High Blood Pressure

Lchlch

high blood only.
I do not have high cholesterol nor diabetes.
Iic.this is for high blood.
I remembered without taking the medicine, when blood test, it shoot up.
So no choice need to take this?

Lchlch

Amlodipine, sold under the brand name Norvasc among others, is a calcium channel blocker medication used to treat high blood pressure, coronary artery disease and variant angina. It is taken orally. Common side effects include swelling, feeling tired, abdominal pain, and nausea. Wikipedia

Lchlch

How about this?

Simvastatin belongs to the class of medications called Statins (also known as HMG-CoA reductase inhibitors). Statins lower the amount of ‘bad cholesterol’ (low density lipoprotein or LDL-cholesterol) and ‘fat’ (triglyceride) in the blood as well as increase the amount of ‘good cholesterol’ (high density lipoprotein or HDL-cholesterol).

High ‘bad cholesterol’ levels can cause your blood vessels to clog up and lead to chest pain (angina), heart attack or stroke. Hence, statins may reduce your risk for heart attack and stroke.

CaptchaCheebeh

Anybody currently on high blood pressure medication? Feel free to share here. My personal history

My height and weight is normal. 170 and 55kg

diagnosed with HBP about 6 months back. Been on medication since and about a month back additional medication was added as my bp hit 188/126 while I was working. Company doctor send me to A&E immediately after a couple of hours observation discharged from hospital.

I do not drink coffee at all since teenage days
Your weight looks good. By right should not have HBP. Is it work stress bro? Do remember to relac abit sometimes yah

Redbull1628

Anybody currently on high blood pressure medication? Feel free to share here. My personal history

diagnosed with HBP about 6 months back. Been on medication since and about a month back additional medication was added as my bp hit 188/126 while I was working. Company doctor send me to A&E immediately after a couple of hours observation discharged from hospital.

A&E for what?

1982-1994

To answer all the questions.

1) My diet wise, I prefer not to eat fried items nor oily food. Salt wise maybe dipping sauce might be the biggest culprit
How is the portion of the sauce?
My BP still good even before I cut down on fried food though high cholesterol
2) I work in IT infrastructure. 5 day week 8 to 6. No shift. 99% reach home before 730pm
10h job, 50h a week...how's your stress level at work? 10h is quite long hours
3) I sleep at least 8 hours a day. Go to bed before 11 daily
I sleep not more than 5h a day ,between 1am and 9am, very jialat
4) A&E took ECG for me nothing was observed
Irony ,same
7) I am a smoker. About half a pack a day
Consider slowly cutting it down?
8) Yes I do record my blood pressure on a regular basis. Averaging about 120/98 nowadays
Not sure does the medicine gives you side effects

sarduakar2000

I 15x/9x already feeling faint and airy liao. Report sick.. Doc says it is not that high yet.. Sleepwise around 5 hours per day. Stress level is high. Woke up every couple months in nightmare. My wife has to calm me down.

tmkedmw

I am on 2 different medications

Atenolol 50mg and Amlodipine 2.5mg

Given that you experience a recent hypertensive crisis episode ( BP above 180/120), it's advisable to consult a doc on your dosage.

Your current dosage is low and may not be sufficient to reduce your BP to acceptable levels.

Buy a BPM and monitor.

wongminmin

Something is wrong with me despite I'm 44, 180cm/90kg, don't exercise and only 5h of sleep daily
And BP is still normal
different people got different health. i did some reading and testing......
The numbers of resting hours and the sleeping time very important to body health....which link directly to bp, diabetic etc.

Now u can said, hey i am healthy with this lifestyle and diet...... but when u tio chronic diseases, your thinking will changed totally.
Not trying to convince u, but go read up...... why humans need to spend 1/3 of their time on bed.

My brother is like u.....do shift work, sleep 3hrs~5hrs per day, now tio hbp.... swollen like trotter.
With your current lifestyle and diet, u take care.

sonicboyz

Emeritus Honorary Member
I 15x/9x already feeling faint and airy liao. Report sick.. Doc says it is not that high yet.. Sleepwise around 5 hours per day. Stress level is high. Woke up every couple months in nightmare. My wife has to calm me down.
Lidat are chiu on any medication now?

hmyoth

My bp is sometime high sometime low. At home is around 130/85 but go clinic can be 140/90 … or lower . Maybe is due to white coat hypertension. Stress can cause hbp for sure cos my wife’s director was hospitalized due to some work related issue that is too big for him to take … breakdown n blood pressure shoot through the roof. He even took a selfie of himself with tube insert in the hospital n send to the work group . Tell them u guys take care !

usarmy

For me is genetic (family history) and I'm easily anxiety type, so my BP go high side. I eat out most of the time, I suppose anxiety + salty food is the root cause. And I sit down to work most of the time, less active kind. I try my best to do exercise, jog, at the very least I try to walk more than drive. Eg. I will walk further away to buy food. TS take care, we have to be more displine to handle this, I don't dare to teach you how but I struggling to keep my life healthier possible....

Sent from EDMWER!

iam7377

Your BMI is ok, what causes HBP?

zueinder

To answer all the questions.

1) My diet wise, I prefer not to eat fried items nor oily food. Salt wise maybe dipping sauce might be the biggest culprit

2) I work in IT infrastructure. 5 day week 8 to 6. No shift. 99% reach home before 730pm

3) I sleep at least 8 hours a day. Go to bed before 11 daily

4) A&E took ECG for me nothing was observed

5) A&E give me a pill. After which my blood pressure drop to about 140 and I was discharged on the same day

6) I am on Atenolol 50mg and Amlodipine 2.5mg on a daily basis

7) I am a smoker. About half a pack a day

8) Yes I do record my blood pressure on a regular basis. Averaging about 120/98 nowadays

1) Your diet may not have fried or oily but you need to re-look at the overall food mix and review how you can eat better. Just a simple example, if you are eating dipping sauces, then it is very likely red meat and noodles type of food. All that salt and processed carbohydrates without whole foods like vegetables, white meat, grains is quite harsh on the body.

2) supplement to point 1, your h2o intake? You eat salty then must drink more water to counter it.

3) You might also want to see if you can stop smoking completely. Not everyone is blessed with a body that can withstand smoking till they are 70-80plus.

4) Exercise?

5) Do a comprehensive blood test? Good to review it since you already had a health scare. You will find more useful info to help you maintain your health. 1 time with path lab is $160, can tell you many things.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.