Post your Yosemite issues

tec_geek

hand off + calling from mac via iphone not always working

Having a MacBook Pro Late 2011. Managed to do it successfully to try to call out and receive calls from my iPhone on the Mac. Both devices must have same Apple ID for iCloud and FaceTime. Off and on the "iPhone Cellular Calls" on both the Mac and the iPhone. After which, Off and On the "Handoff" feature on the iPhone and restart it.

Should pretty work after that and must be on same Wi-Fi network.

derrickgoh

Anyone tried installing Win 7 or Win 8.1 via ISO in Boot Camp? Any issues with "can only run Win 7" like with Mavericks?

ashhong

Anyone tried installing Win 7 or Win 8.1 via ISO in Boot Camp? Any issues with "can only run Win 7" like with Mavericks?

i believe this is dependent on your mac. for example my mid 2010 mbp does not support windows 8 thus there are some issue with driver but bootcamp should still allow you to install. otherwise install windows 7 first, then from there install windows 8 over it.

rza29

had issue when i upgraded all the osx software on my mbp mid 2009. system keep doing loop reboot until i boot to safe mode and check for further updates. no more updates and then do another reboot and it works fine afterwards...

simonscs

Have not tested out all the new features yet but gaming on yosemite seems to run much more cooler and smoother, use to run around 85-90 degree on Diablo 3 but now the temp is averaging are 70-80, very huge improvement here.

Running on rmbp 13" late 2013

Geforce3

Having a MacBook Pro Late 2011. Managed to do it successfully to try to call out and receive calls from my iPhone on the Mac. Both devices must have same Apple ID for iCloud and FaceTime. Off and on the "iPhone Cellular Calls" on both the Mac and the iPhone. After which, Off and On the "Handoff" feature on the iPhone and restart it.

Ya, had to on and off the settings.

boopit

using lao kok kok 2009 versions of imac n mbp
the system isn't slow and although some functions cannot be used (sobs) but the receive call function can - that was a huge plus for me.

dictation is a little lagging though

other than that..

HATE THE NEW ICONS PUKE

derrickgoh

i believe this is dependent on your mac. for example my mid 2010 mbp does not support windows 8 thus there are some issue with driver but bootcamp should still allow you to install. otherwise install windows 7 first, then from there install windows 8 over it.
My iMac is 2013 version. Problem is I can't even install Win 7. It tells me my machine only supports Win 7. :s8:

gargamelron

Do we have the "iPhone Cellular Calls" on Mac?
Where to find it

themarxx

My iMac is 2013 version. Problem is I can't even install Win 7. It tells me my machine only supports Win 7. :s8:

Not quite related to Yosemite, but if you are trying to install Win 7 on the 2013 iMac, you will encounter driver issues pertaining the USB ports. I posted this on the Apple Support Forums after being able to install Win 7 via bootcamp on a 2013 iMac.

After spending 2 solid days of checking out forums and at least 20 attempts I'll detail how I managed to install windows 7 on a late 2013 27"iMac using BOOTCAMP ASSISTANT. Previously I have never encountered problems installing Windows 7 on a 2010 iMac, 2011 iMac, 2011 Macbook Pro, 2011 Mac Mini.

You will need
1) windows 7 iso
2) 8GB Thumbdrive (make this the bootable windows installation USB stick)
3) 4GB Thumbdrive for the Apple support files (step 2 of the Bootcamp Assistant)
4) USB keyboard and mouse (I used a logitech wireless combi with a USB dongle)

Bootcamp Assistant will create 1) Windows 7 USB stick, 2) Apple Support files USB stick. 3) Partition your HDD 4) Reboot from the Windows 7 USB stick to install Windows.

Once the Windows installation started, I got the all too familiar "setup was unable to create system partition" message.
Switching the USB sticks from right to left and left to right and every other combination didn't work for me.
Removing the Apple Support USB Stick meant that I was unable to use my mouse and keyboard (plugged into the USB ports) when the installation reached the part where I was supposed to key in the name of the PC/Serial number. This is because the Win7 installation does not natively recognize USB 3.0 and needs the drivers from the Apple Support USB.

My hypothesis
1) you can only stick one USB drive in the iMac during installation.
2) you need the drivers on the Support USB in order for the USB 3.0 ports to work.

My workaround:
I copied all the files from the Apple Support USB stick into the Windows 7 USB stick (root directory - didn't create any folder) so that
there was only 1 usb drive and the system was able to access the usb 3.0 drivers.

Final results: Using only 1 8GB thumbdrive that contained BOTH the windows 7 files (created using bootcamp and a windows iso.) as well as the support files I was able to install windows 7 premium 64bit on the iMac without further ado. At no point during the installation did the USB keyboard and mouse cease to function.

Note: I did not try out this installation process with Bluetooth keyboard/mouse.

derrickgoh

Not quite related to Yosemite, but if you are trying to install Win 7 on the 2013 iMac, you will encounter driver issues pertaining the USB ports. I posted this on the Apple Support Forums after being able to install Win 7 via bootcamp on a 2013 iMac.

