High cholesterol

KPO_SAHM

My diet is no red meat, :-(
No eat pork, beef, lamb.
mainly chicken/fish/veg.
Just got my report total cholesterol is 251. :-(

How about the rest??. Do U exercise? Do U take plain water instead of going for bubble tea (milk is using chemical oil) ??

No pastries, biscuits ....
Japanese brand polke , meji biscuits , Pepero, basically many Japanese cream biscuits all using shortening or hydrogenated oil. I don understand why sinkies stock up so many when they travel to Japan or like to buy their things.

Read label ingredients that used shortening , hydrogenated oil n margarine....avoid ice creams like kings , some wall products also using chemical oil....avoid 2in 1 coffee milk. Milk is using hydrogenated oil. Don be trick by HPB triangle logo. Products may contain Chemical oil. Read carefully before U buy.

And not to forget , U need to exercise. Must U have diet healthy diet n exercise diligently for 3 months, cholesterol will be for at least 40%. Don believe dr words, they like to say cholesterol run in genes. Last time I believed in that . Friend told me he didn believe in dr , totally changed his diet n exercise , from medication till now no need to take medicine and cholesterol dropped by bad 70% after a year +!

keytheboogamer

How about the rest??. Do U exercise? Do U take plain water instead of going for bubble tea (milk is using chemical oil) ??

No pastries, biscuits ....
Japanese brand polke , meji biscuits , Pepero, basically many Japanese cream biscuits all using shortening or hydrogenated oil. I don understand why sinkies stock up so many when they travel to Japan or like to buy their things.

Read label ingredients that used shortening , hydrogenated oil n margarine....avoid ice creams like kings , some wall products also using chemical oil....avoid 2in 1 coffee milk. Milk is using hydrogenated oil. Don be trick by HPB triangle logo. Products may contain Chemical oil. Read carefully before U buy.

And not to forget , U need to exercise. Must U have diet healthy diet n exercise diligently for 3 months, cholesterol will be for at least 40%. Don believe dr words, they like to say cholesterol run in genes. Last time I believed in that . Friend told me he didn believe in dr , totally changed his diet n exercise , from medication till now no need to take medicine and cholesterol dropped by bad 70% after a year +!

No exercise after MR Liao. Like past 10 years no move.

Seldom drink bubble tea. Maybe once a month.

But frequently ice cream once or twice a week.
Soft drinks daily.
Potato chips / snack - around 2 pack med size per week.
Alcohol almost every night. - mostly red wine. One glass. :-(

wongminmin

My diet is no red meat, :-(
No eat pork, beef, lamb.
mainly chicken/fish/veg.
Just got my report total cholesterol is 251. :-(
i also jiak like u..... also high cholesterol.
i guess need to jiak food/supplement that helps to reduce cholesterol ba.

now trying soya milk, garlic oil, fish oil, peanut butter to reduce ldl. too lazy to exercise. :(

exercise help to lower cholesterol tho.

Coless

done my cholesterol test(last test 3 years ago was ok)

TC - 227mg/dL
HDL - 79mg/dL
LDL - 138mg/dL
Cho/HDL Ratio - 2.9
Trig - 53mg/dL

Anyway to lower the LDL? in my 40s. normal BMI/blood pressure.

TIA .

Doc also said nothing alarm to be concerned because my trig is low?

charliebrown

dun waste ur time. telling bbfa to eat healthy is like teaching pig to fly. :crazy:

be healthy is a lifestyle habits ... it's not a a change to stop eat this and start eat that which is not substainable and soon back to old habit.

wongminmin

TC - 227mg/dL
HDL - 79mg/dL
LDL - 138mg/dL
Cho/HDL Ratio - 2.9
Trig - 53mg/dL

TIA .
fish oil with omega 3, 6
images

this guy jiak fish oil
ugKkJOv.jpeg

IDYRS9T.jpeg

LionKingBu

TC - 227mg/dL
HDL - 79mg/dL
LDL - 138mg/dL
Cho/HDL Ratio - 2.9
Trig - 53mg/dL

TIA .
Exercise
Cut down on deep fried food
Take fish oil

LionKingBu

jiak lots of eggs before test (2022) + some fast foods
palm oil from cai png will increase ldl, mybfd (2023->2024):LOL:
jiak rolled oats to reduce ldl (2023)

2022​
2023​
2024​
Total Cholesterol
230​
160​
196​
HDL Cholesterol
70​
63​
69​
LDL Cholesterol
137​
79​
106​
Cholesterol/HDL Ratio
3.3​
2.5​
2.8​
Triglycerides
113​
85​
103​
U just add hot water to the rolled oats?
Eat it plain? Breakfast only?

Try eating soft boiled eggs instead

ceestudent

The easiest way for me are:
- Cut softdrink and sugary drink. Can opt something like Teh/kopi C kosong with/without ice. Else drink coconut water, but not too much of course.
- Cut down your carbo, especially rice. Why you all need to eat full portion of rice for lunch/dinner? last time people eat a lot of rice because they are doing hard labor, but for office worker? Can start by cutting your rice portion to half/quarter then order more veggie/meat if you order from cai png.
- Eat rolled oat with honey or some frozen berry
- Just remember that your diet must be sustainable for yourself, mean you can take regularly for long term. No point to opt for something drastic (e.g. eat oat with hot water only) but end up you only can do it for 1 week.
- I find it after cutting sugary drink/rice after 1 month, i don't have any craving for this sweet drink anymore. Anything with a little bit of sugar will taste very sweet for me.
- walk/jog 20min 3 times a week (min.)

The misconception from many people is eat less fatty meat= reduce cholesterol. Then just whack on carbo to compensate. They think that how come sugar and carbo can link to cholesterol, haha.

charliebrown

people also dunno there are 2 different type of LDL, one is normal Pattern A and the abnormal Pattern B. but in normal blood test for LDL, they did not differentiate the different. u may have high LDL reading, but if u r w the normal LDL PAttern A, there is nothign to worry..

coyote

Recently did body checkup, despite taking fish oil for few years still high cholesterol. Thinking of go JB buy some med. Can someone advice which med the best. Many thanks.

Go to a doctor and ask him to administer the appropriate doze of statins... Then only you go purchase your medicine from JB... Need to know the doze first.

ceestudent

Actually this 3 high is very simple, but not so straightforward to cure.

It is called LIFESTYLE disease. So you either change your lifestyle (exercise and change diet) or just jiak medicine and maintain your (unhealthy) lifestyle.

Of course jiak medicine is the easiest and cheapest to do. Remember healthy and balance diet is nowhere cheap, even for homecooked prepare one.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.