse that the patient is suffering from old ppl disease when they have no solution for a patient.
young lousy doctors tend to use the genetics excuse when they have no solution for a patient."

good doctors do research and get to the bottom of the cause of an ailment and not just resort to age/genetics as an excuse and then prescribing pills to the patient.

i don't buy the genetics argument.
our ancestors were survivors and carry the best genetics for survival.
that's why we are here today.
chronic diseases among family has alot more to do with the diet we were brought up on within the family than genetics alone.

martin

I should continue but budget concerns 🙃. Previously was 140++ then after drinking coconut water regularly, reduced to 114-120 range. Now elevated again cause bui bui & limited budget to buy real coconut water (the box type doesn't work, forget it)
jia you, bro.

Cowbellc

what is moderation tho?

HSA has been "moderating" sinkies' diet for decades, yet ppl are getting sicker and fatter.
or has the overton window of what is considered "moderate" has been so skewed to the wrong side all these while?
"Moderate" is widely used common term
Every being is different, in term of body weight, heights and mass.
It may refer to everything and anything you do, be it excerise or eating, 2 main culprits, try to do it 3 third full instead of pushing to the limit.
Most of sinkies got this mentality a bit over is ok, but in the end do it over and over, be it excerise, especially eating, in the end over done it. Over eating is the main cause to obese, which lead to other illnesses. 🙁Another thinking is yolo, might as well over do it, crank late in wee hours, binge and drinking till unconscious, that is real damage.
Think even HSA can't do anything about it, it got to come within ownself what is moderate 🙁

furryballs

I am on amlodipine 7.5mg/day.

was 145/100, and lost 20kg the bp drop to 120/85…

but gain back 15kg the bp went back to original hypertension state…

now hoping to diet and exercise more, meanwhile continue on amlodipine

shaff12

The number one contributor to HBP is stress. But i dont think anyone wants to handle this problem.

Therefore, i will sing the SALT tune. TS must be having too much salt in diet. Cut down ok? Dont tell me u dont eat additional salt or sodium like soy sauce. Salt is naturally occurring, as long as u open your mouth to eat something, u kenna liao. So unless u stop eating, u are eating too much salt

sometimes hor, as normal office workers, regardless we still gotta settle lunch outside. outside food all msg and salt.... how not to eat...
of course unless you got maid cook home pack lunch for you everyday lah..

shaff12

Yes , if got kidney problem can also lead to high blood.

sorry, can share more what kind of kidney problem?
so i can also ask doctor to check more specifically...
a lot of times, i know the doctors take a long time also duno the problem, end up the patient gotta be the one who suggest what to check further.... :cry:

shaff12

Consuming potassium rich foods will help lower blood pressure.

Coconut water, bananas fall into that category of potassium rich foods.

but banana and coconut also very cooling, some people body type cannot take it, later got other problems, like legs no strength or hurt the lungs....

eflash

Anybody currently on high blood pressure medication? Feel free to share here. My personal history

My height and weight is normal. 170 and 55kg

diagnosed with HBP about 6 months back. Been on medication since and about a month back additional medication was added as my bp hit 188/126 while I was working. Company doctor send me to A&E immediately after a couple of hours observation discharged from hospital.

I do not drink coffee at all since teenage days

Is your work stressful?

lucifer

I quitted when my blood pressure hit 170 systolic.

And I'm overall fatter than you at 1.75 and 100kg.

It's mostly due to the stress.

Iyarash11

Giant selling real coconut 2 for $3.95

Iyarash11

stress can cause more harm only if diet is very jialat like 2xGLY, CKT, CTK, fish fillet, fast food, and all those food pic posted in this forum

Cryptrus

I am on amlodipine 7.5mg/day.

was 145/100, and lost 20kg the bp drop to 120/85…

but gain back 15kg the bp went back to original hypertension state…

now hoping to diet and exercise more, meanwhile continue on amlodipine
Me too..if exercise drop to 100+ kg range, normal pressure but once stop n weight goes beyond 110kg+ the pressure cones back ..now waiting to see doc take med...now ard 150/95

Iyarash11

Me too..if exercise drop to 100+ kg range, normal pressure but once stop n weight goes beyond 110kg+ the pressure cones back ..now waiting to see doc take med...now ard 150/95

do you take plain stuff or monitor sodium intake .... yes, is difficult to be very discipline

Goodshot

sorry, can share more what kind of kidney problem?
so i can also ask doctor to check more specifically...
a lot of times, i know the doctors take a long time also duno the problem, end up the patient gotta be the one who suggest what to check further.... :cry:
How can kidneys affect blood pressure?

Then the kidneys lose their ability to filter blood and regulate the fluid, hormones, acids and salts in the body. Damaged kidneys fail to regulate blood pressure. Healthy kidneys respond to a hormone called aldosterone which is produced in the adrenal glands, to help the body regulate blood pressure.4 Mar 2022

doratch

what about kidney that will cause bp so high?

Kidney disease can cause high bp too. If kidney is involved, the dr might prescribe you with losartan.

Did you do a carotid ultrasound scan on your neck too?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.