After spending 2 solid days of checking out forums and at least 20 attempts I'll detail how I managed to install windows 7 on a late 2013 27"iMac using BOOTCAMP ASSISTANT. Previously I have never encountered problems installing Windows 7 on a 2010 iMac, 2011 iMac, 2011 Macbook Pro, 2011 Mac Mini.

You will need
1) windows 7 iso
2) 8GB Thumbdrive (make this the bootable windows installation USB stick)
3) 4GB Thumbdrive for the Apple support files (step 2 of the Bootcamp Assistant)
4) USB keyboard and mouse (I used a logitech wireless combi with a USB dongle)

Bootcamp Assistant will create 1) Windows 7 USB stick, 2) Apple Support files USB stick. 3) Partition your HDD 4) Reboot from the Windows 7 USB stick to install Windows.

Once the Windows installation started, I got the all too familiar "setup was unable to create system partition" message.
Switching the USB sticks from right to left and left to right and every other combination didn't work for me.
Removing the Apple Support USB Stick meant that I was unable to use my mouse and keyboard (plugged into the USB ports) when the installation reached the part where I was supposed to key in the name of the PC/Serial number. This is because the Win7 installation does not natively recognize USB 3.0 and needs the drivers from the Apple Support USB.

My hypothesis
1) you can only stick one USB drive in the iMac during installation.
2) you need the drivers on the Support USB in order for the USB 3.0 ports to work.

My workaround:
I copied all the files from the Apple Support USB stick into the Windows 7 USB stick (root directory - didn't create any folder) so that
there was only 1 usb drive and the system was able to access the usb 3.0 drivers.

Final results: Using only 1 8GB thumbdrive that contained BOTH the windows 7 files (created using bootcamp and a windows iso.) as well as the support files I was able to install windows 7 premium 64bit on the iMac without further ado. At no point during the installation did the USB keyboard and mouse cease to function.

Note: I did not try out this installation process with Bluetooth keyboard/mouse.
Thanks. Worth a shot but mine wasn't about the keyboard or mouse not working. Mine didn't even say can't create partition.

Mine wouldn't even get to the screen which allows me to choose partition size of my Boot Camp partition.

OT a little. If I was to choose erase and uninstall option and wipe out my entire hard disk, that would mean I will have to reinstall every single software all over again right? That's why I'm not keen to do so. And obviously formatting then restoring from Time Machine backup would be pointless as you restore whatever problem previously existed.

Would this be a better option? It formats the hdd yet keeps the files. I guess that means I don't need to reinstall all my software?

http://support.apple.com/kb/PH10763?viewlocale=en_US

asriznet

My ethernet was always set to the 1st order. Disabling the wifi doesn't work unfortunately..

Can you try to start up in Recovery and see if it works there?

Startup system by holding down
- Command R or
- Option -> Select Recovery HD in the startup manager

- manually turn off wifi from the top right option
- Choose Get Help Online in the Main Menu
- See if you can browse the internet from there using the Safari Application

asriznet

Would this be a better option? It formats the hdd yet keeps the files. I guess that means I don't need to reinstall all my software?

OS X Mountain Lion: Reinstall OS X

This is not an erase and install, it's just installing OS X over your existing system hence why you wouldn't expect to lose any data.

Yes, it's worth the try but still make sure you run another time machine backup before this just to be sure.

mgsten

Does yosemite solves the systemstats problem ?

In Mavericks, the infamous systemstats process is running in background.
The temp of cpu shot to 70+ deg sia.

Anyone facing this problem in mavericks ?

me never notice the systemstats on mavericks. on yosemite, it's like 0% all the time.

but me got a big issue with windowserver. cpu hog. 20-50%. gawd knows wat it's doing. one of things dat slow downs my mac when doing intensive stuff like watching a hd video. :s22:

oh, juz discover dat folder actions enabled will slow down things too. :s22::s22: disable it already which me used to track launchagent folders.

TangoPapa

I have the same issue with M1 Fibre. Tried Singtel 3G hotspot, showed 5gb instead of the 268mb (and stuck at 262mb) as full download.

Did a DNS redirect on router to no avail. Will be trying to download it at Starbucks tomorrow

chris888222

My startup time is slower than Mavericks but shutdown sibeh fast. About 1sec!

I'm on PB6. Dunno leh tried to download MAS version but store tell me already on 10.10. Online websites say it's near identical besides binaries. Not sure. All features work though.

irelkZ

Hi bros,
Wanna ask mostly of you is clean install to Yosmite or just purely download and install on existing os.

I still cannot decide which method to use.

asriznet

My startup time is slower than Mavericks but shutdown sibeh fast. About 1sec!

I'm on PB6. Dunno leh tried to download MAS version but store tell me already on 10.10. Online websites say it's near identical besides binaries. Not sure. All features work though.

The Mac App Store prompt is just a warning, you can click "Continue" button to proceed with the download and install the official release.

Hi bros,
Wanna ask mostly of you is clean install to Yosmite or just purely download and install on existing os.

I still cannot decide which method to use.

How much data do you have in the current system? Best is to do an erase and install, if you need to transfer back the data, make sure run time machine backup first then migrate your data after the installation.

irelkZ

thanks asriznet

Mine still have around 100GB but you see mine is MBA so I find it abit troublesome to clean install as I do not have optical drive.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.